Ratings based on 2,512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wolverhampton

Excellent hotel in central Amsterdam

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: We liked the location, the character of the hotel as well as its comfort.
Cons: Breakfast wasn't included in our package but seemed very overpriced
Location: Easy walk from central station which has a direct train to airport. Easy walking to all of Amsterdams sites and attractions or trams are just nearby
A hotel full of character, located within a historic building, close to Central station with easy access to all the sites and museums of Amsterdam. Extremely comfortable room with very friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom wilmington NC

Good 4 stars hotel, not a 5 stars.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Good value.Free mini bar.
Cons: Lower price of breakfast.more heat in room would be nice
not a 5 stars.4 stars yes. Confusing Floor plan. Room could be warmer.Some Staff are great, some others on the border of being rude.....Breakfast overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel very comfy

Posted Jan 16, 2015
It was my first trip to Amsterdam and my partner was quite dubious about the hotel when she saw it from the outside. That all changed the moment we stepped in! The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was amazing! Spacious, clean, the complimentary minibar was great and the room service on point! I'm going to stay there again because we enjoyed it so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex, England

Interesting Hotel - handy for the Station.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Location, room size and sometign a bit differnet from most big hotels.
Cons: Breakfast, bathroom.
Location: Near Station and city centre.
Have used this hotel before - its handy for the Station and offers a bit of luxury and something rather different. Last visit was an overnight stop before a morning meeting - because weather was horrible I chose not to venture out - so free WiFi and minibar very welcome! Rooms large (for Amsterdam) and well appointed. Mine was a little dark and no view. No separate shower - and screen not to effective so caused a bit of a flood. You may need a map to find your room and get back again. Restaurant very nice and 'Surprise Menu' not bad value - but breakfast was pricy @ €25 (€19.50 if pre-booked) and was rather disappointing both for the price and for a 5* hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom durham

Fabulous art nouveau hotel near to old town

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: The building the interior the staff the location
Cons: needs painting in rooms on chipped woodwork.
Location: canal boats and trams nearby
Super high ceiling room beautiful hotel next to red light and china town. tram straight to leidenspein dam square and rembrantplein for night life bars and restaurants. Free mini baR IS EXCELLENT
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Very good experience

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Very pleasant.stuff excellent.free mini bar.no complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, AZ

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Location: 4 minute walk to Central Station and Metro. 5 minute walk to the canal and bus tours.
This is a great hotel in a great location. Room was much larger than typical hotels in the area. The staff was very nice and the building itself was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Fabulous 5 Star close to Central Station

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Stayed for 1 night en route to Leeuwarden. Hotel is fabulous. Clean, with exceptionally friendly staff. Room was beautiful and even had a free mini bar!! I'll definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eccellente

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: Unico piccola deluzione l'area spa, ma non essendo delgi amanti tutto sommato va bene così!
Ottima posizione, hotel pulito e personale cortese e disponibile. Ci siamo trovati molto bene in questo favoloso hotel, a due passi dalla stazione e dal centro, camera confortevole e pulita con 3 finestre con meravigliosa vista sul canale. Consigliato!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great hotel. It certainly deserves its 5 stars.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: The impressive architecture and location. This historic building has been carefully transformed into a hotel with charm and elegance.
Cons: The menu was lacking in any real selection for vegetarians. More options could be introduced and catered for
Location: The Central Station was 5 minutes walk from the hotel, where you could buy a tram ticket. The trams could take you anywhere in the city.
On arrival we were instantly drawn to the impressive architecture of the hotel, which has been transformed this historic building by its owners into an elegant hotel full of charm. The Junior Suite was spacious and comfortable and elegantly furnished and facing a quiet mews alongside one of Amsterdam's numerous canals. We used room service which was excellent and prompt. The mini bar was re-stocked every day and the room was cleaned daily. The hotel Spa, which is housed in the basement was spotless and very well maintained, with towels, robes and slippers available. The swimming pool although small had a resistance jet which was great fun to use. There are 3 types of saunas, a jacuzzi and plenty lounges. It was really busy on the Saturday of out stay, but every other time there were few guests, we were lucky to have it all to ourselves on one occasion.The staff were extremely helpful and were instrumental in making our stay in Amsterdam pleasantly eventful, although the restaurant manager at breakfast could have been less provocative and a little more respectful to my daughter and I. The concierge was able to provide tickets to the Rijk Museum, the Van Gough Museum and tram tickets, adding helpful suggestions on where to eat on route. There are a few places which we did not get a chance to visit this time, but will attempt on our next visit