Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Well located hotel near Rijksmuseum

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: It's location.
Cons: The bathroom needs more hanging space for towels and the shelf above our sink made it difficult to brush your teeth or wash your face.
Location: The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Diamond Museums were all just a short distance away and the shopping district and many restaurants were also very close.
Loved the location of this hotel! We walked almost everywhere. The rooms are small, but no smaller than those in other large cities. The bathroom was tiny ... no room to dry yourself after taking a shower unless you step out into the bedroom, but again this isn't unusual in Europe. We found the staff friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel several times and it was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Public transportation, restaurants, bars close to the hotel. Hotel staff not friendly and housekeeping not replacing towel when indicating by leaving towel in the shower stall. Complimentary tea and coffee is available downstairs which is great in the morning.After travelling Europe this summer my understanding is that European hotel rating is different then north American, if its states 3stars then it is more like 2stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasure.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Road noise was bad experience, wouldn't stay again due to that, maybe look into sound proofing ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all the action

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, good security, clean accommodations.
Cons: I could have used a minibar.
Location: Personally, I'm all about the cafes, which I found nearby-- as well as very nice places nearby to sit and watch Amsterdam, and enjoy a good meal.
It's in a very nice walking area, near cafes and restaurants, with interesting people-watching. The hotel security is very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good Tourist Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location, Friendly Staff
Cons: Room by the street was too noisy by night. Windows do not stop noise.
Location: Good location, Museum, Restaurants, walking around.
Convenient hotel, good for walking around Amsterdam. Near Museums, restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Handy for many of the Tourist spots.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Handy for getting to all the tourist things.
Location: Museums, canal tours and a good walk to Ann Frank, but not impossible. As we love to walk it was not a problem
We arrived at 7.20 am after a long flight from KL and did not expect to be checked in, but they let us into our room which was much appreciated. The staff were friendly and helpfull, rooms were small but very clean with an ensuite and really everything we needed, as we were out exploring the City.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Don't Expect Much

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: If beds could be improved that would be great. If a/c could be installed that would also be nice
I would advise you not to stay in this hotel. Here is the good part and the bad part about the stay. Good Hotel has a great location very close to most of the museums and very close to the center of Amsterdam. You get complimentary coffee/ tea. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Bad lets start with the fact that the room is VERY small. bed is horrible. Spring mattress that they use is very uncomfortable. No air conditioning unless you call small fan a/c. Elevator is tiny so if you do stay there enjoy trying to get your luggage upstairs. Towels are not changed daily as any american is used to same goes for sheets but that is common in Europe hotels. We stayed for a week
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from London

Basic Hotel, good location, get what you pay for

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff service
Hampshire is a basic budget hotel. Rooms clean but small. Beds very soft, breakfast available for convenience. Good location in easy access of central Amsterdam, plenty of amenities in a short walking distance. Perfect for those on a budget who just want somewhere to lay their head. One word of warning if requesting twin bed, please confirm with the hotel and not rely on your internet booking. The hotel manager was also rude and aloof, but all in all you get what you pay for.