Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by dont go from dubai

Horrible stay. And horrible hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014
-no elevator -veryyyy narrow stairs -my room was on 3rd floor -each floor has 20steps -we checked in late for which they gave us only 1hour extra which was very unfair -u can easily hear nxt door -any door closing on floor will bang ur door aswell -no privacy at all -i had suitcase which i carried all Alone up on 3rd floor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by bluebirdnips from cardiff wales uk

great place

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
the hortus is a fantastic hotel, with fantastic staff, its right in the heart of everything, with both, central station and rembrant square in easy walking distance, the staff are well knowledged about the location and city, the hotel its self in places does need updating, at the time of visiting the toilet on our floor was out of use, also if you have heart or lung conditions asl for a first room floor, lol as its a long way to the top up 3 flights of narrow stairs, but dont let that put you off using this place, breakfast is a quaint time with staff mingling with customers, while making sure they get the best service they can offer, while still managing to supply info and banter to customers walking in and out, very homely place.looking forward to going back for my third visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a group of friends

Posted Apr 4, 2013
I stayed here with four of my uni friends and it was a great hotel for the price. You could walk easily into town and the staff were really friendly and gave us lots of good tips on places to go. The breakfast was also really good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eve

The owner is amazing!

Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
The owner is amazing and very knowlegable about the surrounding area, he made our trip so enjoyable! It's not the most luxuriousness to stay However for short trip it is amazing the location is great. The rooms are pretty clean. Overall we had an enjoyable stay. If i came back to amsterdam, i would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Imogen

Good location, friendly staff, nice breakfast

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Overall impressed with the hotel and our bed was exceedingly comfortable. We were also upgraded to a room with a shower free of charge. However, the hotel did feel, at points, more of a coffee shop than a hotel because of the smell downstairs and the appearance of smoking equipment in the main communal area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by FrequentFlyerMum

Do not stay here

Posted Sep 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Value for money is close to nil.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Very Small Double Room

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
I stayed here recently with a girlfriend and we had ordered a double room we knew it was not going to be luxury as it was a 1 or 2 star when I mean small it was tiny it was the smallest double bed I have ever seen in a single room the room was about 5ft wide and 6ft long not a confortable room at all. The toilet and sink was very small the shower was fine and the water was warm. I was prepared for the steep stairs from previous reviews but if you suffer from vertigo I would not recommend. The staff were really helpful and nice and the place was clean. It was a little noisey at night when the large groupts would return from nights out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Basically is a Hostel

Posted Sep 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
Our room was at the very top -72 steps. The room was basically an attic closet. Even the window was a roof hatch! Was cheap so I guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from istanbul

nice mushroom park near

Posted Sep 25, 2011
for the city center of amsterdam, it was a nice hotel. i would definitely stay there if i go with my soccer team. there is a pool table in the entrance and feels like a clean pub with the forms of football teams on the walls. check for the address twice! there is another similar named street around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2011 on Hotels.com