Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is what it is

Posted Jul 21, 2012
Cons: room size, bed quality
Location: convenient to highway and public transit. bad parking
We needed a place to crash for a few hours before catching a flight and I was looking for something cheap - I found it. The rooms are small, the beds old, the general hotel condition not too great. On the + side, the staff was courteous, helpful, and had the best english of any hotel at which we stayed during a 12 day tour. I missed that the hotel was so far away from the airport (can't explain that one) but the woman who checked us in went through the bus & rail schedule and found the best way to get us there on time so everything worked out in the end. If you want some place cheap and you aren't too picky, the Belfort is OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

Decent hotel, small rooms but ok

Posted May 2, 2012
Cons: Very small room
Location: Slightly away from busy parts of town, short cab ride.
We went during a busy weekend so didn't get much choice on hotel selection. Been to Amsterdam before so didn't expect a lot of space. Be warned, very small rooms. There were 3 of us with 3 beds almost right next to eachother. This isn't in the tourist section of town, but is a 5 minute taxi ride. Hotel is fair enough but not exactly worth the price we paid at the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from California

Belfort Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel had good service and a very delicious and generous breakfast. Rooms were comfortable and what you might expect from a budget hotel. It is quite far from the center of the city, so if you are planning on being out past 12 (when the metro stops running) you would have to take a taxi. Location was the only thing I did not like about the hotel. Everything else was satisfactory.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Belfort Hotel in Amsterdam

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is old and not well maintained. Carpet is very worn. Flat screen tv was on floor, no remote. There were bugs in the room/bed. Not sure what type. Doors don't have deabolt or 2nd lock.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

a hotel room in a prison

Posted Jul 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
i can call my room the best ever room in a prison with no air access,no window,carpet is ugly,smelly room,phone out of service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg

Do not stay in this hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Noisy, dirty, only the breakfast room was OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

James

Posted Sep 8, 2010
The Belfort is more a hostel than a hotel. It's location is not bad, but the hotel itselfd leaves a lot to be desired.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Terrible place!

Posted Apr 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
My husband booked this hotel when our children and myself were stranded in Amsterdam during the volcanic ash cloud closure of the airport. He failed to read the reviews. We arrived to find the place looked very different from the pictures on the internet. Our room was on the ground floor and the number was handwritten on a slip of paper tacked to the door. The room smelled bad the few small windows near the ceiling were filthy. The walls were marked and light switch plates dirty. The carpet did not appear to be fixed to the floor. The room was to sleep three and included a bunk bed with a double on the bottom and a single up above. The mattresses were very thin and did not look comfortable. There was also rubbish floating in the toilet. I did not feel safe staying in this room with my children alone. When I went to reception she offered to show me another room. I declined and we left to stay somewhere else. I have stayed at many 2, 3, and 4 star hotels and the standard of our room was not deserving of 3 stars and I feel that the information given by the hotel on the internet is deceptive. The only good thing I saw was they have free internet access which enabled me to book another hotel before leaving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

not worth the price

Posted Oct 30, 2009
I would not recomend this hotel. the floor was covered with other peoples hair! You can hear ever thing that the person is saying next door.paper thin walls carpet out side in hall are stained with water. stained ceiling tiles in shower if you get a corner unit its very noisy and busy with train noises and cars. and their are burnt cigerette stains on the window covers. We left the very next day. never going back there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los angeles, CA

Not at all satistied

Posted Jun 9, 2009
The hotel should be rated two stars instead of three. Poor quality matress (I could feel the springs), small room, poor location. I should have followed the advice from the other people that rated this hotel and stayed away from it.