Ratings based on 2,472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

City break just before Christmas

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Centre of Amsterdam near the central station.
Excellent hotel in a very convenient location. Friendly staff who cannot do enough to make you feel special, great architecture adapted well for its current use still retaining most of the features in a unique historical building. Spacious rooms, very spacious bathroom with a double sized bath as well as a separate shower, complementary mini bar and coffee making facilities in the room. Large comfortable bed with plenty of pillows and soft clean lines, will definitely go back next time in Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale

Historic Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the staff and the amenities
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms
Location: It is located in close proximity to Central Station, the Hop-on Hop-off bus stop, and easy walking to the Red Light Districy
This is an absolutely gorgeous hotel in a fantastic location near Central Station. The Hop-on Hop-off bus stops directly outside the hotel as well, adding to it's convenient location. I was upgraded to a Junior Suite which over looked the water due to my Expedia Gold status. The suite was quite spacious and very comfortable, although a bit dark. The staff were all quite friendly and extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Art Deco Delight.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Cons: The noise from the street in the ground floor rooms coul be reduced.
Fantastic stay in a wonderful Hotel. Easy walk from the central train station, and near to all the sights Amsterdam has to offer. Trams and canal trips are right on the door. The Hotel is a beautiful building lovingly restored to its true Art Deco best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom beckenham

nice hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Great spa
Cons: include breakfast in room rate instead of free mini-bar
Location: must see Body Works,make a visit to the Ice Bar and take a Canal Cruise
hotel close enough to station and main attractions etc.Good spa,restaurant for dinner and breakfast was very expensive in my opinion,we were there for 3 nights and only saw a handful of people having dinner.Great to have a free mini bar included in the room price but not being huge drinkers we would have rather had the breakfast included instead.Great city with loads to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire

Fabulous Hotel in a fabulous position

Posted Dec 14, 2014
We visited here 3 years ago and could wait to return! The hotel is in a beautiful building steeped in history! The staff are all fabulous and very professional! The hotel is close to the station and also Dam Square but far enough away to be peaceful! Amsterdam is an amazing place and we never tire from visiting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom coventry england

Art Deco at every turn.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: The position and beauty of its Art Deco building
Cons: No
Location: Within walking distance of all central attractions and only a short walk to the train station.
I had seen the pictures and read the reviews but nothing prepared me for the wow factor of this hotel.arc deco to the core ,marble stair cases,dark wood rising up like pipes from a massive organ,wonderful windows etched with great pictures of its previous shipping connection and the plus of having lots of Christmas trees and a touch of bling around every corner.the room was great ,large high ceilings and a deco feel to it.a free yes free bar topped up every day and a nespresso machine.we were on the ground floor ,it was very quiet and had a lovely view of the canal .would definitely go back if the price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dundee, scotland

Nice, central hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer care. No one even enquirer as to why I was checking out a day early.
Location: Location is brilliant. Central station is 5 minutes walk away, hop on hop off sightseeing bus stops right outside hotel. Loads of attractions nearby
My stay at the Amrath was good, staff very attentive, possibly too attentive. Housekeeper was in cleaning the room around 9am, someone would come to room mid afternoon to top up minibar then someone else would come to room again in the evening to ask again if I needed anything. I would advise people who are going to the Amrath to watch when settling final bill. I hadn't included breakfast when booking hotel but when checking in the receptionist said if I booked breakfast then I would pay 15 euros a day instead of 19.50 euros. I had to check out a day early because my father had been rushed to hospital. I was still charged for the next mornings breakfast and was also charged 19.50 per day. When I queried the price I was told that's what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Lovely break.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Ideal location for exploring Amsterdam. Hotel very comfortable. Only slight critiscism would be some of the towels & bathrobes don't appear as white as they once were.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Spazioso

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Hotel in posizione molto comoda e con camera molto confortevole per le dimensioni e lo stile.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Riga, Latvia

Perfect location in Amsterdam.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel service in reception, restaurant and bar should be improved. In addition, the heating system in Hotel should be changed.
Hotel is very old and to find the room is very complicated due to labirints. However, the room in first flor was without a heating. It was very cold to live in this hotel. In addition, chambermaids took some of my personal belongins. Unfortunately, the hotel service does not meet the 5* Hotels requirements.