Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Beautiful old house

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great central location, quiet, comfortable. Very friendly owner & staff.
Cons: The top-floor bathroom could use, at the very least, a coat of paint. The TV cable didn't work, and there was an empty beer can behind the couch.
Location: Close to the canals, the Centraal, the Red Light District (but not in it)
I loved the place--charming, old, funky. It's a lovely old house (and yes the stairs are steep--but that's just normal for the area). I was quite surprised to find out at check-out that although the title includes "B&B", it's not a true bed & breakfast. We were charged additional fees for breakfast, which was disappointing and lowered the overall value IMO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches altes Haus direkt an den Grachten

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Das Haus an sich war nicht direkt als Hotel erkennbar, es ist ein altes holländisches Gebäude in dem die Besitzer selbst glaube ich auch wohnen. Das Zimmer war schön groß, das Badezimmer eher klein und auf dem Flur gelegen (trotzdem zugehörig zum Zimmer, dh es musste nicht geteilt werden). Sauberkeit war okay, bis auf eine Bettdecke die mit weißen (un)definierbaren Flecken übersehen war... In der Hausordnung gab es einen Punkt der mich ein wenig verwundert hat, und zwar dass die Treppen nach 21h lieber nicht benutzt werden sollen. Naja, bin aber auch nach 22/23 Uhr noch hoch und runter gelaufen, geht ja leider nicht anders wenn man ins Zimmer will! Was ich sehr gut fand war die heimische Einrichtung und der Charme des Altbaus, den man sonst in Hotels ja nicht so richtig miterleben kann.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Québec, Canada

Très bon emplacement

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: L'emplacement est parfait, au sortir de la gare. La propreté de la chambre. Accueil très bien. Disponibilité des propriétaires.
Cons: Rabais si des services attendus ne sont pas offerts.
Location: L'emplacement est parfait. Rapport qualité/prix très bien.
N'aimant pas particulièrement les B&B, celui-ci est très agréable. J'ai réservé l'étage supérieur avec salle de bain privée. La chambre spacieuse avec cuisine attenante était un endroit paisible et fort confortable. Très propre avec des attentions particulières avec la cuisine bien aménagée. Par contre, le propriétaire étant blessé, n'a pas servi le petit déjeuner dans un B&B. Aucun rabais offert. Attention de ne pas avoir trop de bagages. Escalier étroit, non convivial aux voyageurs avec des valises. Sommes toute, j'ai bien apprécié.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Koblenz

Urtümliches, sympathisches Haus, zentral gelegen

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Atmosphäre.
Cons: Siehe oben.
Location: Sehr zentral, alles gut zu Fuß erreichbar.
Sehr freundlicher Service, das Haus ist ein typisches altes Amsterdamer Stadthaus mit viel Atmoshäre. Das beinhaltet einige sehr steile Treppen (nichts für Menschen mit Gehbehinderung oder sehr großem, schweren Gepäck), eine tolle Aussicht mit Blick auf eine Gracht, rel. viel Platz und stlistisch schöne, wenn auch teilweise etwas abgewohnte Möbel. Sauberkeit war voll OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

For those who like a bit of charm

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: The location, it's charm and the charismatic owner.
Cons: Ensure that there is a huge stash of english breakfast teabags for us brits :)
Location: Location is excellent. It's right by the main station, newmarket and red light district.
The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is in a great location - right on the canal, red light district and a ten minute walk from the main station - and the b&b is very quirky. Whilst the stairs were steep, they weren't an issue (even after a few too many) and add to the charm of the place. The hotel owner is great fun and was always willing to offer us advice on places to eat. He also allowed us to drop off our luggage at 10am even though check-in wasn't until 3pm or so. Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this b&b :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

real amsterdam

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Age
Cons: TV
Location: Train station is about 3 blocks away
After a short issue with getting our keys, we were shocked and pleased to be led into a 17th century 5 1/2 story house with original steep narrow small stairs (OMG). We had the entire 5th floor. You don't want to go up and down any more than necessary. Like I said--it is authentic, and that is a good thing. Room has a thermostat, shower, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, etc. The TV did not work but was not an issue as we didn't have time to watch anyway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Studio room on canal, lack of assistance

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
After arriving very early in the morning to Amsterdam we made our way to the B&B. We woke up whoever was there, they did not know we were arriving. We did book the day before. Hotels.com does not offer an option to tell the hotel what time you will be arriving. So the guy was a little disgusted with us saying he didn't know what time we were planning to arrive, but allowed us to leave our luggage there until the 2 PM check-in time. When we were shown to our room, the top floor studio. The room was nice, however, the floor was Jute and hurt our feet. The bathroom is outside the room but still private for our use only. The bathroom was very small with no sink to wash your hands. Kitchen stocked with everyday necessities to prepare and eat your food. We tried to check out early (around 8 or 9). We could not find anyone. We waited and waited and still no one came. So we rang the doorbell and someone came running downstairs. We felt we were all alone in the B&B. We did not see much of the home except as we were going to and from our room. It was fun to stay in a traditional canal home, but if we were ever to stay here again, we would find out the "rules" of checking in and out, etc. beforehand in hopes that our experience would be better. Street below was a little noisy. It sits right on the corner of a busy street, tattoo parlor next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laurafrom Washington State

Great place.

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an wonderful experience to stay in a place with such history. The view was beautiful and it was walking distance to where we needed to go. It was as I expected from reading other reviews. I wish I'd had more time to spend there. The rain was just like home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom warwickshire, england

Quirky comfortable B&B in good location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Lovely building but beware the steep stairs Good location for the station/red light district Very nice spacious rooms Toilets are not in the room, but, there is one opposite the room for your sole use
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sebastienfrom PARIS

tres bon rapport qualite/prix

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 jours superbes dans cette ville atypique