Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially the man that we were greeted by. Also a cleaner offered and carried our bags downstairs which was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Manchester

Central location close to Dam Square

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, Rooms clean and beds made daily, Staff, Location.
Cons: The rooms were a tad smallish but there's nothing that could be done to improve that. It was nice to have the ensuite bathrooms and toilets.
Location: Near Dam Square (7 mins), Van Gogh, Rijks, (20 mins), Lots of nice eateries within a few minutes walk.
I booked 3 rooms (2 twins and a single). The rooms were a little on the small side, but perfectly functional. Again the bathrooms and toilets were a little snug, but adequate. All rooms were ensuite, the beds were very comfortable and the heating was more than adequate. The windows opened without effort, which meant the rooms had a fresh air feel to them and not that stale smell you sometimes get in smaller hotels. There was always lots of hot water and no black mold in the bathrooms. I found the breakfast to be better than expected for a 2 star hotel. The staff were very helpful especially an oriental gentleman who went to great lengths to get us transport to Keukenhof - without him we would have been at the mercy of public transport or the tour coaches that were booked up. We were allowed to leave our bags behind reception both when we arrived and on the day of departure, which gave us the freedom to visit museums without dragging our cases behind us. The hotels location was perfect, close to Dam Square and only about 15 -20 minutes walk to the RijksMuseum. There were plenty of lunch cafes dotted around and some superb restaurants for a decent meal in the evenings within a short walk. Overall a nice Canal House Hotel with helpful staff in a great location.
2 out of 5
by Sisters from Michigan

Good location.

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: The staff was so accommodating.
Cons: Flooring needs to be updated along with the walls.
Location: Location was great, close to Amsterdam square and museums.
When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was so accommodating. They carried our suitcases to the second floor. (Third floor to US residents). The flooring needs updating. I was a little grossed out by the carpet going up the stairs and in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by geluel from Canada

Family owned hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: Tons of character, on the canal.
Cons: Clean up the smell in room 11
TINY rooms, tiny bathrooms, steep stairs, no elevator, single beds, this was an old 17th century house after all. Staff were helpful and the place was clean. Room 11 had musty smell, avoid at all costs. Not worth the rates you pay for the rooms really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pen & Rog from Melbourne, Australia

Great Location

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a 3 night stay in September 2013 in this lovely old canal house. Staff were very helpful & courteous. The stairs are steep, but our heavy bags were carried to our room for us. The decor was perhaps a bit tired and dated, but our room was clean, comfortable, with ensuite and had a canal view ( we were on the 2nd floor) The breakfast was the usual meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals and breads. Plenty of it and served in the downstairs breakfast room. Tony was very likeable and helpful with answering our queries and booking a day tour and taxi. Hotel centrally located close to restaurants, shops, bars etc. We would definitely stay again if in Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel (steep steps though)

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
great view onto canal. Good breakfast. stairs were steep and narrow steps, but only an issue if you have giant bags or struggle with physical movement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Aussie Traveller from Australia

Great Location

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a great location right in the centre of everything of amsterdam easy to walk to The Dam, and close to surrounding attractions i.e red light district. Beds were comfy enough to sleep on for the 2 nights we stayed, rooms quite small and stairs VERY steep, but easy for young fit travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good apartment for alot of people.

Posted Mar 16, 2013
The apartment was cute and plenty of room. Our main complaint was the main bedroom. The main bedroom was very loud. The windows let every noise in. The curtains wouldn't shut all the way, leaving a large gap with the lights came in the room and was very bright from the lights. Everything else was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anna

close to Dam square

Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quite good to stay a couple of nights, close to main attractions, friendly and helpfull staff. Minuses: very steep and narrow stairs - not suitable for elder people and/or big luggage, thin walls - you can hear all what i going on in the next room, extremely tiny bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2012 on Hotels.com