Ratings based on 1,217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Super Lage?

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Mein Mann und Ich waren in Amsterdam ueber Weihnachten. Die Crew des Hotels hat uns wirklich ein zauberhaften Aufenthalt ermöglicht. Das Fruehstuecksbuffet war ein Traum und das Zimmer wunderschön. Wir kommen wieder!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, Fla.

Convenient location

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Just returned from a week-long stay at this hotel. Did a lot of research before we decided to book here. Great location next to Central train station, about a 3 minute walk. About a 5 minute walk to Red Light District, 7 minutes to Damrak, 12 minutes to Dam Square & Kalverstraat (main shopping street). Our room was on the 5th floor and super quiet. Actually, never stayed in such a quiet hotel in the middle of a big city. We were on the north side and had a view of the harbor, which was wonderful, because there is constant shipping traffic going by. The multiple trains that went by below our room, were barely audible, and there was absolutely no vibration from all the train traffic, including the cargo trains. Double Tree did a phenomenal job on the sound insulation. Enjoyed the Sky Lounge on the top floor, with it's great views of the city. Bedding gets changed every 3rd day. The only slightly negative thing was the housekeeping, it appeared they only vacuumed once in the week we were there, other than that the room was clean. Forgot to refill our coffee tray and tissues, which was quickly resolved after a phone call. Room was spacious enough for our 2 big suitcases & 2 carry-ons and not break our necks over the luggage. Never tried the breakfast, too pricy. We got pastries in one of the many bakeries the day before and had coffee in the room, watching the ships go by, perfect! Next time we visit our family nearby, we will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom York

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Couldn't fault this hotel. Every member of staff was excellent: nothing was too much trouble. Huge bonus was the fact we booked an executive room which entitled us to free breakfast and also free drinks and nibbles each evening in the executive lounge- brilliant !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Morden hotel in the heart of all the action

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: the view from the rooftop bar
Cons: If they had a swimming pool
Location: great location
Enjoyed are 3 night stay at the double tree, room was clean and tidy and loved the sky bar were you can get great shots of Amsterdam city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Daventry

Wonderful location, excellent hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Loved everything!!
Cons: Lobby bar opened a bit later
Location: near to central station, trams, boat trips,bars, coffee shops, restaurants and near to red light district but not too close
Well what can I say, we arrived at 10pm and were greeted by super friendly staff who presented us with a hot choc cookie!! Excellent hotel, perfect location, only negatives were that the lobby bar close early. You can pick up complimentary water and fruit in reception
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was terrible

Posted Dec 8, 2014
In every ten minutes i woke up because of trains and hotel room was very cold,condition was really weak. I suggest you to never stay on this hotel. Better to stay 2 stars in city center.!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Amsterdam at Double Tree

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Consierge - sky lounge - beds - in room computer
Cons: Customer service and manners of certain reception members as mentioned above
Location: Good location - close to the station and trams - good restaurants close by and excellent sky lounge.
Overall good experience - concierge excellent - real highlight - room on 11th floor overlooked railway lines and was a bit noisy - sky lounge very good - room nice - in room computer good. When we arrived we were greeted by a nice lady at reception who organised our room and handed me our passes - the next minute a rude young man (called Ben I think - tall bond hair with glasses) comes over and interrupts - no acknowledgement of us - and talks to this other lady on reception as if we didn't exist - then we have our passes handed back and get a different room. Now I don't know what was going on and whether we had been allocated the wrong room but this left my partner and I with an initial poor perception of the hotel. Based purely on this I probably would not stay in the hotel again or recommend it which is a shame given the performance of the concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal Location, Great Views & Food

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location, food, well equipped room, clean, views
Cons: Expand the Executive Lounge area
Location: The whole of Amsterdam is a short walk away and access to other transport forms should you want to travel further out
Booked 2 nights in a Junior Suite, with breakfast for 2 adults and a teenager (15 year old girl) as a weekend break. Easy to find as only a couple of minutes walk from the railway station. Our room was on the 9th floor on a corner looking out over the city. The only noise we heard was from the very occasional police car, not sure if it would be as quiet the other side of the hotel due to the railway track? The view over the city at night was great, especially as it was the Festival of Lights and the teenager loved sitting in the chair in the corner window looking out. Size was OK, modern, clean and comfortable, staff were all very helpful and friendly. I hadn't requested a 3rd bed on booking, however this was easily sorted with no fuss by the staff. Food in the restaurant was very good, we had dinner on arrival, a little pricey but that could be expected in a city center hotel and the choice at breakfast was fantastic! Access to the Executive Lounge meant you could have lite nibbles with wine/beer/soft drinks from 1800 - 2000hrs, the only down side was the size as it got very busy in there so the main bar ended up being used as an overflow area. The Sky Lounge on the roof is a very trendy wine bar type venue with great views all over the city, although not really aimed at families. If we were looking at going back to Amsterdam at any point we would look at staying here again as it is ideally situated to get to/from with trains, trams and buses on the door step.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Hotel staff very friendly and help

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Extremely friendly staff and always helpful. Also great location
Cons: The only thing that I could think of is that the aisles in the room floors remind a kind of university accommodation- but rooms will compensate you!
Location: Everything in walking distance and Amsterdam Centraal train station just a three minute walk from the hotel
Very good location, nice and clean room with good view. Very good breakfast (if you count that on a good hotel)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast NI

Great welcome and got our room early

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, price
Cons: Price of drinks
Location: close to the central train station and town.
nice pleasent staff, couldn't do any more for us.