Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toms river, nj

Nice close to amherst college

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was clean, rooms were comfortable and convenient location to other things in area.
Cons: There wasn't much hotel staff around if you had to ask a question.
Staying here was great alternative to staying at hotel on Rt 9. Close to Amherst College, as we were there for graduation that weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from St J VT

Last minute life saver

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern, courteous. They understand their customers needs.
Location: I was only there 6 hours so can't comment. It appears to be in the center of Amherst and surrounded by the university,
I had settled into a hotel 30 minutes north when I discovered that the bed was disgusting. The housekeeper had made it over used (and I mean well used!) sheets. I couldn't get out of their fast enough. All the hotels in that town were booked and I was not about to risk another cut rate chain hotel. Hotel UMass was the closest decent place and based on the strong Expedia customer reviews I booked the room at 11:30 pm. I arrived 45 minutes later and was welcomed graciously. The room was appointed with high quality furnishings and spotless. Just what I needed to cleanse my dreams of the nightmare I had just left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't be put off by the entry

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The entry to the hotel is just terrible (and strange). The lobby is industrial. The rooms are very pleasant, clean, and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by college mom from massachusetts

Great hotel when attending college functions

Posted May 19, 2014
The hotel is very nice. The room is quite up to date. Very comfortable beds. The rooms are a bit small and the bathroom is small, bit nothing like a NYC hotel! It could use a fridge. The only disappointment was the breakfast. Only bagels,toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, some Danish, coffee. The food was scattered in different areas, we had to wait for butter, and the Danishes and coffee were in another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by UMass parent from UK

Very convenient for visiting UMass

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Staff extremely helpful and room pleasant but breakfast facilites were poor for price of room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location,,,,just not very pretty

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: it is loud and old
Location: the town of amherst is nice
good location to amherst and u-mass amherst,,,just not a very attractive or nice hotel....there is a courtyard by marriott nearby...stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Parent from Brooklyn, NY

Teaching them right

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness location. Didn't expect high quality for a college-area hotel. UMass brand water. Boiled eggs as protein for simple continental breakfast.
Cons: Cover the mattresses with zip-up mattress covers. There was only a simple cover with elastic straps to hold on to the corners. Mattress is vulnerable.
Location: I was on a college search tour, and as far as I could tell, there was nothing to do except meet students from the million colleges in the area!
This hotel is on the campus of UMass and students from the Hospitality major work and intern there. Everyone was polite, professional and helpful. Very clean room, comfy beds. Very high class for an area whose attraction seems to be to just cater to people going to college. Pleasantly surprised and worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

perfect

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: airy, clean,
Location: colleges nearby, museums, beautiful small town of Amherst
Great for parents visiting students at UMass and at Amherst College...king size bed was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scarsdale Mom from Scarsdale, NY

College Road Trip

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable room.
Cons: You can hear people in the hallway - needs some soundproofing around the door. Not a problem for us because it was not particularly busy.
Location: Village of Amherst is within one mile. Lots of nature preserves and colleges nearby. The schools in the 5 college consortium are within 15 minutes.
We stayed at the UMass Hotel while visiting Amherst, Mount Holyoke and Hampshire colleges. The hotel is run by the University of Massachusetts school of hotel management and tourism and judging by how they run the hotel, it must be a really excellent program. The room was well designed and comfortable. There were high quality linens, beds, towels and toiletries. Plus there was an ipod dock and Keurig coffee maker. The staff were exceedingly kind and the continental breakfast healthy and fresh. Since the weather this winter has been especially snowy, we appreciated the free indoor parking. We would stay here again without hesitation regardless of which school my daughter attends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from new hampshire

Very nice hotel and staff

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: The entrance to the front was a little confusing to get to. Maybe because of the remodeling
Location: We didn't do much but there is a lot of places to go and things to do. We weren't really impressed with the mission cantina restaurant
We stay at the hotel one night. Very friendly staff. We asked the front desk if they would call us a cab which they did. We waited quite awhile for them to come so the front desk called the cab company back and they said they would be another20 minutes, still waited and waited. One of the employes( her name was Tina ) was heading home from her shift offered to give us a ride to the restaurant . We just thought it was so thoughtful for her to do that.