Ratings based on 1,513 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient and striking

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Architecture, comfort and location
Cons: Nil
Location: Wander the canals and catch a tram to get a good look at Amsterdam.
Stayed three nights in June 2014. Modern, comfortable room with a lovely view over the canal. History and architecture of the hotel is a feature. We had a high standard meal in the restaurant. Easy walking distance from railway station, tram depot and Dam Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Close to train station and old city.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Unique character.
Cons: Windows won't open... clearer signage to move about from room to lobby / exits
Location: Lots of sight seeing, we landed at Old Sailor bar and made friends from Holland, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland... try a Dropshot shooter!
Twin beds is more like 2 side by side singles,,,,but they say so in the small print. But you can seperate them for some separation when sharing room with a friend without benefits! You'll find your way around the halls and floors on day 2... this is not your usual hotel layout...which makes it the more interesting. Well maintained historical building...mentionned in canal sight seeing boat tour. The weekend was booked solid with frat parties, all hotels full, Amrath was upper scale than sought but well worth it, sharing a room with ample space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windermere, Florida

I keep going back !

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Make sure a room window really does open !
Location: Perfect location from Train Central Station and within easy walking distance of everything you want to see! Lots of wonderful restaurants close by!
Perfect location! If you are looking for Art Deco glam, this is the hotel to stay in while in Amsterdam!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Great location - a unique hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful historic building - a pleasure to stay somewhere that wasn't exactly like all the rest. An easy walk from Central Station. Huge room, huge windows, huge bed (really comfy) Loved the free mini bar and nespresso machine - nice touches. Great power shower and option of bath too. Clean and well presented. Bit difficult to find room at first but found a short cut eventually! Pool small but OK for a dip, pleasant spa staff - perhaps would have been nice to have treatments on offer? Great location - walked to all main attractions (and had canal trip) Great bars and restaurants - friendly, helpful and polite people. Only wished we had had more time - will have to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a 5 star experience

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The building Bathroom.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Impossible to sleep due to road noise. Room was not cleaned daily and not properly cleaned before our stay. Room furniture a bit tatty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

lovely hotel!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
my room was upgraded to a junior suite :-) staff are lovely would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, Northern Ireland

Lovely old hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It just felt more comfortable than most hotels. I love all the old features mixed with modern facilities. Also, as everyone says, a free minibar.
Cons: Not sure what could be done about it but reception can get quite crowded.
Location: Location is one of the reasons we stayed here. It's close to the station so everywhere is within walking distance or you are close to the tram station
The opposite of the modern, bland hotel. We loved how so much of the building's character has been retained whilst the room was what I would expect from a five-star hotel. The bed was wonderful! The room was cleaned/checked three times a day. The staff were very helpful, especially the concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice location!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel not far from the train station. Rooms are nicely decorated and very original and loved the automatic drapes. Great mini bar selection and awesome Nespresso machine. Close to everything. Would definitely stay here again! Cons: tv was a little small for the size of the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila, pa

Great location and awsome inclusive spa

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Hotel is great! It's walking distance from central station as well as other Main attractions like red light district, dam square and Anne frank museum. Loved the spa in hotel it was very clean and convenient when u want to relax after log day of walking around. Hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Very convenient to have minibar and tea/coffee included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Old hotel no AC

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The architecture was beautiful.
Cons: I need air-conditioning. The Jacuzzi in the spa area, was not allowed to be heated over 80. Not much of a Jacuzzi at that temperature.
Location: Amsterdam is a small city so all the museums are close by.
The hotel has a five star rating. The room was good size but no air-conditioning made it very difficult to sleep.