Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very far from center

Posted Nov 4, 2014
I was disappointed to discover the hotel is very far from the center and to travel 20minutes by tram.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bournemouth

Odd smell in first room. Second was adequate.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: 20 minute ride to town, good middle ground for those visiting the city and the country.
Cons: Less smelly rooms.
Location: What can't you do near by!
Had a pleasant stay at the Blue Tower whilst on a business trip. However on arrival to my room, which admittedly had a great view from the 11th floor, myself and my colleague noticed an odd smell; as if something had died in the vicinity. After a phone call to reception, the staff re-roomed me in a non smelly room, which was much better. However the receptionist did remark that some people smoke which can cause a smell, which I assured him was not the source of the problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stained walls and carpet. Unpleasant surroundings

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Lobby, restaurant and lifts worked. Near tram stop which took about 20 minutes to get into town. Cheap.
Cons: Deep clean room 201. Not sure what had happened in that room or who had stayed there but there were deposits on the walls and floor.
Location: Did not seem like a pleasant area but I suppose that's what you pay for. Handy for KFC dinner/local supermarket and the tram
Slow check in whilst there were only 2 people in front of us. Room has to be one of the most disappointing ones I have ever stayed in. Whilst spacious the stains on walls and carpets were disgusting. The family refused to walk around in bare feet. Shower was fine with plenty of hotel shampoos etc provided. Towels were small and very thin. Any large people out there will struggle to cover themselves up! Pillows were very hard and the cases were twice the size. The duvet was really lumpy and did not even fit in the cover, there was a 2 foot overhang. Some lights did not work but maybe that's just a bulb issue. We did not mention this as we were only there for 2 nights. Breakfast was ok but scrambled eggs were left uncovered hence a bit crusty. Carrots mixed in with baked beans but that must be a Dutch thing. Pain au chocolat's were rock hard. Cannot complain too much for 10 euros a head. The surrounding area was primarily residential high rise buildings and felt unsafe after dark. Not a place where you want to go for a romantic walk with the wife! The local ABN Amro bank cash machine was smashed up whilst we were there and the local Indian had a cat litter tray in their lobby full of poo! There also seemed to an unusually high police presence compared to central Amsterdam. Overall a enjoyable trip to Amsterdam but regrettably will not be staying at this hotel again. Ideal for a stag weekend when you are off your face so you don't care where you sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not particularly great district

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Nice hotel and friendly enough staff, not particularly great district a bit far out of the city centre but good value for money accordingly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom manchester

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Oct 8, 2014
It is not 4 star but b/w 2 & 3. Good size rooms, with average amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
We arrived at the airport at 10:00pm and took the train to Sloterdjik station, from there we got a bus which stopped about 3mins away from the hotel. The tram stop is also 3 mins away which connects to Dam square. The room was clean and tidy. The hotel front desk was very polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice trip with a good hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
very nice hotel, easy access public transportation and close to supermarket
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good 4 stars

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Everything was fine I guess - just a nice hotel as expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Mixed feelings

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Beds, curtains, breakfast.
Cons: Maintenance & housekeeping.
Location: Well out of the centre...but very close to the no 14 tram line
Positives: The 4 single beds in the family room were very comfortable and the curtains cut out most light; breakfast was plentiful, fresh and had lots of choice; the staff were pleasant. Negatives: A missing hanging rail in the wardrobe, one bedside light not working and another just not there (family room with 4 single beds and only 1 functioning light between them). Bathroom could have been cleaner - hair in the bath plus crumbs, a nail clipping and soap smudges on the vanity unit (ugh). The bedroom was dusty and had a nasty stain on the carpet. Mitigating circumstances: We grumbled on the first evening but did not push for another room as we had just unpacked. We expected the room to be given a thorough clean, but because I was unwell on the second day, I spent the day in bed with the 'do not disturb' sign on the door preventing that! We perhaps should have repeated our grumble the next day but didn't...and the bathroom was given the same smeary wipe down. I suspect that the hotel is run with minimal staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairly OK, if you are staying just one night

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Price and the location is not too bad
Cons: Room is too old. Staff in the bar/restaurant
The room was really old and the air conditioning did not work. The tap in the bathroom was hopeless with almost no water. To be served in the bar also provedmto be a challenge on tis own. It could take you 20 minutes to make the bartender to stop looking to the floor