Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg/ München

Stielvolles kleines Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Die ruhige , elegante Lage- eben typisch Amsterdam
Cons: nöö
Location: Alles fußläufig erreichbar ( Museuamsplein, nette Restaurants, pfiffige Geschäfte, Bahnhof, Dam etc.)
Hatten 2 EZ- Zimmer - nicht luxoriös, aber zweckmäßig - zur Gartenseite, ruhug mit schönem Ausblick auf die Innengärten. Zentral und doch am ruhigen Ende der Prinsengracht gelegen ( 10 min zur "mageren Brücke"). Sehr freundlicher Service, sehr gutes Frühstück. Das nächste mal werde ich dort wieder buchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Optimal um die Innenstadt zu erkunden

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Die Lage mit Blick auf die Grachten / Getrennte Schlafzimmer mit Durchgangstür
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich im Süden der Innenstadt. In der Nähe befinden sich viele kleine Kneipen und Cafes, das Van Gogh Museum und der Melkweg.
Das Hotel liegt am südlichen Rand der Innenstadt von Amsterdam schön an den Grachten gelegen. Unser Zimmer hatte auch Blick auf diesen. Zum Zimmer: Es war ein Doppelzimmer mit zwei Einzelbetten gebucht. Der Clou war, dass es sich um zwei Zimmer mit Durchgangstür handelte. War daher wirklich ideal für uns. Die Ausstattung war dabei vollkommen ausreichend (Fön, Flat-TV mit 2 deutschen Programmen, Bad mit Dusche, große Schränke, kostenfreies WLAN). Die Betten waren sehr bequem und das Zimmer war sauber. Auch an der Rezeption hat man uns freundlich empfangen und alle Nachfragen wurden zu unserer Zufriedenheit beantwortet. Frühstück haben wir nicht genutzt. Im großen und ganzen gab es nichts auszusetzen. Wir nutzten die paar Tage um uns Amsterdam anzuschauen und ein Konzert im Melkweg (der nur 10 Minuten zu Fuß entfernt ist) zu besuchen. Prinzipiell ist alles per Fuß erreichbar - vom Hotel zum Bahnhof sind es circa 25 Minuten. Haben in der Zeit (bis auf eine Grachtenfahrt) keine Verkehrsmittel genutzt, da wir die Stadt wirklich toll per Fuß erkunden konnten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Nice if basic hotel with great location.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Rooms were pleasant with lovely canal view if somewhat pokey, basic and dated. 1950s I think. Buffet breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. Hotel a little pricey for what we got, but I'm guessing that's because of the good location,close to all the must see/ do houses, museums, canal rides and good restaurants/ cafes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Nice hotel, nice location, great staff

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: Small fridge in the room would be perfect.
Location: Museumplein, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk
The Hampshire is within a 10 minute walk of the Rijsmuseum, on Prinsengracht, but away from the main roads. We booked a double room with a canal view. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious (not just spacious for the Dam either, actually spacious) with a safe, wifi and tea/coffee facilities. It would've been perfect if there was a mini-fridge, but all in all it represented excellent value for money. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. We didn't have breakfast because there were plenty of cafes close by. The only slight negative was that our room was next to the lift and it was a bit noisy, but not terrible. All being said, we would happily stay there again and would recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mulhouse

Hotel dans quartier calme, proche quartier animé

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Le charme
Cons: Le bruit : ascenseur, aspirateur, voisin... Désagréable !
Location: à 7min à pied : Quartier Rembrant sympa : avec bars et animations. à 15min à pied : Red Light District à 5min à pied : Heineken exp et musées rijk.
Hotel sympa, chambres petites mais bien équipées (literie ok, TV, sèche cheveux, machine à café...). La chamber était proper, le personnel accueillant. Gros bémol sur le bruit :on entend l'ascenseur qui grince toutes les 5min à partir de 8h, le voisin qui se reveille... Dernier jour on a meme eu droit au passage d'aspirateur à 8h30 dans la chambre voisine. Le prix reste très correct pour la prestation offerte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Well-located; charming canal setting

Posted Mar 19, 2015
This was our second visit to the hotel in 5 years. The front desk is staffed around the clock and with one exception, was extremely friendly and helpful. Hopping a tram is easy from this location. Our room faced the canal but we were not bothered at all by street noise. There is a top-notch restaurant just a couple of doors down and an fun, innovative breakfast/sandwich shop about 1 1/2 blocks away if one wants a change from the excellent buffet breakfast served at the hotel. One of Amsterdam's best Indonesian restaurants is within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

werkelijk top

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Wij vonden de kamer erg mooi. 1 voor de kinderen en 1 voor ons zelf. Beide kamers hadden een tv.
Cons: Buiten de afbakken legen
Location: Super centraal gelegen. Als je naar buiten stapt zit je direct midden in Amsterdam met alle mogelijkheden die er zijn. Ook tram is dichbij
Wij werden super goed ontvangen en geadviseerd hoe en waar we in Amsterdam moesten zijn. Alle medewerkers namen alle tijd voor ons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Hampshire Stay

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and very helpful
Location: Breakfast places near by. Small art galleries. Walking distance to downtown. Right next to the Heineken brewery. Nearby coffeeshop - mellow yellow
Very cute and clean room. It was small but that's what I expected. Price was in my range and it was very close (walking distance) to most of what I wanted to see and experience in Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andoni

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room was clean but basic, bed not very comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location is great, 15 minute walk from central station