Ratings based on 1,536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Excellent Hotel in Historic Building Near Station

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Large comfortable room with great shower, comfortable bed and free minibar.
Location: See the Rembrandt House, the Van Gogh museum and the botanical gardens all very accessible by tram.
This hotel provided good value (at the Expedia price) in a large very comfortable room with a water view, helpful staff and a great location for those traveling by train. All services were available-- facilities include a very comfortable dining room and a swimming pool in the health club area. All this a very short walk from Central Station and convenient to trams. This was a very short first visit to Amsterdam and this hotel was a great base to see a lot of attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Hotel with Character

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: I liked the unusual shape, the elevator door which one needs to open oneself, the stairways and the white linen table clothes.
Cons: Information about how they arrange to do daily cleaning. It to me a day to figure it out. Response of the front desk to the telephone was slow.
Location: Is one west edge of the old city. Can easily walk from the Central Station though the curves of Prins Henderick make this challenging.
I stayed in one of the wedge shaped room in this hotel with an unusual ayout consequent of having once been a maritime administration building. One wing lies along a canl, the other along Prins Henderick Street. Cheeckin was quick nad pleasant. Room service was rpomt and reasonable. Food at the restaurant was excellent. Does need warnings to look both ways before leaving to avoid collision with all the bicycles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We loved this hotel. The styling is so unusual and far from the norm it could be a tourist attraction in its own right. The craftsmanship and detailing throughout the communal areas of the hotel are amazing. As stated in other reviews the layout can be confusing but once you've got your bearings it's easy to work it out and adds something unique to the stay. The staff were very very nice & helpful. The room we had was big with everything you could want. The complimentary minibar is a nice touch, (we gave that a hiding). The hotels location is really central and you are only a short walk from lots of the main Amsterdam attractions. The only thing we would knock them on was the housekeeping in our room (e.g. dust in areas you could write your name in), although to be critical feels mean because we didn't let it detract from all the hotel's plus qualities which we enjoyed tremendously, but surprising nonetheless. In a nutshell this hotel really added to our Amsterdam holiday and we would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Amsterdam, NY

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: It was chosen for proximity to the central rail station and the major tourist sights in the city.
Cons: Get real with pricing breakfast. Also, the hotel is not easily negotiated by physically challenged guests.
Location: Well located for sightseeing on foot; no real need for most people to use public transportation to visit museums, et al.
Decent location and accommodations. Sink drain went unrepaired for the entire week's stay, despite two notices to management. Room was not made up until early evening twice despite having been available for cleaning from 10:00 AM onward. Breakfast was WAY overpriced at 25 euro (17.50 if arranged the night before); we found a full buffet breakfast available at a nearby restaurant for under 10 euro per person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A historic building!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great location! Close to Central Station and the heart of tourist Amsterdam. Easy walking to great shopping, cafes, and the Red Light District. Central Station is a 5 minute walk. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Central location very nice hotel with good size rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, England

Interesting Hotel, full of character.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
I stayed here with my daughter as a 21st birthday treat. What a fantastic find, the staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel full of character and the room spacious, clean with a wonderful room of the canal. The free mini bar was a treat, as was the coffee machine. The bathroom was luxurious. In fact I can't fault it and would certainly recommend and come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beachwood, Ohio

No porter to help with luggage

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Bedding was fabulous and the availability to use the gym and spa
Cons: porter to assist with luggage since there are several steps to enter the lobby
Location: good
Hotel was nice with courteous staff. The free wi-fi and free mini-bar was a nice perk. Good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Great hotel, great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Lovely hotel in a great central location. The staff are all friendly and attentive. The swimming pool is peaceful - we had it to ourselves one evening. If you want to treat yourselves, this is the place to do it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Don't stay here if you want to be treated well

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It was interesting on the outside, but nothing on the inside based on our experiences.
Cons: Air-conditioning, staff service.
Location: Near sights of Amsterdam.
In what was supposed to be a nice conclusion to our trip, we booked our last nights in Amsterdam at a "5 star" hotel. What a terrible decision! When we checked in, we were warmly greeted and since the room wasn't ready, the front desk held our luggage. But when we returned we were put in a room on the first floor facing the main road. That wasn't a problem until we found our air conditioning didn't work! Nor did the fan on the system. We tried to open the windows but only a small 1 ft wide window could open. So we called the front desk who came and told us that we just didn't know how to turn it on. After playing with the controls for a few minutes, the night manager said we were right and that it didn't work! He then said he would get it fixed the next day and brought us a small 8" fan for our room. That did NOTHING to help the temp. At no time did he offer to put us in a different room. After sweating through the night, we returned the next day to find that the air still did not come on. After calling the front desk again, a different night manager arrived to tell us there was nothing he could do and that we should have notified them during the day. After telling him that we had spoken with the previous night manager, he said that he would see if he could upgrade us to a different room but on his return, the hotel was (of course) full and we couldn't switch rooms. They offered free breakfast the next morning to make up for it. It didn't. Don't stay here! Not a 5 star stay!