Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My friends and I were hesitant at first because of the 2 star review, but we were in a desperate situation in terms of time so we booked anyway. I am so glad we did!! The location is superb! Just a 15 minute walk to Dam Square and the surrounding neighborhood is such a nice, quaint little place. The rooms were very clean, and cleaned every day. The beds were so comfortable and worth the price we paid. All in all, GO!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is basically a step up from a hostel, so no frills but a nice place nonetheless. The neighborhood is quite quiet and within 5 minutes walk of a street with lots of restos and bars. 15 minutes or so by foot to the city center. The breakfast is nice, basic buffet style of rolls and toast, cheeses and meats, coffee, tea, juice. The staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Aussie traveller

Comfy beds, friendly service, great 2 star hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly, cute small breakfast room with standard continental breakfast. Great location, we stayed in a large room with 5 beds, was clean and had high ceilings.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from London

Avoid at all costs

Posted May 16, 2013
We were charged 251 euros for a double room at this small family-run hotel, which we feel was outrageous. The place is barely above the level of quality and service of a backpacker hostel. It's shabby with mismatched carpets, grubby walls and furniture that is cheap, shoddy and possibly secondhand. Bathrooms are old with cheap fittings. All of which would be acceptable if the room cost 40 or 50 euros per night but de Munck charges over twice that amount. We had just stayed in two hotels charging the same rates (approx 120 euros per night) in Berlin that were smart, modern, aircon, with minibars, wifi, thick mattresses, thick quilts etc... everything you'd expect for that sort of money. We should have known there was something not right when the Munck management insist we pay at check-in – had we seen teh room first we would have walked and looked for somewhere else to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

De munck hotel - avoid if you can

Posted Feb 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
The quality of this hotel is very poor. The value for money as well (the worse I have ever seen indeed). 1 you re asked to pay for the whole stay at arrival 2 I was in room where the smell of cooking was very strong each evening as the hotel staff was preparing his dinner near the reception. 3 the room was not heated enough. Impossible to stay in pyjamas 4 worst of all, the heating pipes were making a strong noise, preventing a good night sleep. This hotel definitely needs to be renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

De Munck Hotel Amsterdam

Posted Oct 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
This compact Amsterdam Hotel met our needs for a short break in the City. Located in a quiet area of the City it was close enough to the transport network to be easily accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Friendly, thorough, relaxed check-in. Helpful staff. I got a room with its own street entrance. When I had Internet problems, a staff member brought-in his own laptop for me to use. Just a very nice place. By the way, I highly recommend the cafe a few doors down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wirral

characterful base, but slightly far out from centre.

Posted Feb 22, 2010
Porblems with Expedia reservations spoilt our stay at what would have been a nice Typical Amsterdam style hotel.Breakfast was leisurely & plentiful. Hot / cold / alcoholic drinks were available throughout the day / evening. Great Juke box & music selction.