Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay here again!!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Loved the hotel, location and staff. Room was pretty spacious for what I was expecting. Nice quieter part of the city, yet still very close to everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on beautiful canal

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor
Location: Good for Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk
Friendly helpful staff easy walking distance of city centre and attractions
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Positive: Good located hotel, you can reach all the good places and party's from the hotel with walking there, friendly and helpful staff. Negative: dirty bathroom with black hair on the ground, also black hair in the bed, dirty walls, mole in the shower, after one day the cleaning person didn't vacuum or cleaned the bathroom, only the bed was made All together we had a good time in Amsterdam. We just got back to the hotel for sleeping, so we didn't care much about the bad stuff. Its a good price per night in that area! But they definitely have problems with the cleaning staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom liv

Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Situated right on the canel within easy walking distance of museums, floating flower market and shops. Have a stroll along the canel to Anne Frank's house (30min approx). Lots of small restaurants, cafes and bars also near. Hotel could do with a refurbishment as room we had looked dated and tired, overlooked garden at rear of hotel. Lighting in the room was dismal, dark even with main light, table lamp and bedside lights on. Also only had small short wardrobe only capable of hanging shirts not long enough for a dress. However this did not spoil our stay and staff pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Wonderful place to recharge

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Clean, quiet and courteous staff, just off the beaten path. Easy to get a good nights rest and still easily get back to the adventures in Amsterdam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Málaga (España)

PERFECTO PARA VISITAR LA CIUDAD

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: La ubicación.
Location: La ubicación es perfecta para visitar Amsterdam. En un radio de 300 metros tienes de todo.
El hotel se encuentra en uno de los canales principales de Amsterdam y tiene la ventaja de que puedes llegar andando a todos los sitios: Plaza Dam, Rembrantplein, Leidseplein, a la zona de los museos, etc. Además, el tranvía está a apenas cuatro minutos. El hotel pequeñito, sin lujos, pero cuidado y agradable el personal.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

The location was good but.........

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: Make it clear that two singles mean two rooms not just two beds.
Location: The location was very good - on the Prinsengracht Canal near the Rijks and other museums, walkable distances to lots of places.
Although the location of this hotel suited us and the staff were very good the room was very disappointing. When we booked, it said the room had two single beds which was fine but what it didn't say was that it was two single rooms connected by a door! One of he rooms had an en-suite but they were both very tiny. We did see the size of the room when we booked but of course we assumed it was one room - not two!.Had we known that we would have booked a different room and been comfortable! Our room did have a canal view but it was on the west side of the building so you had to have the curtains closed all afternoon and evening to keep the sun out as there was no air conditioning and it got extremely hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by sue_vaughan06@live.co.ukfrom england

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A friendly greeting from the staff. Very comfortable room and a pleasant garden to have a drink. Pleased to have a room overlooking the canal. A quiet residential area but near enough to amenities. A good location ,especially if you are happy to walk and enjoy the canal walkways.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Functional if well-located

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The location of this hotel is good, but it's a very functional facility and meets a basic level of comfort and need. I was in town on business so I didn't mind too much the tired condition of the room as I was hardly there, but had I been visiting on vacation I would have been disappointed. The staff were efficient if a little brusque. I booked this to save money, but on reflection I should have booked a pricier hotel as the money I saved was offset by the modesty of the experience. If you want a good location to crash; this will do fine. For anything else, shop around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anders W. Bonde

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com