Ratings based on 1,367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Central Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Nespresso machine, complimentary frig w/bottled water, motorized curtains, nice pool, steam rm, sauna, hot tub, helpful concierge, great breakfast
Location: Very central, close to the train station that takes you just about anywhere, including the airport, canal boat rides, Rembrandt House and restaurants.
Spent 4 nights with excellence check-in, room extremely clean, and staff very friendly. Easy access to business centre and printer, and free wifi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pollyanna from Gloucester, England

Comfortable beds,10 minutes from Central Station

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and decent shower facility.
Cons: Service when there is a difficulty reported by a guest.
Location: Central station 10 minute walk away which is very handy as almost all transport goes to and from the central station.
Comfortable and clean I was pleased with the accommodation. Free mini bar replenished daily. Staff at reception not very helpful however and despite 2 calls to request help with the coffee machine no one came to assist, and it was only attended to after our third request which is poor service for a 5* hotel. Bar area serves a selection of food, the fish and chips was good. Breakfast was expensive but there are some cafes just a few minutes walk away where you can get breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from Yorkshire

Love the hotel!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The Art Deco feel whether inside the hotel or outside (near or far). This hotel is a gem and as added earlier, is enhanced by the great staff
Cons: Sorry - nothing!
Location: Location mentioned earlier - close to the station and tram connections. Good restaurants close by, but many more by taking a 10 minute tram ride.
Excellent location close to the Central Station. Tram to every destination from the Station area. Hotel is unbelievable with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms (2) were different but both had special features and were very exclusive in the decor and all facilities within. I have stayed in numerous hotels all over the world and can honestly say that this is one of the best. Looking forward to returning soon!
3 out of 5
by Traveller from UK

So so

Posted Apr 12, 2014
For the money paid and the five star rating, I did expect rather more from this hotel. It was rather dark and gloomy; my room was very small with a tiny window; no-one offered to assist my 75 year old travelling companion with her bags on arrival, and on checking out I was presented with a bill for 'extras' which included around €130 for my 'overnight stay'. In fact, I stayed for 5 nights and had already paid fully in advance. It's a beautiful building, clean and with friendly staff, but not exactly a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lex from Cardiff

Stunning

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Stunning hotel, staff cannot do enough for you!! Stayed In a superior room bed was out of this world! Only moan I could have was the TV could of been a bit bigger!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by dan from london

grand hotel very central

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Very classy, massive rooms and best bathroom i've ever had
Cons: wasnt told the closest lift to room
Location: amsterdam central station
Best location, not in dam square (which is horrible for anyone not on a 'lads holiday') but very close to amsterdam central station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel in central location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Lots of space. Good evening meal. Breakfast a bit expensive.
Cons: Breakfast coffee. Personal service for cooked breakfast at this price?
Location: Everything within walking distance.
Enjoyed the upgrade to a junior suite. Superb hotel with unusually large rooms for a city hotel. Restaurant food was very good. As good as all the recommended restaurants that we tried.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Chester, U.K

Convenient for Central Amsterdam

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful and cheerful. The Wellness Centre is excellent, beautiful pool and relaxing. The food was very good and room very comfortable.
Cons: As we are not drinkers, would have preferred a free continental breakfast rather than the free minibar, but most I am sure would say the free minibar.
Location: It's just a short distance from Rembrandts House and Dam Square. Also near to Canal bus which stops at all the Museums and sites of interest.
We stayed for three nights at the beginning of April. We found the location convenient and were able to access the Hop On Hop Off Canal Bus within a short walking distance and of course it is a short distance from Centraal Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ros from NSW Australia

Convenient and great place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Huge bath. Nice room
Location: Near railway station, dock for European cruises, red light district, hop on hop off bus stop , walking distance to Central Amsterdam.
Walking distance to centre of Amsterdam, lovely old hotel with lots of charm. Clean and staff very friendly. Near main train station and docking point for River Cruises. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Coventry

Beautiful hotel, Excellent facilities, Spotless!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were so helpful, hotel and room was spotless, couldn't find a fault even if you tried. Will definitely be coming back later on in the year.
Cons: NOTHING!! Everyone was brilliant
Location: The location was brilliant, 10 minute walk from Central Station, hotel was set in a lovely corner of Amsterdam Square. Everything you needed was near
Beautiful hotel from out the outside and inside. Staff were extremely helpful and kind. Room was much better than ever imagined, could not fault the hotel at all. Lovely surroundings, extremely close to central station. Would 100% recommend this hotel to family and friends!! Room was spotless, even brought us cake on our first night as we were there to celebrate a birthday! When visiting Amsterdam again i would NOT stay anywhere but at the 'Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam'. It made my weekend away just that little bit better, didn't want to leave. But will definitely be booking to stay here again later on in the year!!