Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuala Lumpur

Nice small family hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Easier way to move your luggages
Location: Dam Square Canal Ring just in front!
Friendly staff, but get ready to climb steep stairs.. Those with large bags to be ready..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VT

Premium location, Walking distance to everywhere.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
One thing I can say is that the staff were very polite after I forgot I was checking out and headed off for the day ! Sorry guys and thanks again Darren
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel, not to far from the attractions

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Location: Not too far to walk to dam square, everything is very expensive and didn't seem to happy to have tourist!
It was a nice place to stay, people where friendly inside the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially the man that we were greeted by. Also a cleaner offered and carried our bags downstairs which was a nice touch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristine Hfrom Utah USAi

Below average hotel in great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went to the location to find out we were staying over 2 blocks away. The stairs are steep and high. We were on the 3rd floor, fortunately my 2 boys were with me and were able to carry the luggage for my sister and me. The rooms are very dated. The location is great but that's about the only positive things I can say about the hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeanne M.

would not recommend it.

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was not impressed at all. The rooms where located at another address about 1/3 km away. The flight of stairs up to the 1st floor where very narrow and steep so very difficult to get luggage up and down. The bathroom had way too much mildew in it for my taste. The twin beds are more like cots and the mattress on the queen has definitely had a lot of use. Old decor and not a place to spend any time. I would definitely NOT go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Seanfrom Aberdeen, Scotland

Great Location and Steep Stairs

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
In general the hotel was clean and everyone was friendly. The location was central and made seeing the city easy. The room was on the pricey side for what you get but everything in this city expensive. The only real negatives are the REALLY steep stairs and the poor WIFI connection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philfrom Manchester

Central location close to Dam Square

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, Rooms clean and beds made daily, Staff, Location.
Cons: The rooms were a tad smallish but there's nothing that could be done to improve that. It was nice to have the ensuite bathrooms and toilets.
Location: Near Dam Square (7 mins), Van Gogh, Rijks, (20 mins), Lots of nice eateries within a few minutes walk.
I booked 3 rooms (2 twins and a single). The rooms were a little on the small side, but perfectly functional. Again the bathrooms and toilets were a little snug, but adequate. All rooms were ensuite, the beds were very comfortable and the heating was more than adequate. The windows opened without effort, which meant the rooms had a fresh air feel to them and not that stale smell you sometimes get in smaller hotels. There was always lots of hot water and no black mold in the bathrooms. I found the breakfast to be better than expected for a 2 star hotel. The staff were very helpful especially an oriental gentleman who went to great lengths to get us transport to Keukenhof - without him we would have been at the mercy of public transport or the tour coaches that were booked up. We were allowed to leave our bags behind reception both when we arrived and on the day of departure, which gave us the freedom to visit museums without dragging our cases behind us. The hotels location was perfect, close to Dam Square and only about 15 -20 minutes walk to the RijksMuseum. There were plenty of lunch cafes dotted around and some superb restaurants for a decent meal in the evenings within a short walk. Overall a nice Canal House Hotel with helpful staff in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

do not trust the pictures

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible hotel, it is not like the pictures at all. The stairs are crazy steep, I walked straight out and booked elsewhere. I want a refund!