Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville, QLD, Australia

No major issues

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Fulfilled all our needs at a reasonable price.
Cons: The AirCon could be more reliable
Location: Once you work out the transport system, you go go just about anywhere.
We picked this hotel after reading all the previous reviews and now having stayed they, were pleasantly surprised. The AirCon was not the best but it wasn't hot either. The breakfasts were great but only had 2 meals at night and these were ok but not something you would rave about. We did not find noise a problem. Access to the trams was good (500m walk) and you had 2 (1 and 17) to pick from. To summarize, good value for money and would be happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Khalid from New Zealand

Practical

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Hotel near tram, rooms comfortable, practical & clean. Hotel staff however were mostly dismissive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good modest hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
Good installations, a bit far from the city, eventhou is a metro station 750 mts away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jayne from Birmingham

Nice hotel, but fair walk to tram

Posted Apr 20, 2014
A pleasant hotel, but out of town - a tram ride and 5-10 minute walk. Breakfast was lovely, room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chloe from Ireland

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were friendly and when we had issues with our room key they rang us in our room to check that we got in ok. The rooms were very clean and thr beds were comfortable. 5 minute walk to the tram stop I would recommend giving directions because it was hard to find when we first arrived but after that it was fine. Would recommend as a place to stay with easy connection to Amsterdam city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe from USA

Outside City Center, But Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is definitely outside of Amsterdam's city center, but it is very close to a tram stop that takes you into the city within 15 minutes. Because of its location, though, there are not many restaurants or shops nearby. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by aristidw

very helpful staff

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay there. Good location 10 min walk from the station and another 20 by tram to the centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz from AM

Great hotel for a city break!!!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
The hotel's decor is modern and clean. There's a nice bar, a comfy smoking room, a vending machine with wine, beer, coke, water, crisps & chocolate. The computer is also good, as is the seating area in reception. The staff are some of the politest I have ever met in a hotel. The rooms are basic, but also very clean and comfy. I can't comment on the Tv as I was too busy sightseeing to ever need it. The bed, however, was super comfortable and the tra and coffee facilities were useful. Location wise, it was also brilliant, tram stop is a 5-7 min walk from the hotel and both the 1 and the 17 take you straight to centraal station via Dam square, and a 24hr pass is just €7.50. This hotel earned 5 starts from me because it was the perfect, safest and comfiest base while my sister, brother in law and I had the best weekend of our lives. I will be coming back to Amsterdam and I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: more flexibility with early checkin
Location: shopping
not too far from downtown amsterdam, and the walk there consists of the main lively street of amsterdam so really not too bad a walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Samantha from Canada

my stay at the bastion centrum zuidwest

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
the 2 ladies that worked at reception when i checked out, were unwelcoming, abrupt, unfriendly, rude and were of little to no help to me during my stay at the bastion hotel. i was not able to identify the 2 ladies by name because i never saw them with name tags. most of the staff did not wear name tags. one of the male maids was consistently unprofessional during his interactions with me. i did not want to report anyone at the bastion hotel during my stay there out of fear for my safety, other than these, my stay was fabulous and i received the room in an excellent condition. the bathroom was sparkling.