Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Not bad!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We weren't expecting much. Nice neighborhood across the street from a small university school. Lovely Nelly greeted us & we went up the tiny stairs to a typical European type floor. Lots of doors small hallway. The room is adequate and the beds are comfy. Room was facing the street so we had some late night noise which was fine for a big city. Close to tram for quick access to all Amsterdam. Nelly was a great hostess and helped us with directions & maps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Faz from London, UK

Great Time... Local to the District.. walking dist

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Love the CAT
Cons: Need a bigger Bathroom
Location: Great... Lovely
Nice... Love the CAT.... Local to the District.. walking district
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Well, I guess a cheap hotel in Amsterdam is impossible. This was not worth the price, but did the job. If you're a minimalist, this place will do, but shop around first. Clean, white room. No fan, gets hot in spring. Lots of stairs, no lift, or bellhop. Our bed was made once for the 6 nights we stayed there. Front desk help is friendly. The location is great if you're going to bike, we got around everywhere, no problem. Little shops and caf├ęs are right around the corner. The beauty of Amsterdam made this hotel seem better than it actually was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by samtheman

close to must-see sights and close to RAI Exhibiti

Posted May 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was the cheapest deal I found at the time which was few days before Exhibition. I knew the bathroom was shared. The bathroom door can not be locked but water was good pressure and hot water. The hotel is not 5 stars neither 4 but good enough for few nights.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LOUISE AND iAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thoiry, France

Cold room, which was too large

Posted Apr 7, 2010
I had booked a double room with a bathroom, but was put into a room with no less than 7 beds in it, which gave the impression of staying in an empty hostel (in fact I even checked that no one else was staying with me). The room was clean enough, but pretty tatty - much more the decor of a budget hostel than a mid priced hotel. The room had one radiator which was hanging off the wall and gave no heat at all, so I had to get multiple quilts from a few beds to keep warm. Finally, the wireless internet was broken, which caused me major inconvenience and the receptionist just shrugged when I told her and said she did not know how to fix it. Overall, I was not impressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not impressed

Posted Nov 10, 2008
Location OK, right next to the zoo, walking distance to town (and that is with a 3 year old and five year old). Neighbourhood also pretty decent. However, we booked the 'quadruple room', with 4 twin beds. The room actually was a standard double, or even a large single, with 4 children's beds rammed in, (even for the adults), with no space in between. The price lead us to believe this would be a reasonable quality place, even though it was only 2 star. Good location, staff OK, but come on, this is a rip off!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fife

Hotel Barbacan

Posted Nov 6, 2007
Small hotel located in a back street - very handy for the zoo and easy walking distance to the Skinny Bridge. On a tram route. Good selection of inexpensive restaurants nearby - we went for pizza. Breakfast is boiled eggs, cheese, salami, bread/toast, tea, coffee, hot chocolate. TV in room had BBC world, BBC1 and BBC2 as well as many local channels (many in English). Very steep stairs and no lift, as you would expect in Amsterdam. Staff helpful and spoke good English. Would stay there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Very Nice

Posted May 11, 2007
Great hotel, Nice and clean, very quiet good access. Would recommend to friends!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More Like a Hostel

Posted Oct 19, 2006
A basic room equates to a tiny box with a sink and no personal bathroom. There is a toilet and shower in the hall that people share. If you're not looking to spend much time in your room then this may not matter. Hotel location is conveniently located next to two tram lines allowing for quick access to the center of the city. Overall I was not impressed with the hotel for the price.