Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perfect hotel for the marathon runner

Posted Oct 23, 2014
I chose Hilton Ansterdam as I was running the 2014 TCS Amsterdam marathon. Hilton hotel is the one of the closest to the Expo and Olympic stadium . It is far away from the City centre so you can focus on the race without getting distracted. However the Hilton is a bit dated compared to others I have stayed in. Canal facing rooms are bigger than car park facing due to the curvature of the hotel. Breakfast is rather limited compared to others I have been to. Boiled eggs or scrambled are the only egg options. Staff was Gio at concierge was amusing and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel in a convenient location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, breakfast
Location: Trams very close by, great restaurants within walking distance,
I initially chose the Hilton as I was running the marathon and wanted to be close to the start at the Olympic Stadium. We found out it was also easy to get the tram into the centre and to the museums as well as great restaurants within walking distance. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we all enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts. Definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rainham, Kent

Amsterdam Hilton

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Good hotel in a pleasant part of Amsterdam. Staff were always helpful. They provided breakfast at 6.30 on Sunday for those of us in the Marathon.
Cons: Rooms should be available at the time advertised. There is a high charge for WiFi access. Room decoration could be better.
Rooms were very comfortable and clean though brown walls in the rooms are not to my taste. It was very nice of them to give us a free breakfast which we enjoyed (although they asked us to book direct next time, not through Expedia!). The staff were always very pleasant. However, despite advertising a 2pm check-in, the room was not ready when we arrived at 2.30 and we were given inaccurate information about when the room would be ready. We didn't get into our room till 4.30. We heard other guests at check-in complaining about the same issue. Front desk staff apologised and said that they were full and guests had checked out late. For me this was not good enough: In a hotel of quality, one expects to be able to access the room at the advertised time. It should also be noted that free WiFi was only available in part of the hotel lobby and needs a password from the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

A Good Choice

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Location was close to major attractions and museums
Cons: Complimentary airport transfer would be nice.
Location: Only about 10 Euro to major attractions. Not much easy walk to places or restaurants.
Nice but rather pricey. Mattresses in room too firm for my taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

International, careful, proper hotel service.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Location: Not that convenient.
They helped with everything I needed with real politeness. I felt in good hands.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not V happy

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is not worth the rate it charged per day. Almost every thing is paid in the hotel right from internet, fitness centre, steam rooms etc. I have been a v frequent traveller and have visited many similar hotels but no where i have seen fitness centre charged never. For internet I agree there are some hotels who charge but not the kind of price i.e. 25 Euros per day. It is a utility and the quality cannot vary much from hotel to hotel. Overall customer experience is OKaish and not that great as per price charged
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Disappointing experience

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms with good safety & security!
Cons: Better management and training of the staff.
Location: Slightly inconvenient to travel due to distance from the city centre.
Very disappointed with the service Reception desk not well-staffed; minimum queue time approximately 15-20 minutes (at least when we required any assistance!) Rooms were not ready until 17:00 hrs, when the check-in times are 14:00 hrs. We had to wait so long before we could freshen up and go out. This delayed our entire evening and night plans. Couple of the Reception staff (some were very good as well!), including the manager were not friendly. I was not informed about the complaints policy by the hotel manager, and was told to write my concerns on a plain sheet of paper.....this is not at all acceptable and no where close to being professional. I found this attitude fairly rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cardiff uk

Hilton amsterdam

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Lovely hotel very helpfull staff,would stay there again when in amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Excellent room-location was okay

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean and comfortable. Great staff and amenities
Cons: For my short stay there I would say the hotel fit every need I had without necessity for improvements. It really does have all traveller could need
Location: Outside central Amsterdam so one does need to get themselves into the central area to be in the tourist sections. Once there all is well.
Requested an early check-in via Expedia as we were arriving in at 6am on the day-was happy to see it was able to be accomodated. Seemed a bit removed from the main area- not a large deterrant as it is a very walkable city but would have preferred to have spent less time getting to the areas and thus could have spent more time exploring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom hertfordshire

A very special hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Canal views, beautiful rooms, cycle hire
Cons: The cost of food and drink
Location: There are shops and restaurants 5/10 mins walk away. Canal views are lovely.
This is a wonderful hotel. It really is a shame that the cost of food including breakfast is far too expensive, otherwise this hotel would be truly perfect. We decided to eat away from the hotel as we felt that euro 33 was not an exceptable price to pay for an English breakfast. We found many places to eat in Amsterdam that were only a short walk away or an even quicker cycle. The rooms were lovely, with great views of the canal. The staff were courteous and friendly at all times. I think the hotel would benefit from reviewing the prices for food and drink, as the prices for both are really quite ridiculous.