Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Huge hotel with a surprising amount of personality

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Had a great time staying at arena! Rooms and facilities are excellent and staff are friendly and helpful. Located close to several sights and tramlinks/metro for a quick ride to all other parts of the city. Despite the bad weather we had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good weekend

Posted Aug 25, 2014
it was a great weekend apart from a wedding party that took over the bar. making the staff very miserable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington point, QLD Aussie

Nice close to most facilities at Amsterdam.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Good friendly staff & style of accommodation.
Cons: Happy hour for drinks to bring people to gather.
We needed a comfortable rest after 6 weeks touring UK & Europe at a fast pace. Thank you hotel Arena for two nights of peaceful bliss.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Nice hotel not far from the main attractions, needs a little freshen up walls look grubby, best power shower I've been in tho!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Would stay again!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Stayed for 2 nights in July 2014. Hotel very clean and spotless. We ordered 2 king size delux rooms, however on arrival they did not have any left so up graded us to studio rooms which were fab. The staff were a little abrupt and short, however we found this to be the case with many of the locals. Locations wise- it is about 10min tram ride from Central dam, and then about 7min walk from the tram stop. However, don't let this out you off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing hotel!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
I booked during a sale after seeing the pictures and reading the reviews for the hotel. After booking I was slightly hestiant that it wouldn't live up to the pictures but after staying I can say that in reality it exceed my expectations by far! The room was so light and airy, the bed extremely comfortable and the furniture all very high quality and modern. The room was impeccably clean and the staff were all lovely and helpful! I really liked how it was different down every corridoor and I love how features of the old orphanage were not lost in the modern hotel design. We were really impressed and really enjoyed our stay, thank you very much! We will be returning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Gorgeous! Historic!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: -interior design is absolutely beautiful -wifi is fast -shampoos and handwash were organic and smelt lovely -bed was comfortable -in a lovely location, next to a large park and tram line -lovely staff Cons -shower pressure is terrible Stunning hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great comfortable hotel just outside the centre

Posted Jul 29, 2014
This hotel was pretty good value, and I would stay there again if my budget was the same. It's also quite refreshing not being in the very centre, particularly in high season, when it's so crowded. It's close enough to walk anyway. Oosterpark is gorgeous too. We upgraded to a studio and we were glad we did, though there was nothing wrong with the standard room we'd booked. Room tip: the closets are built into the black glass bathroom enclosure and are quite difficult to find, just have a good look for them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Characterful yet modern hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful. The hotel has character. In a quite part of the city but it is easy to reach the center by bike. Good restaurant food.
Cons: Although the decor was modern, it needed a little touching up. There was some decorating going on so this may be in hand.
Location: The best way to see the city is on a bike - if you are able. The hotel rents them out, alternatively go to Mac Bikes (20 minute walk from the hotel).
I had a few email and telephone conversations with staff at the hotel (in order to make arrangements) and found everyone to be very helpful and prompt with responses. We reached the hotel by the convenient shuttle bus from the airport. The hotel is very characterful, it is easy to believe that the building has a history - formerly an orphanage. We were welcomed with a free drink from the bar which we thought was a nice touch. We stayed in a suite - the enormous double bed was on the top floor of a duplex, the stairs leading it to were a little steep and narrow and I wouldn't have wanted to tackle them after a few beers. On the lower floor was a two seater- settee and the bathroom which had glass walls. The bathroom was equipped with a shower. The decor was modern - especially the bathroom which had black tiles and smoked glass walls but the wooden floor had been stained and the walls looked a little tired in the rest of the suite (hence less than excellent rating overall and for room cleanliness). However, we were happy overall. Extra charges are made for a room with a bath. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but instead walked 10 minutes to a bakery - Bakhuys (Sarphatiestraat 61) and had wonderful food there. There is a nice park almost next to the hotel and a couple of nice bars in the opposite direction to the center that are worth trying out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Gothic charm

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Very quirky style! Loved our room!
Cons: Breakfast is very expensive and must be prebooked (18euros per person)
Location: Beautiful park (Oosterpark) right next door and 3 tram lines within a couple of mins walk.
Only 10mins on the tram to the centre of Amsterdam and the hotel staff gave us a great map and talked us through what was where. Helpful staff let us use lockers before check in and after check out for our luggage. Great bar and veranda to sit on late into the early hours of the morning.