Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Very modern hotel and perfect location
Cons: Wifi in room
Location: Great
Very good hotel excellent location and great facilities. Only negative is no wifi in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great location, helpful staff and lovely hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The hotel can be reached directly from Schipol Aiport by the 197 bus. On arrival, we experienced a warm welcome by the reception and concierge who also provided advice on visiting the city. Housekeeping were also very helpful and worked to a high standard. Our family room was spacious, clean and well equipped. We would definitely choose this hotel again when we return to Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location central for main museums

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Room shower was fantastic with a decent sized shower chair. Great room service. Courteous staff too.
Cons: Accessible sink (knee room for wheelchair user. Bed height
Location: Van Gogh, Rijks Museum and canal barge trip all close by as were the main shops and restaurants.
Great three day break. Visited main tourist spots and canal tour was epic. Hotel perfect for wheelchair tho the room washhandbasin needed the frontage to the wood cut out to make it accessible to a wheelchair uses knees. The bed could also have been 10cm lower for an easier transfer from the chair. Otherwise great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Comfortable hotel close to canals

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms
Cons: Downstairs lobby area was small compared to e.g. Marriott Vienna. This could be improved by scrapping book able meeting rooms on ground floor.
Location: Amsterdam etc.
We often stay in Marriott hotels to be assured of the level of comfort and this was this was no exception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Short Break in Amsterdam Marriott.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Centrally located. Lovely view over Square. Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice clean, comfortable beds & room. British TV channels available.
Cons: Security in the Executive Lounge. My sister's handbag was stolen by an opportunist thief while we were helping ourselves at the breakfast bar.
Location: Excellent . Lots of shops, canal trips, Museums, good Transport links, etc.
Apart from my sister's handbag being stolen in Dining room, we felt very welcome & comfortable at the Marriott. The Dutch are so friendly. Lots of things to see & do in this lively, beautiful City.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Good location but very old hotel !

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location !
Cons: Toilet facilities and breakfast.
Location: Shopping, Canal Cruise, Park, Cycling, Casino and several places to dine !
The hotel location is excellent ! But the rooms are so small that with one child with one extra bed, there is no room to even keep luggage. The hotel is very old and the bathroom facilities are very old and outdated. Considering the price, its not worth paying for such a small room. I was told during check in that by paying extra 90 euro per night, I would be given executive room which is bigger than standard room, but there was no difference at all between the 2 rooms. Overall not quite great experience !!! Even the breakfast options were not great considering 28 euro per person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Meredith Opten, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Our executive rooms are the same size as our deluxe rooms, both are 30 square meters. I do apologize if there was a misunderstanding upon check in regarding the size of the room. The main benefit of the upgrade is the executive lounge access which offers a continental breakfast. Non-alcoholic beverages are available for you throughout the day, and you can also enjoy snacks and alcoholic beverages in the executive lounge in the evening. The WIFI in the room is also complementary when staying in an executive room. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the excellent location of our hotel, and had a chance to experience all the great attractions which are all very close to the hotel. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel. Next time you travel to Amsterdam, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to help you to book a room suitable to your requirements. With kind regards, Joost Berends Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel well located

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Good staff and concierge, excellent breakfast, comfortable bed
Cons: room wasn't cleaned on one day
Location: hotel is by the Leidesplein and near the Rijsmuseum and Van Gogh museum
Pleasant hotel very well situated for Amsterdam tourism
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very Central

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was brill, rooms very good and beds very comfy
Cons: nothing
Location: Plenty of restaurants near by, bus and tram stops 1 minute walk. Shops within walking distance
Hotel was very easy to get to from airport - bus 197 half hour journey and bus stop 1 minute walk from hotel. Everything was in walking distance but if you didn't want to walk the tram was was outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Pillows a bit soft but hotel changed to firmer ones
Location: Close to canals - can walk to centre and all main attractions
Good hotel to explore Amsterdam - close to all major attaractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and very friendly staff.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Cons: The hotel needs new mattress and pillows.. very dated and old. For the price you pay per night there should be no sink hole in the middle of the bedx.
Location: Very convient location. Close to everything. Loved the onsite laundry.
The hotel is in a very good location. Close to everything and very family friendly. Loved the onsite self laundry facilities. We had left Paris and were desparate to do laundry. A bit costly, $7 Euro a load but very convient to have in the hotel. Bonus marks for that. Only disappointment was we booked a family room with 2 double beds, the Hotel is modern but the rooms were a bit dated and the beds and pillows were very old. If sharing the beds you had a sink hole in each bed.. urgh.. In future would recommend you book 2 rooms with each person getting a bed. Would book it again but make sure you request firm beds. Otherwise it does effect your sleep etc. Car service was excellent.. always prompt and on time. Loved Amsterdam and would love to visit it again. People are very friendly.