Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Lovely hotel and great staff

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The only draw back is there is little to no sound-proofing and conversations at all hours were clearly heard as well as the cleaner hoovering at 9am!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Keyport, NJ

ood Hotel for visiting Amsterdam

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Situation, price and staff.
Location: Easy walking to main museums and key downtown areas.
Nice clean room on small sze. But this was expected. Great Staff. Greatlocation, easy walking to most places
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom GTA, Canada

Great Location & Price; close to major attractions

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Genuine character and great location.
Cons: You get what you pay for!
Location: Major museums are easy walking distance as are varied restos.
Pleasantly surprised by convenient location and moreso by obliging and professional staff. More than adequate breakfast included in our rate. Room was very small but we expected that at the price point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The Alexander is a nice hotel in the affiulent area of Leidseplein. It is an ideal location to explore the whole city of Amsterdam. Get to the hotel by the 197 bus from the airport, the stop is pretty much at the end of the street. Also easy to get to city centre from Leidseplein, but no need to as its full of nice bars and many many restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Central location, friendly staff, clean rooms (Small doubles are really small but we knew that).
Cons: It would have been nice to have had access to tea and coffee making facilities.
Location: Canal trip, bike tours, museums, walking in the park.
Easy to get to the centre of Amsterdam via 197 bus from the airport. Dropped us very close to the hotel. Good location for public transport and a short walk to the main city canal network. We were there for the Marathon and it was easy to get around and take part in the event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Very good for a visit to Amsterdam

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a pleasant experience. The hotel has friendly and very helpful staff, a simple but nice breakfast buffet and nice rooms. They're located at a quiet side street two minute walk from Leidseplein, which made it central and easy to take both channel boat, buses and trams to get there and back again. You could easily walk to the main shopping streets and the Dam square. A cold shower one morning was all we could find that was negative in our stay here. Great hotel for a friend trip to Amsterdam!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danfrom Værløse

Dejlig by....

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hej Vi er kommet hjem efter 4 dage i amsterdam. Hotel alexander ligger utroligt centralt, men dejligt trukket tilbage fra trafikstøj. Alexander har 3 stjerner, og det passer helt fint. Det er lidt slidt, men service er i top og morgen mad til 10 euro pr næse, er rimeligt billigt. Det er rimeligt billigt pr overnatning og der fri internet. Vi vil vælge samme hotel igen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Would go back

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: It suited the purchase and was not overpriced or pretentious. Which our first hotel was. The Hotel Amsterdam Centre I would not stay at again.
It was clean, easy access to Vogal Park area and City Centre. I would go back. I would stay at the Hotel Alexander above the pretentious, overpriced and not worth it NH Amsterdam Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Carole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Garyfrom Toronto

great accommodation in Amsterdam

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff in the hotel. The room was clean and big enough for two. Overall highly functional and utilitarian. We were highly satisfied with our accommodation in Amsterdam. Breakfast was fully stocked with ham, hard boiled eggs, various types of bread and croissants. Security was sound. Would recommend for travelers looking for basic, no frills and reasonably priced accommodation in Amsterdam.