Ratings based on 1,511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windermere, Florida

I keep going back !

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Make sure a room window really does open !
Location: Perfect location from Train Central Station and within easy walking distance of everything you want to see! Lots of wonderful restaurants close by!
Perfect location! If you are looking for Art Deco glam, this is the hotel to stay in while in Amsterdam!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Great location - a unique hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful historic building - a pleasure to stay somewhere that wasn't exactly like all the rest. An easy walk from Central Station. Huge room, huge windows, huge bed (really comfy) Loved the free mini bar and nespresso machine - nice touches. Great power shower and option of bath too. Clean and well presented. Bit difficult to find room at first but found a short cut eventually! Pool small but OK for a dip, pleasant spa staff - perhaps would have been nice to have treatments on offer? Great location - walked to all main attractions (and had canal trip) Great bars and restaurants - friendly, helpful and polite people. Only wished we had had more time - will have to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a 5 star experience

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The building Bathroom.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Impossible to sleep due to road noise. Room was not cleaned daily and not properly cleaned before our stay. Room furniture a bit tatty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

lovely hotel!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
my room was upgraded to a junior suite :-) staff are lovely would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, Northern Ireland

Lovely old hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It just felt more comfortable than most hotels. I love all the old features mixed with modern facilities. Also, as everyone says, a free minibar.
Cons: Not sure what could be done about it but reception can get quite crowded.
Location: Location is one of the reasons we stayed here. It's close to the station so everywhere is within walking distance or you are close to the tram station
The opposite of the modern, bland hotel. We loved how so much of the building's character has been retained whilst the room was what I would expect from a five-star hotel. The bed was wonderful! The room was cleaned/checked three times a day. The staff were very helpful, especially the concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice location!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel not far from the train station. Rooms are nicely decorated and very original and loved the automatic drapes. Great mini bar selection and awesome Nespresso machine. Close to everything. Would definitely stay here again! Cons: tv was a little small for the size of the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila, pa

Great location and awsome inclusive spa

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Hotel is great! It's walking distance from central station as well as other Main attractions like red light district, dam square and Anne frank museum. Loved the spa in hotel it was very clean and convenient when u want to relax after log day of walking around. Hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Very convenient to have minibar and tea/coffee included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Old hotel no AC

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The architecture was beautiful.
Cons: I need air-conditioning. The Jacuzzi in the spa area, was not allowed to be heated over 80. Not much of a Jacuzzi at that temperature.
Location: Amsterdam is a small city so all the museums are close by.
The hotel has a five star rating. The room was good size but no air-conditioning made it very difficult to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Lovely hotel, good position

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous and very well maintained building; comfort, staff attitude and facilities-top class!Good position as it's close to the train station and fair walking distance to the city centre.I would love to go back and I recomend it to everybody!!!A happy tourist 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Grand Old Hotel in a good location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, comfort
Cons: Initially the response to problems were a little slow but then improved.
Location: Almost too many to name. The canal is right there; close to train station as mentioned; museums, on the edge of the city centre.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal train station. It is also close to river cruises, river cabs and other tourist-type activities/information. We were in a smaller room in the back of the hotel. Although it was not as large as the room the couple traveling with us had, it was away from the street and very quiet. We has a terrific night's sleep both nights. The bed was very comfortable. The only problem, that was corrected later that day, was the Nespresso coffee system died. It was replaced with a new one. Two lifts available from the main floor to the room levels. Only a few steps up from the sidewalk to the lobby. The staff (cleaning, repair, bellhop, concierge) were ALL very polite and helpful with each detail of the visit. The main restaurant was closed for renovation but the bar covered for it well.