Ratings based on 2,831 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

hotel very handy for city, within walking distance

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: more seating in the foyer would enable it to feel more comfortable whilst waiting for taxis etc.
Location: City life, shopping. Mdme Tussauds, Canal trips, places to eat.Many other opptions we didn't have time to explore.
Hotel complementary services very welcome, pool etc but also the mini bar which meant we didn't have to worry about keeping fluids topped up.As I was accompanied by my teenage granddaughter , the leisure facilities enabled us to relax and have fun afetr being out all day.The bedroom was very comfortable and toiletery items plentiful. All in all the hotel made out stay feel more luxurious and we looked forward to returning at the end of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel close to all major attractions

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Good staff, beautiful room (superior deluxe) and awesome amenities. Swimming pool was a great bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Central location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Hotel staff were lovely,most helpful and very knowledgeable. My room was superb and the little extras made it even more special.I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from musselburgh

Very large hotel ,location ideal .

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Room was great ,Wellness centre with pool ,sauna etc really good .mini bar stocked up daily . Kids loved the remote control electronic curtains !,
Cons: Maybe more signage to show the way out along the vast corridors ,highlighted in gold but against the red walls it's not that clear .
Location: Very central location near to centraal station and a short walk to Dam Square .
Stayed here for 5 nights with listeners and two teenage children .we had two rooms and they were absolutely huge ,electronic curtains ,mini bar that gets topped up each day ,bathroom very good with separate bath and shower ,toiletries all topped up daily . TV channels as probably all hotels very lacking in English channels ,only sky news to watch but out all the time anyway . Bonus is the wellness centre ,kids loved the swimming pool that is open until 11pm and water is a like a semi warm bath which they said was lovely .they also enjoyed the sauna .ceiling in the pool is diamond design ,looks lovely at night . Only negative (if we had to look for one ) is that because the hotel is so sprawling sometimes we got lost trying to find our way out the hotel and a few guests we also found missing where they wanted to be ,can't see a solution to this and didn't make us not want to be there etc .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland UK

Lovely Hotel, Lovely Staff, Reception Lets It Down

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Lovely Staff, perfect location
Cons: Booking in procedure stinks, you have to pay a cash retainer in case you use extras, this cost me an extra £20 in transaction fees and Euro exchange
The hotel is comfortable and the staff are lovely, friendly and really helpful, the hotel location is right next to Central Station, right in the centre of the old town. The only complaint I have is when I booked in I was requested to pay a €300 retainer for a 4 night stay, I had already paid for the hotel in advance this was an extra charge in case I used room service or any extras, my debit card was charged in Euros and the Sterling exchange rate was applied, when I asked how I was going to get my money back the receptionist told me I would be reimbursed in cash in Euros which I would then have to convert back in to Sterling on my return to the UK. In all this cost me a transaction fee and I lost out on the exchange rate so I ended up about £20 out of pocket for nothing. I asked the receptionist why he couldn't just take my debit card details and charge against it if I ordered any extras, he more or less implied that I could be dishonest and run up room service charges, etc then not have enough money on my debit card to cover it so he wanted cash up front. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and it's not unusual to provide your card details on arrival but I have never had to pay a cash deposit before. For this reason I won't be using this hotel again which is a shame because everything else was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Ein Hotel als Art Deco Gesamtkunstwerk

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Das bemerkenswert ruhige Zimmer. Wenn was gefehlt hat, wurde es Minuten später gebracht (Kaffee, Milch etc.)
Cons: Beim Auschecken gab es eine veritable Warteschlange vor der Rezeption, da steht man sich die Beine in den Bauch - keine Möglichkeit, sich zu setzen.
Location: Keine fünf Minuten zu Fuß vom Bahnhof. Von dort fahren auch jede Busse und Straßenbahnen. Man kann aber auch alles Wichtige fußläufig erreichen.
Hervorragende Boxspring-Betten und das wahrscheinlich ruhigste Hotelzimmer, in dem ich jemals geschlafen habe. (Vierter Stock). Gut gefüllte Minibar, die nicht extra berechnet wird, mit Bier, Weiß- und Rotwein, Tonic Water, Cola, Erdnüsse etc. Sehr schicke, große Badewanne. Das Hotel ist nicht billig, es wird aber auch eine Menge geboten. Ich fand es allerdings etwas irritierend, daß beim Einchecken 250 Euro auf meiner Kreditkarte als eine Art Deposit geblockt wurden; die Rezeptionistin hat das aber ganz charmant gehandhabt. Das hat nichts mit dem Hotel zu tun, ich möchte das aber trotzdem hier erwähnen: Wenn Sie bei EXPEDIA das Hotel in Kombination mit einem KLM Flug buchen, steht im E-Ticket ganz lapidar: Die Fluglinie kann für aufgegebenes Gepäck einen Mehrpreis verlangen. Ja, toll! Das tut sie dann auch mit insgesamt 60 Euro, fast so schlimm wie bei der letzten Billigairline. Ich finde es nicht korrekt, daß das bei EXPEDIA nicht konkreter angegeben wird, so daß man bei der Buchung gleich weiß, daß der Flug teurer wird.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen, scotland

Beautiful hotel, very unique-looking, great locati

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: It was very comfortable and well maintained and cleaned. It was also in a great location to see Amsterdam.
Cons: If anything, maybe instruction on the heating system, as it did get a bit too hot in both the rooms we occupied.
Location: Location was ideal. Next to may cafes & within walking distance of the Central train Station and many of the shops & sights.
Family of four - all of us thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Man By the Sea

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: good location; an architectural treat
Cons: room was a bit tired. As a "preferred" expedia hotel, the upgrade - which didn't happen - could have been handled better
Magnificent architecture; imposing building, but it felt slightly tired
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel aber niemals 5 Sterne!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Der Empfang war sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Für einen entsprechenden Aufpreis hätten wir auch vor 14 Uhr einchecken können. Unser Gepäck wurde aufbewahrt, jedoch nur ein Teil aufs Zimmer gebracht. Die Zimmer waren auf den ersten Blick schön und Mut eigener Kaffeemaschine. Aber: Zimmerservice sehr schlecht. Hat mir geputzt, nur neue Handtücher und neue Gläser gebracht und das Bett gemacht. Das Bad wurde in 4 Nächten kein einziges mal geputzt!! Wellnessbereich veraltet, nicht modern Betten waren eine Katastrophe! Total durchgelegen. Wir können keine Nacht richtig schlafen und hatten unglaubliche Kreuzschmerzen! Grauenvoll! Austattung des Zimmers war OK. Die Glastüre am Bad,die nicht mal schließt ist für "nicht Paare" etwas ungünstig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modena

Hotel a 5 minuti a piedi dalla stazione centrale

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Stanze spaziose, bagni grandi e ben curati, servizio mini bar.
Location: Hotel a 5 minuti a piedi dalla stazione centrale di Amsterdam e a 10 minuti dal centro. Fermata bus a 50 metri dall'ingresso dell'albergo.
Passati 3 giorni in giro per Amsterdam, hotel molto bello e ben tenuto, servizio reception perfetto, camere spaziose dotate di tutto.