Ratings based on 1,436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply Outstanding

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: It has a very unique feel. Quite unlike other hotels. Very stylish in a deco/Art Nouveau way.
Location: Great location. Next door to Central station and walking distance to Dam Square and Maritime Museum/NEMO.
Wonderful hotel. Located in an old office building it has real character. Rooms are well appointed with huge ceilings. Staff are terrific and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

great hotel lovely room nice staff

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: good clean large room with comfy beds good bathroom ,good staff
Cons: no not really
Location: good local resturants nearby all the shops and bars near also
good stay in holland good resturants bars and places to go
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from abingdon uk

GREAT HOTEL

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: THE FOOD ,THE SPA ,THE ROOM AND THE HOTEL STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL
Cons: NOTHING
Location: HIENEKEN EXPERIANCE ,ANNE FRANK MUSEUM , BOAT TRIP
AMSTERDAM,WHAT A GREAT PLACE WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karen from Crosskeys, South Wales

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Everything - the spa facility was out of this world
Cons: nothing
Location: close to everything
A wonderful hotel - beautifully clean with superb architecture - my only let-down was that I was unable to have a high floor as I would have then been able to look upon the canal more freely - no biggy really as the room we had was fantastic. A most enjoyable and memorable stay - the hotel staff were fantastic and I hope to stay again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from London

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Convenient location. Good price. Free Minibar and internet a huge plus. Staff are very friendly and the rooms are very generous compared to what you tend to find in most European cities. If I am ever in Amsterdam again, this soul easily be my preferred hotel .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Grand Budapest Hotel: The Amsterdam Outpost

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The room--not only because it was comfortable, but also because staying in the room meant you didn't have to experience the rest of the hotel.
Cons: Get an architect to renovate the place.
Location: Lots to do in Amstermand
This is a dark, gloomy hotel, and could have been the set for the movie, The Grand Budapest Hotel. I arrived on Thursday night. No one met me at the curb for my bags. The reception area was dark, with four clerks behind old-fashioned desks. The dining room at 9:30 was empty: my meal, though, was decent. The bar downstairs was odd, dark, and uninviting. The gym was small, cramped, and about what you'd expect in 1978. It was confusing to find my room: the layout of the floors was a labyrinth. The good news: I found a large, attractive room, with floor sized windows and plenty of comfort. Overall, the effect was depressing--precisely the opposite of what I expect in a hotel which advertises itself as five stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from UK

Hard pressed to do better

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Their website could include directions of how to get to the hotel from Amsterdam Centraal if you're on foot, took us a bit of time to get oriented.
Location: Plenty, canal tours, cafes, royal palace etc are all walking distance. Or take tram 16 or 24 to get to the Albert Cuypstrasse for street shopping.
The room was very nice indeed. Housekeeping was excellent. Spa was very nice indeed. Concierge was very helpful, full of suggestions as to where to go, how to get there etc. Staff were efficient and polite. No hidden charges, all things you may have had to pay for was detailed out up front when checking in. All in all this hotel is as good as I've ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from Yorkshire UK

Fantastic!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
This was our first visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is perfectly located near the central station and all the main attractions. The hotel is quite unusual looking but very beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the pool and sauna which was free for residents to use. Our room was massive with huge confortable bed and big bathroom with huge bath and brilliant shower. The complimentary toiletries were of excellent quality. Bathrobes were available for us, along with free wi-fi and complimentary mini-bar. The coffee machine was fab also! Our room was cleaned twice a day and this was very unobtrusive. The staff - everyone from concierge to check-in/out to chambermaids to barstaff were lovely. I would recommend this to anyone. It is extremely good value and to an excellent standard. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

A real 5 star hotel next to AMS Centraal Station!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Everything to our liking, especially free mini-bar replenished daily.
Cons: We ordered two beds and got a room with two beds, but literally next to each other. having them separate would be better.
Location: Absolutely best location, close to everything.
We got lucky with this hotel in June. A real 5 star hotel, traditional building, nice rooms, all amenities, etc. We asked for a room on the last floor and got it. Tall sealing, great views, quiet. The pool, sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym (a bit small)... 4 minutes walk to Central station and to Amsterdam center area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique historical hotel made the stay great.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Unique historical hotel made the stay great and was close to everything. Only negative was room had an odor to it and it took twice to complain about it till someone come up and sprayed deodorizer. Helped a little. We believe someone cooked in there before us.