Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Handy for many of the Tourist spots.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Handy for getting to all the tourist things.
Location: Museums, canal tours and a good walk to Ann Frank, but not impossible. As we love to walk it was not a problem
We arrived at 7.20 am after a long flight from KL and did not expect to be checked in, but they let us into our room which was much appreciated. The staff were friendly and helpfull, rooms were small but very clean with an ensuite and really everything we needed, as we were out exploring the City.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Don't Expect Much

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: If beds could be improved that would be great. If a/c could be installed that would also be nice
I would advise you not to stay in this hotel. Here is the good part and the bad part about the stay. Good Hotel has a great location very close to most of the museums and very close to the center of Amsterdam. You get complimentary coffee/ tea. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Bad lets start with the fact that the room is VERY small. bed is horrible. Spring mattress that they use is very uncomfortable. No air conditioning unless you call small fan a/c. Elevator is tiny so if you do stay there enjoy trying to get your luggage upstairs. Towels are not changed daily as any american is used to same goes for sheets but that is common in Europe hotels. We stayed for a week
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from London

Basic Hotel, good location, get what you pay for

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff service
Hampshire is a basic budget hotel. Rooms clean but small. Beds very soft, breakfast available for convenience. Good location in easy access of central Amsterdam, plenty of amenities in a short walking distance. Perfect for those on a budget who just want somewhere to lay their head. One word of warning if requesting twin bed, please confirm with the hotel and not rely on your internet booking. The hotel manager was also rude and aloof, but all in all you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn from T

Great hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The location of this hotel was great! The staff was awesome! We didn't partake in the breakfast, I can't report about that. The beds were so comfortable! And I loved the fact it had a bathtub! My feet were so achy from all the walking around & it was nice to soak then in a tub!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laurie from england

Good hotel, great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Good clean room. Basic but great. Good location near the city and the canals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, Not too fancy

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel is exactly where we wanted to stay in the city, have very nice decor,
We took the last vacant room in the hotel, as we booked it on the same day we needed it. We got one of the rooms in the basement. The hotel was very nicely decorated, but since it was their last room, we got a room with 2 single beds. Room size was OK (other reviews had some issues with their room size, but we found it sufficient), and the Hotel's staff had placed a chocolate box in our room with a greeting card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It met our needs

Posted May 8, 2014
Hotel met our needs walking distance to everything we needed.Bathroom wasn't cleaned very well.Desk staff was helpful with directions and any questions we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Costa Rica

Nice hotel

Posted May 2, 2014
Nice , clean and close to the tram . In the other hand the breakfast was not included and
3 out of 5
by J.Al from calgary

Proximity to city center was the only benefit.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We were placed in the compact double room. Nowhere to open your luggage even, rooms are so tiny. First night we were given a room facing the front of the hotel, it was so noisy, we asked to be moved further back. The only thing going for this place was its location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J. from England

Very nice hotel, close walk to everything you need

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: The location, comfortable rooms, the value for money.
Cons: It would just add a little extra to the experience if the staff would have been a little bit more friendly.
Location: The Leidseplein district is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, full of places to eat and plenty of shops. Vondel park, Van Gogh museum.
We were 4 friends in 3 rooms for 5 nights at the hotel. We arrived early but were able to put our bags in a storage space until we could check in. The rooms are very small, but very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is a 5 minute walk to the nearest shops/bars/restaurants, a 10 minute walk to Vondelpark and around 15 minutes to the Van Gogh museum. The staff are not overly friendly and dont really take notice of you in the mornings or as you walk past (expect for one man, but he struck me as the manager), but they are helpful and efficient.