Ratings based on 1,586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top city hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
You will not find better. Simple as that. From checking in to checking out. 1st class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location, the concierge help and the bar area
Cons: Lobby and common areas can use some sprucing up and rooms too. The carpeting is on the old side and rooms smell musty.
Location: The location is great. You can walk to great restaurants, shopping, the train station, the red light district, Ann Frank House, museums and more.
The Amrath is in a great location and walking distance to a lot of attractions and train station. The lobby is not inviting and is cramped. The hotel concierges were terrific in getting taxis, tickets or making day excursion and restaurant suggestions. The hotel breakfast was very expensive - usually included with room rates in other European cities. The hotel needs to spruce up the lobby, common areas and even the rooms (smell a little musty).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom derry n.ireland

AN EXQUISITE HOTEL

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: LOCATION , FACILITIES , COMPLIMENTARY MINI BAR
Cons: NOTHING
Location: very close to dam square ,, central station
i can not say any thing bad about the Grand Amrath Hotel .The hotel is exquisite in its elegance ,the facilities wonderful, the room fantastic !.All the staff i met were very professional and friendly and the concierge was a very pleasant gentle man who spoke to my wife and i every time we left or arrived at the hotel.Having stayed in other 5 star hotels in Amsterdam i would have to say there is no comparison the Grand Amrath is a clear winner by several milles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great City Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Free mini bar
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything within walking distance
Great hotel. Brilliant value and location. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Pleasantly surprised!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The staff were lovely and the room had everything you'd want. Free mini bar, bath robes, slippers and it was clean!
Cons: The price of breakfast.
Location: 5 mins away from the central station for trains, buses and trams. Cafes and bars all nearby but the hotel itself was set away from the busyness!
We stayed for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the train station. After reading the reviews and the deal we got, we were expecting a nice hotel in an ok area. When we got outside the hotel it was a lot grander than we'd imagined and we were a bit concerned it would be pompous. Couldn't have been more wrong! The staff were really lovely and welcoming. Some parts of the hotel were beautiful to look at and the bar/restaurant area was really relaxed. The room was lovely and modern but keeping with the tradition of the hotel. We didn't have a view from our room but it didn't matter as we had a free mini bar when in the room and the outside if we wanted views! HAd a few drinks in the bar but didn't have breakfast or dinner there as it was a bit too expensive. It was quite easy (for me) to get lost when looking for the room but overall, can't fault the hotel at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great trip

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Excellent value for money, stunning building staff really helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A grand old building and a great hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We only had one night in the hotel and wish we had had more. Other than a little dust on a couple of surfaces in the room, we had a wonderful weekend and will definitely be looking to book it again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Good location, near central station.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
For a 5 star hotel, very impersonal, stayed at better small bed and breakfasts in Blackpool!! Breakfast was cold, didn't serve drinks only once at breakfast, and the bar area was not comfortable are to have a evening drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes, England

Lovely, luxurious hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: We liked the staff, the on-site spa and the complimentary mini bar, as well as the rooms.
Cons: The room took a while to warm up and the radiators were switched off - the first night was a chilly one.
Location: The location was great - a short walk from Centraal Station and near the Red Light District. Other points of interest were a little walk/bike away but
This hotel looks grand from the outside and is grand on the inside. The interior is very traditional and luxurious - think red carpet as you walk inside, marble staircase and wood panelling. The staff were lovely and spoke fluent English and were always asking if you were ok/enjoying your stay/want any help. The room was large with high ceilings, the bed was huge with a very comfortable mattress. The room had a complimentary mini bar (stocked every day) which included vodka, gin, whiskey, white wine, beer, Coca Cola, Sprite, tonic, still and sparkling water. WiFi was also complimentary and the Rituals bath products were also fabulous. The onsite spa was lovely - we didn't have any treatments but the swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room were lovely to relax in a few evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great combination of traditional and modern.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Fantastic staff who were extremely helpful. Rooms were great and we enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. Very convenient location, close to the station and the city centre. Would definitely stay here again!