Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Khalid from New Zealand

Practical

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Hotel near tram, rooms comfortable, practical & clean. Hotel staff however were mostly dismissive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good modest hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
Good installations, a bit far from the city, eventhou is a metro station 750 mts away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jayne from Birmingham

Nice hotel, but fair walk to tram

Posted Apr 20, 2014
A pleasant hotel, but out of town - a tram ride and 5-10 minute walk. Breakfast was lovely, room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz from AM

Great hotel for a city break!!!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
The hotel's decor is modern and clean. There's a nice bar, a comfy smoking room, a vending machine with wine, beer, coke, water, crisps & chocolate. The computer is also good, as is the seating area in reception. The staff are some of the politest I have ever met in a hotel. The rooms are basic, but also very clean and comfy. I can't comment on the Tv as I was too busy sightseeing to ever need it. The bed, however, was super comfortable and the tra and coffee facilities were useful. Location wise, it was also brilliant, tram stop is a 5-7 min walk from the hotel and both the 1 and the 17 take you straight to centraal station via Dam square, and a 24hr pass is just €7.50. This hotel earned 5 starts from me because it was the perfect, safest and comfiest base while my sister, brother in law and I had the best weekend of our lives. I will be coming back to Amsterdam and I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: more flexibility with early checkin
Location: shopping
not too far from downtown amsterdam, and the walk there consists of the main lively street of amsterdam so really not too bad a walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Samantha from Canada

my stay at the bastion centrum zuidwest

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
the 2 ladies that worked at reception when i checked out, were unwelcoming, abrupt, unfriendly, rude and were of little to no help to me during my stay at the bastion hotel. i was not able to identify the 2 ladies by name because i never saw them with name tags. most of the staff did not wear name tags. one of the male maids was consistently unprofessional during his interactions with me. i did not want to report anyone at the bastion hotel during my stay there out of fear for my safety, other than these, my stay was fabulous and i received the room in an excellent condition. the bathroom was sparkling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by saleem from z

Very clean room

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Great hotel for the price, far from center £ 14 for parking too much and no street park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Macdonbr from Aberdeen

Great Staff

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff really obliging great hotel would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Was right balance between being away from the centre and therefore cheaper, but still close enough to things by walk or tram.
Cons: Should provide actual soap, conditioner, shampoo, instead of the all-in-one liquid goo. Otherwise was excellent.
Location: It's a beautiful walk from the hotel to Vondelpark and then on the the Museumsplein: Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw, iAMsterdam sign, Van Gogh Museum, etc
Saved some $$ by staying outside of the city centre. It's a ~20min tram ride (#1 or #17) away from Amsterdam Centraal, then about a 10 min walk away after that.