Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Maria from New york

Great location but major rip off!

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The View from our room triple room 310 was the corner room overlooking canal and palace and the front window on Raadstraat had a view of church
Cons: Total interior remodel with elevator or lift at least for your luggage. A major chain should purchase and renovate.
Location: Everything is walking distance to this hotel no more than 10-15 minutes
The location and views was perfect but I would not recommend this hotel. First, You must climb approx 30 very narrow steps to receptionist then another 20-30 steps to the next floor to your room! Carrying a 50lb suitcase up those 2 flights of stairs was back breaking. I had a feeling that I should lock my suitcases which i did but I rigged a backpack that i carried with umbrella, cosmetics, journal etc it to see if they could be trusted and they clearly went through it and I am not 100% sure if they took anything as I had alot of things in there. Nothing valuable. Not the point. Lock up your suitcases when going out for the day. The bedding was old, and room furnishings stale and some stained. The price that I paid (which Expedia doesnt let me post) was crazy but I booked late so I didnt have to much to choose from in the Jordaan District that I wanted! I stayed at a Hilton in Brussels for half the price and now in Paris a 10 minute walk from Eiffel tower for 3 days and my total will not be as much as Di-Ann for 2 days!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Liz from USA

Perfect location

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great- 2 blocks from Dam Square and 2 from Anne Frank. The tram stop is also 2 blocks away. I was very very pleased with the location. To reiterate others- the stairs are crazy. 58 steps to our room (3rd floor) and they were tiny. If you have any qualms about carrying your bag or issues walking, I'd recommend not staying here. But, since you are high up- my view from my room was great. You are in a busy part of town, so it was pretty loud. I was so tired from all the sightseeing it barely bothered me. And breakfast was a nice feature. Hardboiled eggs, toast and cereal. Nice plus to not have to pay for every meal. And it was very clean. I would stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No elevator in the hotel.

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: In city centre
Cons: Room rate is high considering size of room and facilities provided. E.g. hair dryer is provided on request but information is not shared wit guest
Please be aware that the hotel does not have any elevator. So in case you have big suitcases please be prepared to carry them at least 2 floors. Advantages of the hotel - very close to city center; decent breakfast menu
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan

Centrally located budget hotel.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: Room comfort - bed and pillow could have been more comfortable.
Location: Ideal central location between Dam Square and Anne Frank's House.
Excellent location a couple of minutes from Dam Square, within easy walking distance of Centraal Station. I had a single room on the top floor, which was very small, but as long as you're not spending too long in the hotel not an issue. The room was on the road side of the hotel, and was quite noisy at times. Breakfast was standard continental, not a massive choice, but again fine.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Poole,Dorset

Really convenient hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Positioning
Cons: a few things,like proper tv in room
Location: Lots to do,Museums,coffee shops,a great place to take in the beautiful Architecture of Amsterdam
Not very salubrious but positioned in a very central place,the view out of hotel was really nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Ramsgate, UK

Quaint hotel, felt like a typical Dutch experience

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Good dining area, internet throughout hotel
Cons: A little scruffy in places
Location: Reasonable walking distance to most visitor highlights
73 stairs to the room that was expected and kept us fit. Pleasant room, simple breakfast, fair rate for Amsterdam
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jaime from Indianapolis

Served its purpose

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Looks better online. I know people mentions the stairs in their reviews, but I had no idea! SO MANY! not fun with luggage! Or any alcohol! The top of the staircase turns and the steps there are barely wide enough for your toes! Hotel is run down. The rooms were clean. Was more like a motel. There was a XXX motel a few doors down, in fact. Location was good. Everything was within walking distance. I think if we went back, I'd like to stay just outside the red light district. Lots of things to do, restaurants, bars, people. Seemed like a better area. Our safe was locked and when we asked for someone to unlock it, it took a half hour or so for someone to come. They opened it right up which made us not wanting to even put anything in it since they insisted you leave you key when you leave the hotel. The front desk staff were nice enough, but not thrilled about their job. Not too impressed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here unless they make you pay $10

Posted Oct 13, 2013
This is a hostel for teenagers that don't care about anything but a bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RSP from USA

It was everything you need

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I read some of the other reviews before I went and some of them were negative but I decided to try it anyway. The room was very clean and the staff made sure you had everything you needed on a daily basis. It was a great location right behind the royal palace and Dam Square. The breakfast was good. Everything was close in walking distance, Red Light district, Train Station, etc. I will definitely stay there again and it is much nicer and cleaner than some of the other places I stayed at in the downtown area. It was also better priced. The only thing is the steps if you have walking troubles or bad knees. It was not an issue for me but it could be for some. All in all I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by annabellulu from Herts

Just what we needed!

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thoroughly recommend this hotel. The room are small, but we weren't there to lounge around. We only used it to sleep in and you don't need much room for that! The only thing that let them down at the last minute was when we were leaving. I told the man on the desk that the soap and shower gel in our shower were both finished (I realised once I was already in but we were only staying for one night). He told me they weren't! Er... yes, they were! Apart from that, very friendly staff, well-stocked breakfast (super-basic though) which you can eat on the balcony and somewhere secure to store your bags if you arrive before check-in. Location was awesome! So central!