Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz CA USA

Great stay, Will stay there next time\

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Staff and neighborhood . Quick walk to transportation.
Cons: Excellent for the price
Location: Vondelpark local summer gatherings
Great staff, location excellent. Vondelpark a nice break from the city hustle bustle
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: location and lots of good restaurants a short walk
Location: Vondelpark - a lovely Amsterdam park right on the doorstep
Had a very pleasant stay at the Filosoof. The hotel is very near Vondel park and a short walk to Leidesplein. The number 1 tram takes you from Centraal Station to end the of the street. The hotel has a philosopher theme with each room given over to a particular philosopher. Interesting idea. We hired bikes and cycled out of Amsterdam on the banks of the Amstel River. Hotel staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

An Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It's general location.
Cons: A freshening up of the rooms decor.
Location: Vondel Park just behind the hotel. A leisurely walk to the Museum area of Amsterdam. Short Tram ride to the Centre of Amsterdam.
Like most hotels in Amsterdam, Hotel de Filosoof is easy to get to just off Overtoom, on Anna van den Vondelstraat. The staff were really welcoming and extremely attentive. Nothing was a problem. The Hotel is a collection of traditional Amsterdam houses, steep stairs (also a lift) to reach the rooms. The rooms that we had were fine for what we required but they were a little tired regarding the decor. If you use Premier Inn or Novotel for your usual accommodation then you may feel Hotel de Filosoof is not upto scratch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

convenient location, nice people, a few lapses

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's location is very good. Convenient tram connection to every places you want to go, The people are very nice, and trying hard to help. It even has a small sofa bed for my son. Now a few lapses. I got a room on the top floor. It is a hard climb with very steep stairs. Good exercise. The wireless does not work. I have to work in the hotel lobby. They are very nice and offered my free coffee. Overall, I feel pretty good about the hotel, especially because of the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodie from Bristol, UK

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The location, the reception staff
Cons: Small rooms, very basic
Location: Great location with lots of points of interest close by
My stay at the Filosoof was very nice, the reception staff were very friendly. The rooms were a little on the small side and rather basic, but perfect if you just look at it as a place just to sleep. After all, you are in Amsterdam, no other reason to be in your room other than to sleep! Very good location, and easy to find. Tram stop just around the corner, and just a short walk for the main area of bars, pubs and restaurants. I would stay here again if I was to return to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hywel from Exeter, UK

Well located hotel in attractive part of Amsterdam

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: See above paragraph.
Cons: Little or nothing.
Location: See earlier paragraph (I ain't writing it twice!)
The Sandton Hotel de Filosoof is in a quiet street adjacent to Overtoom from where Tram No 1 goes direct to Centraal Station. There are many good restaurants in Overtoom and nearby. It is close to the Vondelpark, a somewhat smaller version of Central Park, New York, or Hyde Park, London, but as attractive as both. The Museumplein, Van Gogh Museum, and the other great museums are a ten minute walk across the park from the hotel. The staff are cheerful and well-informed, and altogether the hotel offers an excellent place to stay in Amsterdam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BillandGen from Brisbane Aus

Quiet location

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Close walk to tram stops and eateries (and a lovely restaraunt called Bicken) We slept on 2 single beds pushed together (complete with a gap in the middle) even though we booked as a couple. The staff were great. The room was aged but still quaint..I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from germany

Real amsterdam

Posted May 13, 2014
Felt like we were in a real Amsterdam neighborhood. Kinda far from Dam Square, but convenient to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gough museum. It was only about a 10 minute walk. Tram was less than a block away and can easily zip you into central Amsterdam. We walked everywhere, though. Room was ok. Small but comfortable. They forgot to replace towels twice in our room, but were quick to get us replacements at the front desk. Don't pay for the hotel breakfast; there's a nice bagel and coffee shop down the street (Beans & Bagels).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel!

Posted May 7, 2014
Excellent service, wonderful people! Espresso & wine bar very accommodating. The room was great with the exception of the bed which was too soft. We removed the mattresses & slept on the box spring the second night which was much more comfortable. All in all a fantastic stay - 4/5 stars.
3 out of 5
by Julie from Norwich

Well out of the centre, but handy tram line.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet area, near Vondelpark and less tourists. Trams into town and a few nice restaurants that aren't touristy.
Cons: The room was obviously in need of a refit and paying more attention when cleaning. Description clearer about there being multiple sites for the hotel
Location: Out of the main tourist areas but within easy walking distance for Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and some canal trips. Great Belgian pub close by.
After finally finding the hotel (it's on a tiny side street) we were surprised that our room wasn't in the hotel itself but a few doors down and across the street. If we had intended paying the extra €15 (which seemed a bit steep anyway) for breakfast this would have meant walking over to the main building to get it which wouldn't have been convenient. The room was shabby in it's decoration but clean where it mattered (bathroom, floors). Lampshades, cushions and strange bits of material around the bed frame and on the walls were old, a bit tatty looking and obviously dusty. Final verdict was that we've stayed in worse but we've also stayed in better for a better rate. We had a good time in Amsterdam and would like to go back to do some of the less touristy bits but we wouldn't stay at this hotel again.