Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Nice hotel, very convenient.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
No complaints. Our room safe didn't work so they kept our valuables in the hotel safe. Enjoyed the drinks that were included both in the room and the lobby. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, location,facilities
Great stay, great location, fantastic Staff, location,facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

WOW !

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Helpful, friendly staff including the housekeeping and kitchen staff as well as the front of house.
Location: Central, so almost anything is walkable.
This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Spent the extra as it was a special occasion, but I am now hooked and will be staying here every time that I'm in Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset, UK

Fantastic city centre hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel staff could not do too much for us. Very friendly and helpful with a very relaxed atmosphere it was just like being at home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlisle

very good hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Cons: nothing
close to all attractions very good staff free bar self service comfortable beds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathryn from Somerset

Friendly comfortable hotel in central canal area

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, friendly and helpful reception staff, good breakfasts, free drinks throughout the day in the lounge area; international newspapers
Cons: A few nibbles and some chocolate in the bedroom fridge. Option of making tea in the rooms. (Maybe it's only us English that feel the need for this!)
Location: Located in central canal ring within easy walking distance of: museums, Begijnhof, Flower Market, antique shops; near tram stops and boat trips.
Went to Amsterdam for a few days primarily to see the refurbished Rijksmuseum. The hotel was ideally situated as it enabled me to walk there as well as exploring bookshops, antique shops and lesser known museums along the canals. One I found by chance was the Museum of Bags and Purses housed in a canal house dating from 1661 with original ceiling paintings and fireplaces. The collection covers the history of bags from the middle ages to the present day with the most beautiful examples on display, including those of famous modern designers. For cat lovers like myself the Kattenkabinet (cats in art) was a must and De Poezenboot (a cats home on a boat moored on the Singel). The little local café bars provide good value food, friendly conversation and usually a 'what's on' magazine (English version) covering a wide variety of entertainment. I didn't use any public transport but conveniently the hotel sells tickets for trams (as well as for the most popular museums thus allowing their guests to avoid queing). Most certainly I would highly recommend this as a stimulating city break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellant Hotel in Great Location

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Evening wine and cheese is a wonderful experience to relax after a day of sights seeing and breakfast buffet is perfect way to start the day.
Cons: My only suggestion is to replace the carpet in the rooms, hallways, and elevator. It looks old and out-dated.
Location: The hotel is in a perfect location near canal. Close to trams going to central station and great walking distance to all museums & historic buildings.
My husband and I stayed at Banks Mansions for 3 nights and we enjoyed every moment. The many enthusiastic reviews are entirely justified and true. This is an outstanding, luxury, boutique hotel in all respects. The staffs were all warm and helpful. The full breakfast was excellent. The common areas offer tea, coffee and alcohol in an environment consistent with your home where you can talk and share experiences with other guests. The location could not be better. The room and bathroom were perfect size and very clean. The complementary bar in our room which included Gene, Whiskey, & Cognac in addition to all the goodies and soft drinks & juices in the mini fridge were exceptional. We totally recommend this hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Perfection!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Location, service and hotel room were superb. The breakfast was wonderful and the small reception each evening was a nice touch. My only complaint was that the wifi dropped out fairly frequently. But I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend and I'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by baggsie from Scotland

Fabulous hotel! Outstanding!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nope!
Location: Go on the Red Light Night Tour - awesome!
Simply wow! Can't fault this hotel. I've been fortunate to have travelled quite a bit and this hotel comes close to the best I've stayed in. If you are going to Amsterdam look no further, seriously! The hotel, staff, room, everything is fantastic. The best part is the drinks package ie help yourself pretty much whenever and then 4 o'clock it's wine time and 5 o'clock is cheese, meat and cracker time! It's sooo worth paying the extra for this hotel. Plus the location is simply central to everything. Go! What are you waiting for!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, tram stop 100 yards away.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
The hotel is situated close to the flower market, short walk to dam square. We've been twice, and 2nd time was just as good. The lady in the kitchen has been their 14 years she is a loyal member off staff- it was lovely to see her again this time after we last stayed 4 years ago. They must be able to retain there staff if they staff this long. There is a lot of demand from the people that stay in this hotel but the relaxed atmosphere doesn't allow for any discomfort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing time out, a relaxing weekend, a business trip or a family needing a clean, comfortable and good hotel to stay in.