Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Great find, just a short walk from downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Very nice last minute reservation. Clean and comfortable, and we were very happy that we could walk to the main part of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close to Amherst College

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The fridge in the room, and the location
Cons: The air con units need to be replaced or cleaned
Location: Swim at a local pool, visit the Emily Dickinson museum
Nice staff (were very good about arranging a late check-out time), good location, close to restaurants and major streets in Amherst as well as Amherst College. Amazing public swimming pool (Amherst Memorial Pool) just down Triangle street, 5 min from the hotel. The only downside, and the reason for my three star rating, is that the air con unit smelled like mold. The smell is so strong I had to turn it off, which was fine, as it was not too hot while I was in Amherst but it would have been terrible in worse heat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding nearby

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My friends were getting married at an inn in Amherst Center, and their wedding block was quite small. The University Lodge worked out perfectly! Right outside of town-could walk everywhere-exactly what I was hoping for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mansfield mass

Nice and cute hotel and very close to U Mass

Posted Jul 10, 2014
So close to U Mass campus and very clean and cute and had every thing I needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean place close to town and college

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location.
Cons: The towels were a little thin.
Location: Walk to town or different parts of the campus. Amherst has funky coffee shops, great restaurants and bars, eclectic shopping and a wonderful bookstore
We went to UMass for a lacrosse tournament and were directed to stay at a hotel in Northampton. While that's not too far, I checked to see what was available in Amherst so we could be closer. I found the University Lodge and was pleasantly surprised when we checked in! All the room doors face out, much like a motel, but we felt very safe. The rooms were very clean, recently updated and had everything we needed (iron, hair dryer, mini fridge, microwave, etc). We were a 5 minute walk from town and a 2 minute drive from the fields so it was incredibly convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: I could park in front of my room.
Cons: one big bed instead of two small ones.
Location: Nice area lots of places to eat.
We had a one night stay. I liked it because its pet friendly and the area is very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

UMass visit

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Cons: Clean the towels
Location: Location was good. Walking distance to UMass campus and Amherst
The location to UMass was the only positive comment I can make.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Boston

My stay at University Lodge

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Very convenient to UMASS Amherst.
Cons: The shower leaked a little onto the floor.
Location: UMASS Amherst
Everything was clean and comfortable. Check in and out were easy. The staff was very professional and personable. When we were lost in getting there, they helped us find it very quickly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013
3 out of 5
by Andy from MA

Close proximity to UMass Amherst

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Location near campus
Cons: Soundproof the first floor ceiling or install better carpet on the second floor. If the hotel is going to offer WiFi, they need to make sure it works.
Location: Near downtown Amherst and UMass.
I booked this hotel because it was in close proximity to UMass Amherst and that it was - less than a 1/4 mile away. Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. WiFi internet did not work unless I was standing next to the motel office. If I went to my room about 20 yards away, it disconnected and would not reconnect. The room was on the first floor and I could hear every footstep from the floor above, which was annoying when I was trying to sleep. Beds were comfortable though.