Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

A fab weekend

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Easy to a access the city
Love amsterdam hotel was central to everything you need
4 out of 5
Recommended
by K&M May 2014 from USA

All-in-All a great hotel for those seeking value.

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The management of the hotel Hermitage, seemingly an Asian family, was very good. We arrived in the country several hours too early for check-in, and they were more than happy to store our luggage in the mean time. They spoke English and other languages without a problem, and were always willing to answer any questions we had. We toured the city over several days and would not be able to choose a better location than this; just 2.5 short blocks from the tram, underground metro and bus stops, so close to the action but far enough that it was very quiet. There are Coffee Shops and affordable restaurants nearby, with a quaint neighborhood of galleries and wine shops to the west. The mall and Opera house is within 3 blocks, as is a local full-sized grocery store. The hotel has a lovely, petite, private garden in back, perfect for a morning coffee or evening bottle of wine. The only negatives were thin walls (which were only a problem on one night of many quiet ones) when a group of young party girls came & went, in full day-time voices, all through the night; and a treacherously steep, winding staircase with treads shorter than our feet. Having said all that, next time we come to Amsterdam, we hope to stay here again! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect central location, could easily walk to most/all attractions. Hotel was clean and well decorated however rooms are small which is to be expected with the canal style buildings. Considering we were only using the hotel to shower and sleep, this was everything we needed and more. Staff very friendly and helpful with any issues with hotel and helping with booking trips, finding where to go etc. Would definitely stay at this hotel again if returning to amsterdam and would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MBarber from Newcastle

Great location, quirky rooms but abit tatty though

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Let me start with the good points, the hotel is in a great area and is a traditional old Dutch building over looking a canal. This does mean that there are lots of stairs though, but this didn't both me as I loved the traditional feel yet modern touches in the rooms. Which brings me onto the d├ęcor of the rooms, they were very tastfully done with the crazy tiles in the bathrooms. This leads onto the not so good points, the rooms were 'well used' shall we say and in need of a refurb I think. The shower door was being held on by Duck Tape and there was a bit of a musty smell in the poorly ventilated bathroom. The beds were a bit hard for my liking too. On the whole the place was good and the woman on reception was very helpful when we asked about stuff. I also liked the complimentary coffee machine and hot drinks available 24/7 in the kitchen. So to round up this place was 'OK' but I wouldn't rush back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kaz 13 from london

Great location

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
small room but meet our needs bed was comfy... great location only a few minutes walk to Rembrandt Sq and metro/tram links very close. Great view of the canal from our room. Hotel staff very friendly and could answer any question we asked ....would defo recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Manchester

Very good!

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel perfectly situated if you dont want to be right in the centre, clean place, carpets had a few stains but nothing major, bed was a little bit hard, service was really nice and friendly overall 8/10
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Definitely a 2 star hotel. Single rooms are tiny and mattress was uncomfortable! Also be advised that there are no elevators and the staircases are extremely narrow and winding (believe there are 5 floors, I was on the 4th). On the positive side, the staff is very nice and helpful. The location is also great. The hotel sits on a quiet neighborhood street but is only a 3-5min walk away from attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mitch from South Carolina

Good Room but nothing fancy

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an okay room. We were on the 5th floor, no elevator though. Our room was small but that's whys I expected. The rate was definitely considerably higher than any of our other big city hotels. I think because there was a festival is why the rate was high. Good location not far from main city so it was nice and quiet. Nice place, just a lot more than I wanted to pay for a regular hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Cheuk from London

Highly recommended for budget traveller

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Hotel staff was very very friendly. Location was excellent - 5 minutes away from Metro/tram. Bed was very comfortable and the area was very quiet at night so we all had some good sleep. Room was very clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. Wifi works quite well overall. Adaptor was provided and it is a plus. Supermarket Albert Hejin was 10 minutes away Our room was on the fifth floor - with no elevators climbing the stairs could be physically difficult. Private toilet was so ridiculously small I had quite a lot of fun trying not to hurt myself every time I move/shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com