Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by ken from toronto

very overpriced for room quality

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: staff was generally very friendly, location
Cons: ac, technology,
put in a tiny room that was supposed to be deluxe for around 430 euros per night, only after complaining was I moved to a better room the next day but it was interior with no ability to get fresh air, air conditioning was hardly operative until last night if I was no so busy, I would have checked out very difficult for them to scan a business document I would not recommend the hotel and would not stay there again as the value was terrible
3 out of 5
by ann from london

Pleasant stay but not outstanding

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Good central location; beautiful building; attractive lobby and bar area. Enjoyable hotel boat cruise of canal with knowledgeable captain.
Cons: Lights that operate with a simple on/off system!
We were fortunate to be upgraded to a lovely canal view suite and enjoyed a canalside table at the Brasserie on our first night. Reception and waitress service were good but we found the concierge rather unhelpful and there was no useful tourism information in the room which is unusual. Other reviewers have noted the odd lighting system and we agree that it is ludicrous. Out of 4 light switches in the lounge area only one worked so the area was in constant darkness and unusable after dark. The lights in the bedroom and bathroom did work, but even when switched off there appears to be an auto sensor system so if you get out of bed at night, the light will come on automatically, waking your partner. Also beware that it will only stay on in the bathroom for about a minute and then you will be plunged into darkness to find the door. The light also would come on during the night for no apparent reason (unless it was activated by one of the mice we spotted in the lobby running up to our room!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old is New

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: I had not been to the De L'Europe in a number of years and was quite pleasantly surprised by the smartly executed makeover of the hotel.
The staff was perfect: Warm, friendly and accommodating. The renovated hotel maintains all of its old world charm but feels completely modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from sheffield

De l'europe wedding anniversary stay

Posted Mar 7, 2014
beautiful hotel and junior suite room meal in the Michelin star restaurant was exquisite and certainly a 6 course taster menu is an experience for a special occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Suburban NYC

Reputation Well Earned

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Some of the culture among the staff is just Amsterdam where they seem to have collectively agreed it is in their interest to be tourist friendly. That being said, we've stayed at several hotels over the years with exceptionally high ratings and the difference has usually been the quality of the facility more than that of the staff. This is a great facility in a great location with a great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chase from South Carolina

From an American Perspective

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Beautiful place, very high end, modern but classic.
Cons: We didn't have a bed sheet for some reason. Just the fitted sheet and then an extremely comfortable comforter.
Location: Great location. Shopping right across the canal and close everything worth doing.
Fantastic place. The rooms are smaller (as in most of Europe) than we're used to but we got the smallest and cheapest that we could. Everything is very high end though and the bathroom, which was quite large ironically, was made of entirely of marble and mirror. Very comfortable bed with massive pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from London

Excellent hotel, friendly. Well located.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Comfortable quiet hotel, right in the centre of Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meher from London

Very nice hotel and vert attentive caring staff

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Location, service and comfort.
Cons: The lighting near the dressing area especially near the wardrobes. We stayed in a suite 436 (upgrade was done free of charge on arrival),
Location: Located in the city centre opposite to the flower market overlooking a canal.
From check in to departure we received amazing service. The hotel is extremely well located, very caring staff and the rooms are tastefully designed and decorated. I however felt the dressing area near the wardrobe had very poor lighting. The food in the restaurants was very well presented and was of a high quality. Would love to go back and stay at the same hotel anytime of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bogdan from Bucharest, RO

good location, in the heart of Amsterdam

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: ipad in each room
room upgraded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Wilmington NC

Simply the best hotel in Europe!

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Location: Central Amsterdam on a canal, walk to everything easily.
This is a top rated hotel and deserves ever accolade. Every staff member and all facilities where top notch. We where visiting Amsterdam over the New Years Celebration and where able to see the fireworks from the hotel bar and our room windows, amazing.