Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Amsterdam Charm

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The uniqueness of the architecture.
Cons: They are doing construction at the moment.
Location: Perfect location for the Anne Frank House and the begin hof.
This hotel is a wonderful place to stay when in Amsterdam. It is perfectly located to visit all the sites. I will always stay here when visiting this city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

XXX

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, museums, city center and interesting neighborhoods all within walking distances.
A classic authentic Amsterdam hotel experience. Shopping, museums, city center and interesting neighborhoods all within walking distances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect location. A little pricey but worth it.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Lovely, clean, spacious room.
Location: Located on quiet street on a lovely canal this hotel was within walking distance of the major museums, lots of nice shops and restaurants, etc.
Picked this hotel form a guide book. A bit more than I usually spend but worth it. Great location with canal view. Excellent upbeat and helpful staff. Room was larger than expected. Spa style bathroom made me feel very special. Within walking distance of everything I wanted to see but on a nice quiet street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Charming hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This hotel is very charming, is in a great location, and has a lovely canal view. The property is a good mix of old and new. The building is quite old and historic, but the room was quite nice (with a nicely updated bathroom).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

On the Canals

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Setting on the canal. Comfortable room. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing specific. Not a hotel for anyone who doesn't like stairs.
Location: Great location on the Herengracht. Walking distance of all of the major sites: Museum area, Anne Frank House, etc. Not far from a trolley stop as well
The Ambassade is made up of six or more canal houses. Our room was in a small building, while accessible to the rest of the hotel by an inner passageway, had its own door onto the Herengracht. We felt as if we were in our own little apartment, with wonderful hotel service. The hotel recommended a number of excellent restaurants and were helpful with reservations and directions. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A perfect location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: location, size
A perfect location to enjoy Amsterdam. Friendly staff, small hotel makes for a lovely holiday visit. We opted for the separate apartment about a block from the hotel. A lovely one bedroom flat which included all the hotel services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Pleasant boutique hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Nice hotel. Very helpful staff in good situation. Like all decent Amsterdam hotels it's not cheap ... But it's a pleasant place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Great location, great hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: See above, plus lots of hot water, comfortable bed, and great reading lights. Also, they provide free, high quality wifi.
Location: See above
The Ambassade could not be in a better location: right in the center of Amsterdam, close to museums, shopping, streetcar lines, sights, restaurants, canals. It is right on one of the most famous canals. incredibly scenic, but quiet because boats and bikes don't make too much noise. The hotel is delightfully decorated with antique and antique style furniture and modern art. The public rooms are beautiful. The staff is excellent and friendly. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the gentlemans canal

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was delicious, the staff was friendly and bright. The location was great. Easy access to everything.