Ratings based on 1,560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RALEIGH, NC

CLOSE TO CENTRAL STATION

Posted Oct 11, 2014
SELECTED HOTEL BASED ON REVIEWS. HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL, HAS WONDERFUL HISTORY AND BEAUTIFUL ART DECO AMBIANCE AND ARCHITECTURE. HOWEVER, AFTER ARRIVING FROM NIGHT FLIGHT, WE WERE TOLD OUR ROOM WASN'T READY BUT FOR PRICE OF 40 EURO UPGRADE FROM DELUXE TO SUPERIOR ROOM, WE COULD CHECK IN TO LARGER ROOM IMMEDIATELY. LARGER ROOM WAS SMALL AND OVERLOOKED INNER HALLWAYS AND HEATERS FOR HOTEL AS WELL AS THE OTHER POOR, UNFORTUNATE GUESTS WHO GOT INNER ROOMS. WE TALKED TWICE TO HOTEL STAFF ABOUT OUR DISAPPOINTMENT IN THE SO-CALLED ROOM UPGRADE AND EACH TIME, THEY SAID THEY WOULD TALK TO A MANAGER, YET NO RESOLUTION CAME. WHILE TALKING TO HOTEL STAFF IN THE LITTLE OFFICE, THERE WERE ALSO OTHER UNHAPPY GUESTS TALKING WITH THE STAFF ABOUT ROOM ISSUES. THE CLINCHER CAME WHEN MY BROTHER CHECKED IN A DAY LATER AND WAS GIVEN THE DELUXE ROOM LIKE THE ONE WHICH WE ORIGINALLY ORDERED AND THE SIZE OF THE ROOM WAS UNBELIEVABLY LARGER COMPARED TO OURS. IT IS NOT A GOOD FEELING TO LEAVE A HOTEL FEELING AS IF YOU WERE TAKEN ADVANTAGE-OF, YET THAT IS HOW WE LEFT THE GRAND AMRATH: DISAPPOINTED.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Nice and huge hotel in the city center

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to central station.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Generally we really liked the hotel and staff. The only problem was heaters did not work during our stay and we felt cold a little.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k, australia.

The service was terrible. The staff were rude.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
I had a terrible stay . The hotel is very old style with large room and reasonable condition. The service didn't exist. The staff was rude when we was checking out early in the morning. The staff at reception made mistakes over charged me. When I pointed it out to him he tried to blame on me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lots of character, spacious rooms, welcoming staff

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Free minibar, Nespresso machine, wifi, pool & sauna, lovely characterful building, big rooms with high ceilings, delicious food in bar, friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom had frosted glass door with no lock - not great if you want privacy but it wasn't really a problem. Hot tap on bath was broken.
Location: Excellent location - 5 mins walk from station, 10-15 mins to Dam Square and tram ride away from the museums. Nemo Science Centre nearby is good.
My friend and I stayed in this wonderful hotel in mid-September through a deal with Expedia, it had everything you could wish for in the room including bath products, bath robe and slippers, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free minibar (restocked daily), free Nespresso machine, even an umbrella! Also, you get a free map on arrival which was better than the one we paid for at the tourist information office. We were allowed to check in a few hours early which was good and the staff were very attentive and not at all snobby which you can sometimes get in posh hotels. We had requested a canal view room on a high floor but were given a harbour view room on a high floor which was still lovely as it had a nice view and we could hardly hear any noise from the road. I have seen a couple of negative reviews about the décor of this hotel. I can understand that the art deco style may not be everyone’s cup of tea but personally I’d rather stay in a lovely old building with lots of character with unique features than an ultra-modern hotel with no character that could be found in any city. In fact, I spent a little bit of time during the trip just wandering around the hotel looking around each floor. Not sure why a couple of people said the décor was dated as the building only opened as a hotel in 2007 so all the fittings and furnishings are modern. Overall, I would definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to others, it was a lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Nice hotel very close to Central Station

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: free minibar
Location: Very close to Red Light District and several coffee shops. Ask on reception for map and directions!
Very nice hotel, conveniently situated close to public transport and various local entertainment places such as coffee shops and Red Light District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with lots to offer.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great location, well appointed hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Free mini bar is a nice touch. Had a nice room on the canal side with beautiful period millwork, a four poster bed, and a sleek modem bathroom. You could nit pick here and there but there is not really much to complain about at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel nice location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Very clean and quite hotel. Free Wi-Fi is an excellent touch.
Location: Close to the station and city centre
An excellent hotel, good location easy access to city and a short walk from the station. Hotel staff were very helpful service was excellent. Room was very comfortable with good views of canal. Food was very good we ate in the bar on several occasions, didn't try the restaurant only for breakfast which was a good buffet breakfast. This is a large hotel but it is very quiet didn't hear anything slept well every night. Excellent would certainly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darien Center, NY

Great hotel, outstanding location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location....beautiful room, professional staff.
Location: From the hotel, you can pretty much walk everywhere. You could not ask for a better location! Two minutes walk from Central station.
Had a couple of mishaps, which the Amrath staff resolved quickly and in a satisfactory manner. We loved our room, and most of all the hotel location. Would definately stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from southport uk

Wonderful

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Just back from a few days Amsterdam, stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath. The hotel was fabulous, and the staff just couldn't have been more helpful. A special mention for Mo the barman and Patrick the restaurant manager, they were both amazing people who just put the icing on the cake. A really super few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South England

Great hotel just a moments walk from the centre

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Complimentary minibar. Nespresso Coffee machine. Complimentary spa access. Close to centre of town.
Location: Very close to centre of town and other attractions like a maritme and science museum within 15 minutes walk.
Hotel is situated just outside of the main centre, a few minutes walk to the main high streets either along the main road or the side roads. Don't get the idea that this makes it a noisy place to be, have stayed in a street level room and never once was disturbed by outside noise. Hotel itself is an old building but exceptionally equipped. Cannot fault anything in the rooms at all. Modern fittings and appliances, clean and sleek bathrooms. Public areas are all very clean and staff very presentable, polite and multilingual. Overall great experience and would certainly stay here on future visits to the City!