Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deborah from Washington, DC

no better place to stay in A'dam,no cause to whine

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved being around the corner from most everything in a city pulsing with energy and youth on a weekend - the location made it easy to take a break midday so I could keep up into the evening! I found my room exactly as described, and in the Dutch way plenty comfortable but practical and a reasonable price. I didn't expect (or pay for) lots of frills -- but it was larger than I expected, and the big shower and wall of windows were especially nice. I didn't skimp when I booked though, and would recommend that you either get a room with your own bathroom if that is important - or you resolve not to whine if you chose a cheaper option! I would echo other reviewers' praise for Gerard, the host. He was very kind in recommending where and how to go, and always friendly when I ran into him during my stay. Also important to me: transfers to/from the airport were a breeze. I'll hope to be back soon!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from San Francisco

Close to city center

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Definitely not what I booked. The description was embellished. It was not a hotel. It was an apartment building of 3 rooms for rent. Our room had the toilet across the hall. I was told the other 2 rooms had the toilet inside the rooms. We were told we could change room at the convenience of the care taker, whom we communicated via note on the table. Once we checked in we never saw the care taker. We heard all the noise from upstairs and whoever entered the building. I would not recommend this place for a stay in Amsterdam . There was no amenities, towels only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jack and Carol from Los angeles

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for three nights in Amsterdam. Gerard ( the host) was gracious and helpful. It was more like living in Amsterdam than staying in a hotel. We would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from New Zealand

Delightful

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Great host
Cons: Nil
Location: Prefect close to everything but quiet
Great location close to tram line and Museums but still very quiet. Gerard is a delightful and very accommodating host. Bright large room with nice bathroom and kitchenette with jug and microwave .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room

Posted May 8, 2013
Lovely location, walking distance from centre but very quiet area. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Great friendly host with good advice. Overall an Excellent Room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eugene and kath from Brisbane QLD, Australia

lovely stay in amsterdam

Posted Sep 15, 2012
We had a cosy room on the first floor. there was a lift available for getting luggage to the room. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean, breakfast was more than sufficient, and Gerard was a most hospitable, helpful and caring host. Our room however shared a toilet with one other room but each had their had own bathrooms. The accomodation is close to the heiniken experience, streets of restaurants and bars and if you are interested in a walk, 20mins gets you to many interesting places including the red light district. we didn't a hairdryer in the room so that addition would have been useful. very commended accomodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MJC

Excellent Place to Stay in Amsterdam

Posted Jun 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
In Amsterdam you expect a hotel or apartment to be over priced, very small, and lots of steep stairs. We got the smallest room that was offered, and it was more than double the size of any of the other apartments we rented on your vacation. The location was fantastic, with very easy access on tram 14, from Central Station, lots of bars and restaurants, and less than a mile from most of the tourist sites in the city. I think there were 4 apartments, with a shared toilet for the two smaller ones. The shower had lots of hot water and was 4 times the normal size. The apartments are located on a residential street with little traffic and two schools. We slept with the windows open and did not notice any noise. If you stay there, make sure you walk to the end of street and turn left at the canal (towards Central Station). This is supposed to be one of the must beautiful canals in Amsterdam, and Rembrandt Square is not far away. The manager provides us with a very large breakfast of eggs, several kids of bread, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, cold cuts and cereal. We basically had enough food for breakfast and lunch. If you have a lot of luggage, the manager will let you use his private elevator, otherwise you have to climb two sets of stairs. When we left, the manager insisted on carrying our bags out to the street. Great price ... Great Service .... Excellent Room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect walking distance to all main attractions

Posted May 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Gerard was excellent throughout our entire stay, he went out of his way on numerous occasions to accommodate us. On arrival he had a beautiful array of flowers & a bottle of wine as I had told him it was our honeymoon. He even did our washing(pretty sure that isn't standard). Room was large & bed comfortable to sleep on. There is a shared toilet but this is beside the room & never an issue. Due to the friendly & personal touch shown to us we give it a ****