Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs, IA

Good Value

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Easy access, quiet and peaceful.
Cons: AC Unit could use updated.
Location: Boone, Iowa. Loads of local charm. Enjoyed riding the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad.
Our room was clean, comfortable and affordable. The room was a surprise as it came with a great television, cable, microwave and refrigerator/freezer. Room was handicap/wheelchair accessible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Not recommended! Unsecure location.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The room itself was well maintained and comfortable.
Cons: Beside those issues noted in the Experience section...the attitude of the staff! Felt like we were imposing on them if we asked for something.
Location: There are several restaurant choices across the street. Also close to a very large city park that is quite nice.
Best part of this hotel was the check-in process. Since we prepaid via Expedia it only took a minute to get our card keys and head for the room. It was puzzling that although the hotel had very low occupancy we were given a room on the third floor; there are no elevators. Neither the front or rear access doors were secure. Their locks were not functioning and remained unlocked and open to the public 24x7. One night upon returning we found a half dozen young men partying in a cozy nook at the back side of the hotel with car stereo blaring and one of them urinating in the corner! The grounds had trash and debris surrounding the building the entire stay. Excess room appliances were stored in the hallways. Apparently no one who works there takes any pride in the hotel's appearance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE Iowa

Getting Run Down

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Price was reasonable, was just looking for a place to crash for the night.
Cons: New paint and Carpet will improve this a lot.
Location: Good location to Boone and Ames.
Hotel needs updating, Kind of the dingy feeling,,, Broken equipment in halls,, AC unit wakes you at night like a diesel engine starting. Beds were comfortable enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KCMO

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The price
Cons: I don't know if there is anything that can be done about the smell, short of a complete remodel...new carpet and linens etc.
Location: I had to stay in Boone because everything in Ames was booked. Went to Iowa State for a clinic.
The room was fairly cheap, but I would unfortunately never go back. The entire hotel had an unpleasant smell. The room was comfortable enough, plenty of hot water for a hot shower on a very cold night. The continental breakfast was decent. Staff was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jim from missouri

close to my event

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Every aspect of the stay was fine. My lower rating comes from the front desk not being very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The addition of biscuits and gravy to the super start breakfast.
This Super 8 is better than another in the area. Overall a good experience. Room was as expected: clean, reasonably comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, desk, wifi, chair and footstool. No iron or ironing board was provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Grant Smith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Thunder Bay, Ontario

1st visit to Boone

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: King size bed was great, clean room
Cons: Your continental breakfast could include a better variety of foods
Location: Location was perfect for us - went for the races and it was just across the street
This was our 1st visit to Boone and was a little nervous - but the hotel was clean - the king size bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in - in quit some time. We were there for the races and to be that close to the track was great. I will return Thanks Cindy