Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in excellent location.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Me and my partner stayed for three nights. This is a very nice hotel in a good location, the staff where very helpfull and we would defenetly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near the canal, shops & museums

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Lovely character, comfy rooms and nice champainge brunch.
Cons: Dining room staff didn't seem to know what was going on or what time the brunch started.
Location: Great location near shops- but quiet. Near museums and canal.
We had a fabulous 4 day holiday and the hotel was in perfect place. Book your museum tickets ahead of time on line. Super day hiring cycles and riding south of town. Found some lovely restaurants and really enjoyed walking through various parts of the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Very central

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Most things
Location: In the centre and all of Amsterdam awaits
Restuarant a icon in Europe just too beautiful with a homily feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Well located for city centre and museums.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Character and location.
Cons: It was fine.
Location: 10 minute walk to city centre and less than 10 minutes to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. Numerous restaurants in the area.
Older character hotel in good condition in great location on a canal across from a park. Food in art deco dining room was very good for dinner and breakfast (not included). Room was comfortable, but could smell smoke from an adjoining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Perfect location and hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Large and comfy room with MASSIVE bed! Lovely , helpful staff. Great breakfast... ask for a voucher at Reception which discounts the price to 15euros
Cons: Bathroom a bit small but adequate and spotlessly clean
Location: On many tram routes. Airport shuttle stops outside. 5 minutes walk from museums
Our first time in Amsterdam and loved the city and the hotel. Perfect location for all of Amsterdams many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The staff are amongst the best in the world, including reception, concierge, bar, restaurant and housekeeping. It's one of the best locations to be in
Cons: Two very minor niggles. Main course restaurant food needed to be warmer. Location of wardrobe in room too close to entrance so door not easy to open.
Location: Leidesplein is the main 'happening' area. You're close to the museum quarter and some great restaurants. Tram stop is so you can access all of city
We've stayed in the American before and enjoyed it very much. This time was no exception. From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome by the wonderful staff. The manager should be proud of them. If you need help booking restaurants, they will do that for you, or taxis etc - nothing is too much trouble. The room was clean and a good size. Some people have complained and said it looked tired, it does not in our opinion. The bar is great fun and the staff again were excellent. The restaurant food could have done to be warmer, but at least if you can't be bothered venturing far, you'll get a decent meal. The location of the hotel is excellent and very close to the centre of all the action. The Saturday night was noisy, but the noise came from the street (Leidesplein) is the main party area. To be honest it didn't bother us much. There are a good number of restaurants nearby, and the tram stop is a very short walk away. All in all an excellent experience in my favourite Amsterdam hotel, and we've stayed in many of them!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, restaurant, comfort of rooms
Cons: Wifi, they do not offer free wifi except on a limited basis, the "office" computers and printers they offer are very limited.
Location: We walked everywhere from here. You can tour with a canal boat across the street, Van Gough and Rijks Museums are very close, shopping and bus.
Perfect location, wonderful restaurant and very comfortable rooms. We loved this hotel, it was our favorite while traveling through Europe. Recommend it highly for anyone traveliing to Amsterdam
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

Hotel close to Amsterdam museums and canals' shops

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Dining room is nice and elegant. Breakfast buffet is good.
Cons: More toilet paper and harder soap. Housekeeping was sub par. Expected better housekeeping from a hotel that costs this much.
Location: Rijksmuseum is close and access to shopping streets is good.
First night we got a noisy room where we heard drunks and sirens all night long. We're had to request a room change. Staff moved us to an internal quiet room in the attic. Much smaller and less comfortable, but no adjustment in price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom cardiff

Excellent location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The bed!
Cons: Bottled water and fresh milk. Should include breakfast
Location: Lots of bars, restaurants, caf├ęs, art and other shops. Canal trips right outside the hotel. 10 minute walk to van gogh museum , diamond museum.
An attractive hotel situated well to explore the centre of Amsterdam. Stepped off the airport bus outside the hotel. On a tram route too. Lovely big bedroom with a huge comfy bed. Slightly noisy at night - opera theatre next door, but didn't interrupt our sleep. Bottled water not replenished at all during our 3 night stay, and fesh milk only available at a charge. Breakfast an extra 15 euros each - thought this should have been included at the price we paid for room rate....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Hotel needs to be remodeled.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Large room.
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: Close to the very busy Leidseplein.
Great breakfast. Room was very large by European standards. Beds comfy, but the room needed beter lighting. The wattage of the light bulbs in the lamps may have been low to conserve energy, but in the evening it was too dim. During the day with curtains open, no problem.