Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Very small rooms, lot's of very small stairs. First room was in basement and not clean. Staff made up for this to give us an upgrade room in the main building. Expensive hotel for what you get. i will never go back here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M/c UK

50th birthday in Amsterdam

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Breakfast. The entrance was very welcoming. Central heating, hot. Location.
Location: Museums, Vondel Park. De Hollandse Manège.
Hotel great location. Room heating, hot. Breakfast well worth it, eat all you can buffet, kept us going all day. Very near museums and of course Vondel park. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz CA USA

Great stay, Will stay there next time\

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Staff and neighborhood . Quick walk to transportation.
Cons: Excellent for the price
Location: Vondelpark local summer gatherings
Great staff, location excellent. Vondelpark a nice break from the city hustle bustle
4 out of 5
Recommended
by stechapfrom York, UK

Quiet place to stay in Amsterdam

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Filosoof was a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam - within walking distance to central Amsterdam, and other attractions such as the Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark (though tram stops to central Amsterdam are also nearby). The room we got, in the building opposite the main hotel) had it's own private patio area, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean with a nice separate sitting area. The stairs were very steep, which is to be expected in Amsterdam, but could be off-putting if have mobility problems. The staff were very friendly, and the surrounding neighbourhood was quiet, but with nice bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: location and lots of good restaurants a short walk
Location: Vondelpark - a lovely Amsterdam park right on the doorstep
Had a very pleasant stay at the Filosoof. The hotel is very near Vondel park and a short walk to Leidesplein. The number 1 tram takes you from Centraal Station to end the of the street. The hotel has a philosopher theme with each room given over to a particular philosopher. Interesting idea. We hired bikes and cycled out of Amsterdam on the banks of the Amstel River. Hotel staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

An Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It's general location.
Cons: A freshening up of the rooms decor.
Location: Vondel Park just behind the hotel. A leisurely walk to the Museum area of Amsterdam. Short Tram ride to the Centre of Amsterdam.
Like most hotels in Amsterdam, Hotel de Filosoof is easy to get to just off Overtoom, on Anna van den Vondelstraat. The staff were really welcoming and extremely attentive. Nothing was a problem. The Hotel is a collection of traditional Amsterdam houses, steep stairs (also a lift) to reach the rooms. The rooms that we had were fine for what we required but they were a little tired regarding the decor. If you use Premier Inn or Novotel for your usual accommodation then you may feel Hotel de Filosoof is not upto scratch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

convenient location, nice people, a few lapses

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's location is very good. Convenient tram connection to every places you want to go, The people are very nice, and trying hard to help. It even has a small sofa bed for my son. Now a few lapses. I got a room on the top floor. It is a hard climb with very steep stairs. Good exercise. The wireless does not work. I have to work in the hotel lobby. They are very nice and offered my free coffee. Overall, I feel pretty good about the hotel, especially because of the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodiefrom Bristol, UK

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The location, the reception staff
Cons: Small rooms, very basic
Location: Great location with lots of points of interest close by
My stay at the Filosoof was very nice, the reception staff were very friendly. The rooms were a little on the small side and rather basic, but perfect if you just look at it as a place just to sleep. After all, you are in Amsterdam, no other reason to be in your room other than to sleep! Very good location, and easy to find. Tram stop just around the corner, and just a short walk for the main area of bars, pubs and restaurants. I would stay here again if I was to return to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hywelfrom Exeter, UK

Well located hotel in attractive part of Amsterdam

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: See above paragraph.
Cons: Little or nothing.
Location: See earlier paragraph (I ain't writing it twice!)
The Sandton Hotel de Filosoof is in a quiet street adjacent to Overtoom from where Tram No 1 goes direct to Centraal Station. There are many good restaurants in Overtoom and nearby. It is close to the Vondelpark, a somewhat smaller version of Central Park, New York, or Hyde Park, London, but as attractive as both. The Museumplein, Van Gogh Museum, and the other great museums are a ten minute walk across the park from the hotel. The staff are cheerful and well-informed, and altogether the hotel offers an excellent place to stay in Amsterdam.