Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Linden, NJ

Cool place.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: I liked the location. Very convenient.
Cons: There didn't seem to be enough light in the room with the curtains closed. Could do with another overhead light.
Location: This place is pretty much a hop skip and a jump to everything in the downtown area.
This place is great. It's situated on a main street which is really convenient and yet it's quiet enough so that you can get some sleep if you need to. The ambiance was definitely cool and the staff was friendly. The free Wifi was also a huge plus. I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Fvl, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at hotel Citadel. We are sorry to hear about that the light in room was not according to your expectations. You’re feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We sure hope to welcome you again to show you that we are on the right track. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent, england

ideal position between Dam Square & Central statio

Posted May 8, 2015
Location: It was in a good position to visit Dam Square, the floating flower market, Anne Franks house and trips on the canals.
The hotel was well positioned for all excursions. It was a short walk from Central Station, making it convenient for all areas of Amsterdam. Staff were helpful & friendly. The hotel rooms were clean and well decorated, breakfast was well presented and fresh. The bar is open till late in the evening which was great after a long day of sightseeing. Would recommend this to any visitors to the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Femke, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Citadel Amsterdam. We are always grateful to read such positive feedback from our guests. It is our mission to make every one of our guests feel at home and we are glad to read that you've had a great experience. We sure hope to welcome you back at hotel Citadel to create new memories. Kind regards hotel Citadel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom München

Stadthotel in idealer Lage

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Check-out erst um 11.00 Uhr. Sehr freundlicher Service.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in der Innenstadt, ca. 10 min Fußweg zum Hauptbahnhof. Alle Sehenswürdigkeiten sind fußläufig gut zu erreichen.
War 2 Nächte in dem Hotel. Der Check-in verlief reibungslos. Das Frühstück war absolut in Ordnung - für jeden was dabei. Hatte Zimmer nach vorne zur Straße hin, jedoch kein Problem mit Lärm, da nachts wenig Verkehr. Das Zimmer war ein wenig eng (Einzelzimmer), aber absolut sauber. Das Hotel ist für eine Städtereise ideal, da eine sehr gute Lage in der Innenstadt. Straßenbahn-Haltestelle direkt vor dem Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seoul

Nice hotel close to the Amsterdam CS

Posted Apr 28, 2015
It took about 10 minutes from Amsterdam CS, and the hotel is close to the dam square too. Facilities and staffs are nice. If I go to amsterdam, I will reserve this hotel again. :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Citadel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The best thing is the great location. Front desk very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bra läge, dålig frukost och kalla rum

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Hotellet ligget bra, nära centralen och nära spårvagnens olika linjer. Frukosten dålig. Rummen kalla. Badrummet litet och blir helt blött när man duschar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bordeaux

Idéal pour un déplacement professionnel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Location: tout le centre d'Amsterdam est accessible à pied, à vélo ou en transport en commun
Hôtel bien situé à 10 minutes à pied de la gare centrale. C'était là le critère essentiel puisque je devais me déplacer. (Aéroport, et trajet en train pour des déplacements dans les pays bas.) Hôtel bien entretenu, les chambres sont propres et fonctionnelles. Très bon rapport qualité prix
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carolfrom Dunstable

Great value hotel in excellent position

Posted Feb 21, 2015 
Hotel was in an excellent position just around corner from Dam Square. Welcoming staff (except lady clearing breakfast plates). 1st night room was awful - smelt of stale smoke, peeling paint on walls and the carpet was filthy but moved to different room 2nd night which was much better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

very good location

Posted Feb 19, 2015
This is good hotel with a great location. The only disappointment was the rooms are very small but possibly this is a norm in the historical centre of Amsterdam. As an additional perk has a huge LCD TV on the wall that certainly was to big for that size of the room - so was not expected. But generally the room is clean and possibly the hotel was recently renovated. The breakfast is quite good and actually it provides much more than you can expect from the traditional continental breakfast. Free Wi- Fi. Location is great - next street to Damrak. Few minutes walk to Dam Square and to the Central station. All the famous sites are around. Only special consideration if you are traveling with the little children - it appears that next street from this hotel (1-2 minutes walking) there are several "red light windows" I actually expected this in the other part in the main Red light district. I know this is perfectly legal in the Netherlands but my little child was quite surprised when he saw these windows next to the hotel. But generally can recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Amsterdam. The stuff is very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarifrom Helsinki

One night in Amsterdam

Posted Feb 19, 2015 
I was staying over night because of a wedding and didn´t have a lot of time to spend in the hotel but hotel was right in the center of the city so it was easy to walk anywhere and all the shops and sights were nearby. Service was very good, so was the breakfast and the bed. Only thing I would have needed more in the room if I had stayed longer, would have been space - the room was tiny. But I heard it is like this everywhere in Amsterdam, hotelrooms are really small.