Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Abi from UK

not too bad

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: lovely food and staff
Cons: the showers
Location: great locations, small tram ride to city centre
we had a nice stay but unfortunately, the room was quite small for two people which was fine but it didn't have a toilet, and the shower was in the room which overflowed onto the carpet, and also leaked onto the carpet from one side, however the staff were absolutely lovely and it was a great location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from CH

Within walking distance to city centre

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel can be reached easily by metro (3 stops) or even by foot from the central train station (ca. 20 minutes walk). The rooms are very small, but clean. Romm service is done every day. The bathroom is also small but new. The hotel has no elevator. If you have big baggage you'll be better off with a room on the ground floor!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was in a good location, close to downtown, close to both a metro line and tram lines that take you everywhere you would want to see. However, the walls are paper thin and the beds were horrible, at least 10 springs digging into my back. There is no elevator and really narrow stairs so hope you are on the first floor (even though it's loud.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from Vancouver, BC Canada

Great hotel in a great area

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: the view
Cons: small rooms
Location: great location close to city centre, grocery store and restaurants
I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and so far this has been my absolute favourite! This is a very basic hotel, there are no amenities provided but it was a very pleasant stay. We got a room on the first floor looking out onto the canal. Our room had a large window with a ledge perfect for sitting in and enjoying the view! The room was extremely tiny but in my opinion this did not detract from the hotel. It was very clean and quiet. Is very close to the centre of Amsterdam and is only a 5 minute walk to many restaurants and shops. We rented bikes from reception (12 euro a day) and could bike to de Jordaan in 10-15 minutes. The staff were very helpful and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matt from Jersey Channel Islands

Budget hotel in good location.

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Good location, good room and great value.
Cons: Initial impression is not so good as the entrance looks past its best.
Location: Easy walking distance to anywhere in central Amsterdam.
A budget hotel in a good location, walking distance to all the sights in central Amsterdam. The entrance and corridors appear a little shabby and in need of decorating but the room was very good, clean, well presented and comfortable with all facilities that you would need for a short break. Staff were curtious and helpfull. I found the hotel to be great value and would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Phil j from Cornwall

Central location

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff. Room was too small with poor partition walls. Could hear everything from next door. Room was not very clean. Breakfast room was good and so was breakfast. Ok budget hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Mar 7, 2013
We booked this room as a special deal for just 30.00 a night. We weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, bathroom and sleeping area. Apart from a needed spruce up paint job, it was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariam from Durham, County Durham, UK

meh -but if you're travelling light, it's not bad

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Cons: the blankets had no duvet covers, i slept with my shawl because the comforters looked awfully used and brown.
Location: Pretty nice. Had to use a taxi to the airport though. Heavy luggage people, not for you unless you can guarantee a room on a lower floor.
The room is decent enough, the bathroom's a bit smelly. The TV didn't work, neither did the hair dryer. I was disappointed that they had no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. You had to pick the remote control along with the keys and pay a deposit. For me personally the whole experience was a bit inconvenient. You have to check in at Hotel Max (don't know if they're a partner hotel or what). So, I took all my luggage there, took it up the stairs myself, and I'm not exactly the strongest person for those steep and narrow Dutch staircases. Then had to take all the luggage to Hotel Iris - I think for me it was bad because I had too much luggage - if you're travelling very light, this is a nice enough place to crash. At least you get your own bathroom smelly as it may be. The worst part was lugging my suitcases to the 3rd floor after a long day of flights. Had to do it one by one, gave me blisters and there was no one to help with that stuff, so not fun. The Dutch have these hooks on top of their houses with hooks to pull up furniture when they move and lord, did I miss having that facility on offer. If you do not have a lot of luggage, then I would certainly recommend it as a nice budget hotel to stay in. If you're lucky you can get a room with a canal view which is nice enough. I didn't have that, so don't know if the view is that great, but it was in a decent part of town. Bottomline: a little inconvenient, no elevator so beware. Otherwise, decent.