Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from UK, Oman

Nice hotel, conveniently located, once you know.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The hotel is situated between The Four Seasons Hotel and The Sheraton Hotel which helps with giving directions to taxis. What also helped was a small set of business cards with the hotel's name in Arabic and your name issued on check in. The staff were helpful. They would happily write the name of any destination in Arabic for us to show to taxi drivers. The room was small but clean and what you would expect for that price. However , tea making facilities would have been nice. There is very little within walking distance, nothing worthy of mention. For 2JD, you can get a taxi right into the Roman Amphitheater area, and for 1JD you can get a taxi to the Galleria Mall and environs. Breakfast was not included so we did not sample the breakfast. On our last morning the receptionist suggested that we breakfast at Hashim's in the city. That was a good suggestion. There was a kitchen but we did not see any evening meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from Jerusalem/NJ

Fabulous and affordable hotel in Amman

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Wonderful hotel with a pleasant staff and personable manager. For the deal we and service got, we couldn't have asked for anything more luxurious and enjoyable–– even with the Sheraton and Four Seasons so close by. Would recommend to anyone, especially if you like free dates (in the lobby) and nice people!
Comment from
Jan 30, 2014
Thank you very much Josh , I hope we will remain at your confidence I hope to serve you again in gondola .. Have a safe and lovely trip.
Comment from
Jan 30, 2014
Thank you very much Josh , I hope we will remain at your confidence I hope to serve you again in gondola .. Have a safe and lovely trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from USA and Jordan

Five-star service!

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, manager on-site, very accommodating, cozy surroundings, good location
Cons: sound-proofing in rooms (a few carpets or rugs to absorb noise), more extensive room service menu
Location: near the 5th Circle, easy cab drive,couple nice western restaurants within walking distance, ATM across the street
This is a budget hotel with a huge heart. I stayed at the Gondola for a two-night quick retreat in March of 2014 and the staff bent over backward to serve me. The hotel is not without its quirks, but the difference is that the staff immediately deals with it....my room-service eggs were cold...they brought me new ones within minutes with profuse apologies. My room safe got stuck....they came up right away and fixed it. I asked for a non-smoking room and there was not one whiff of smoke anywhere on my entire floor, which is rare anywhere in the Mideast. If you have traveled here, you know what I mean! The lobby and restaurant were relatively smoke-free as well. The rooms and public areas have been remodeled in sort of a kitchsy antique style but it makes it seem like you are visiting someone's home. The new laminate floors, however, make things a little noisy and there is not the best sound-proofing without carpeting to absorb sounds. But that is really the only drawback. I will definitely go back to the Gondola as I live in the ME. I felt like I was staying with a family and I half expected to find a chocolate on my pillow and turn-down service! I almost stayed at the Sheraton which is right down the street from the Gondola, but I'm glad I saved my money.
2 out of 5
by Jonathan from Maryland.

Ordinary hotel, dysfunctional management

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Little to mention
Cons: Hotel needs refurbishment; management is dysfunctional
Location: Some way from the town center and the historical sites
The hotel is adequate, nothing special. While the hotel clerk at check in was fine, and was the one to complete payment before we left the next morning, we were then told as we left that we owed for an extra night! Even as we were boarding the hotel minibus to transfer to the airport a woman manager came out to shout at us that we had arrived a day before we actually did. It was a very unpleasant experience that really marred our visit. Now we find our credit card charged for this supposed extra night, even though our passports clearly show we were only in the country for two nights!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nikhia from Brisbane

Great hotel with one downside

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was overall very good, the rooms were spacious and clean, it was quiet over night and it had good heating. The only issue we had is that they advertised the hotel as non smoking, which is why we specifically booked here. However smoking was allowed throughout, mainly by the staff themselves. The room was sold as non smoking but the ashtrays and cigarette burns in the furniture made this seem not quite accurate. The staff smoked inside continuously, at reception, in the non smoking restaurant, the lobby and on the different floors whilst doing the security checks at night, this made it very unpleasant for non smokers with asthma to stay at this site and was a major downside for us. So I would recommend this hotel if you smoke, however if not I would AVOID
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S. Stevens from Washington

Good hotel for single night or extended stay

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Have been staying at this hotel for about six years, maybe a dozen times. It is a road warrior's, or basic essentials, travelers type hotel in its accommodations, finish and the necessary essentials. Obviously far from plush, inside or out, but the hotel staff have always been a bright spot here. Free parking and good free wireless internet included is factual. Access to Queen Alia and the local commuter airport is easy. Local and international mall shopping, a variety of banks, exchanges, etc. and all necessary shops are within immediate and/or casual walking distance. Pretty much anything, including the ruins in the old city center are within a1.5-2.00 JD taxi ride from the hotel. Breakfast, if included, is the standard basic light continental Arabic fare. Again, the staff is Always excellent and responsive when requests are made, the majority of whom speak ready English, or possess at least rudimentary international communication skills . I never hesitate to stay. Some seasons have near 100 % booking tho, and the nearby Syrian conflict have added an additional influx, so prior reservations, which will usually incur a better rate are advised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by M. Hamdan from Cleveland, OH

Ask Questions and understand the difference

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ask questions about the room. It pays to get a "double" suite but you should understand that a "double" doesn't mean a 2 beds in the room it means that they are "double size beds" and you could end up with only one larger size bed. The more you pay the better room you get. You might also be able to get a better price if you contact the hotel directly. Also make sure you tell them the correct number of people staying in the room or they will charge you 6 JD per person extra. The room was clean and the staff were very friendly. Make your own car/taxi arrangements (the drivers are very friendly) or the hotel takes a cut of whatever fair is agreed upon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Charming and friendly

Posted Jan 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was just in Amman for 2 nights and 1 day. I chose this hotel because of its price and location relative to the airport and the main part of the city. Very unexpectedly, I want to go back to Amman, and if I ever do I would go back to this hotel for its huge, comfortable bed, clean facilities, charming foyer, and friendly helpful service. Also, there's an HSBC ATM just across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2012 on Hotels.com