Ratings based on 1,540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire SCOTLAND

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Lovely hotel , near enough to Amsterdams attractions but far away from the hussle and bussel. The mini bar was a great freeby, my only personal dislike were the huge fluffy pillows, I like mine to be harder, but that's just a personal thing, I'm sure the hotel staff would've sorted that in a jiffy. The staff were most efficient doing there business. All in all a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Interesting hotel in the heart of Amsterdam

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Excellent facilities, welcoming staff and an excellent spread for breakfast.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: In the heart of Amsterdam. There are restaurants, coffee shops, shops, museums, canal boat trips, all easy to get to and good value with the City card
This hotel was in walking distance of the hotel and ideally placed to explore Amsterdam. The restoration and conversion from Shipping House to hotel has been beautifully done with lots of fascinating features retained. The room was very comfortable, quiet and well equipped. We didn't get a chance to try the swimming pool and health options, so a good excuse to return. We recommend the 'I am Amsterdam' city card which gives you access to various forms of transport and lots of museums and definitely saves you money over a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Excellent Hotel in Historic Building Near Station

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Large comfortable room with great shower, comfortable bed and free minibar.
Location: See the Rembrandt House, the Van Gogh museum and the botanical gardens all very accessible by tram.
This hotel provided good value (at the Expedia price) in a large very comfortable room with a water view, helpful staff and a great location for those traveling by train. All services were available-- facilities include a very comfortable dining room and a swimming pool in the health club area. All this a very short walk from Central Station and convenient to trams. This was a very short first visit to Amsterdam and this hotel was a great base to see a lot of attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Hotel with Character

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: I liked the unusual shape, the elevator door which one needs to open oneself, the stairways and the white linen table clothes.
Cons: Information about how they arrange to do daily cleaning. It to me a day to figure it out. Response of the front desk to the telephone was slow.
Location: Is one west edge of the old city. Can easily walk from the Central Station though the curves of Prins Henderick make this challenging.
I stayed in one of the wedge shaped room in this hotel with an unusual ayout consequent of having once been a maritime administration building. One wing lies along a canl, the other along Prins Henderick Street. Cheeckin was quick nad pleasant. Room service was rpomt and reasonable. Food at the restaurant was excellent. Does need warnings to look both ways before leaving to avoid collision with all the bicycles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We loved this hotel. The styling is so unusual and far from the norm it could be a tourist attraction in its own right. The craftsmanship and detailing throughout the communal areas of the hotel are amazing. As stated in other reviews the layout can be confusing but once you've got your bearings it's easy to work it out and adds something unique to the stay. The staff were very very nice & helpful. The room we had was big with everything you could want. The complimentary minibar is a nice touch, (we gave that a hiding). The hotels location is really central and you are only a short walk from lots of the main Amsterdam attractions. The only thing we would knock them on was the housekeeping in our room (e.g. dust in areas you could write your name in), although to be critical feels mean because we didn't let it detract from all the hotel's plus qualities which we enjoyed tremendously, but surprising nonetheless. In a nutshell this hotel really added to our Amsterdam holiday and we would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Amsterdam, NY

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: It was chosen for proximity to the central rail station and the major tourist sights in the city.
Cons: Get real with pricing breakfast. Also, the hotel is not easily negotiated by physically challenged guests.
Location: Well located for sightseeing on foot; no real need for most people to use public transportation to visit museums, et al.
Decent location and accommodations. Sink drain went unrepaired for the entire week's stay, despite two notices to management. Room was not made up until early evening twice despite having been available for cleaning from 10:00 AM onward. Breakfast was WAY overpriced at 25 euro (17.50 if arranged the night before); we found a full buffet breakfast available at a nearby restaurant for under 10 euro per person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A historic building!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great location! Close to Central Station and the heart of tourist Amsterdam. Easy walking to great shopping, cafes, and the Red Light District. Central Station is a 5 minute walk. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Central location very nice hotel with good size rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, England

Interesting Hotel, full of character.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
I stayed here with my daughter as a 21st birthday treat. What a fantastic find, the staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel full of character and the room spacious, clean with a wonderful room of the canal. The free mini bar was a treat, as was the coffee machine. The bathroom was luxurious. In fact I can't fault it and would certainly recommend and come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beachwood, Ohio

No porter to help with luggage

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Bedding was fabulous and the availability to use the gym and spa
Cons: porter to assist with luggage since there are several steps to enter the lobby
Location: good
Hotel was nice with courteous staff. The free wi-fi and free mini-bar was a nice perk. Good location