Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Brooklyn, NY

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, interesting floors, plenty of surface/desk space, tall cabinets
Cons: Fix the shaking door/sound problem
Location: Nearby Amstel Train Station for a short 10 minute ride to Amsterdam Central Station and the shopping districts. It's 4.20 euro for a round trip.
I chose Hotel Casa 400 due to its close proximity to the Amstel Amsterdam train station. When I first was checking in, the front desk representative was a bit cold, but professional and adequate for the task at hand. When I got to the room, I was a bit taken aback by the odd rubber like floor covering -- it kind of reminded me of a gym floor. But I got used to it and actually came to like it. The bed seemed minimal but was actually very comfortable. There is no traditional alarm clock, instead you can use the television to set an alarm, which has a surprisingly pleasant jungle/bird theme to wake up to. A big drawback though was the door... not sure if every room is like that but with the room I was in, the door would shake every time someone else closed their door. It always sounded like someone was opening or unlocking the door, which was weird.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to good transport

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Lovely staff, great hotel, nice and clean and not that far from main city centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Feb 2, 2014
We were in town for business. First I feared for the distance from the Amsterdam Centraal, which is our next departing spot. However, the train is very frequent and no problem to get to the Centraal in 15 minute.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Phoenix, Az.

Inexpensive hotel with good access.

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Restaurant a bit spartan and limited breakfast selection.
Location: Close to Amstel station. Quick access to downtown Cetral Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by N from London

Stylish Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Modern feeling hotel with comfy rooms and a nice bar on 1st floor. Close to Amstel station so easy to get around Amsterdam by metro or train. Didn't have breakfast as it was very expensive so can't comment on that but would recommend this hotel as long as you don't mind not being in the centre of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

up and coming area, great hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Proximity to metro, helpfulness when asked about things to do in the city. (although staff wasn't pushy)
Cons: The vent that pushed out air in our room was not clean, not disgusting, just not clean. Probably just an oversight in cleaning, didn't bother us much.
Location: Heinkein experience and Van Gough Museum were our top favorites, along with Anne Frank House a definite must see.
We had been looking forward to spending time in Amsterdam, and although this wasn't our first hotel choice, (our other one cancelled on us!) we are glad that we stayed here. This hotel looks brand new, and the proximity to the metro was very convenient. It was less than a 5 minute walk to Amstel Station, and really easy to navigate the public transport. This hotel also sold the Amsterdam card which was a good investment-- especially if you will be spending your time at the many museums here. The staff was pleasant and the hotel room had all the amenities we wanted. It was a pretty quite hotel, and that's what we were looking for. Just a 5 minutes walk from the metro and it will all take you to the Heinkein experience and Van Gough Museum were our top favorites, along with the obvious choice to see the Anne Frank House. If you are spending more time there I suggest you also go see the windmills north of Amsterdam as well as Haarlem- both are charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris E from Atlanta, GA USA

Enjojable

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Me and my wife both enjoyed our stay. We used the public transportation system and the hotel was a short walk to Amstel Station which is one of the main points for transportation in the city. The hotel was clean, bright, and friendly. We would not hesitate to go back there. Outside the main section of town so the trip on the tram was maybe a half hour on two different trains which we enjoyed riding on being with and talking to locals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Columbus, OH

Clean hotel with easy access to central Amsterdam.

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Hotel was clean and comfortable. Suggest "interior" room with view of courtyard for quieter stay. Nice neighborhood restaurants nearby.
Cons: Service in the main restaurant was poor. Folks at the front desk were friendly but it took three trips to the desk to get moved to an interior room.
Location: There are some great restaurants nearby: La Vallade (cozy bistro with one fixed menu of the day - choose 3, 4 or 5 courses) and Merkelbach (upscale).
Nice location just outside of the heart of Amsterdam. Easy access to the city and Central Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com