Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

nice hotel quite close to the centre of amsterdam

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: the staff were very good
Cons: room size
Location: very short walk to local shops and bars by the canal---a very good irish pub at the end of the road
hotel staff were brilliant and most helpful in all ways-breakfast was very good but room although economy was very small but I could have upgraded if amsterdam hadn't had a huge convention on that particular week
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Nice hotel close to all amsterdam facilities.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and beautiful breakfast. Close to all facilities,
Cons: Everything was comfortable
Location: Close to beautiful Vondel Park, casino, shops and cafes
My stay at the hotel was very pleasant. Would go there again. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull. The breakfast was excellent in nice surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location Great for the price.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Terrific location especially for museums. Staff friendly. Rooms small, but hey it is Europe. Breakfast for 10 euro is great value. Recommend to anyone who wants to stay out of the heavily tourist areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: It has a good breakfast buffet for 9.50 Euros with a wide selection of options and made to order eggs.
This hotel is within walking distance of the major museums (Riksmuseum, Van Gogh, Stedelijk) and just 2 blocks from the number 2 and 5 tram stops. It's also across the street from the beautiful Vondel park. I'd choose this location again knowing the overall Amsterdam layout. This is a very nice boutique hotel, maintained well and clean. This room did not have air conditioning and the bed had only a thick duvet. In spite of being able to open the window it meant either overheating or being chilled. We asked for a sheet and blanket as an alternative but the staff could not supply anything else. We finally removed the duvet cover and used it without the duvet. This issue cast the hotel in a very poor light. Oh yes, it would be nice if the shower curtain was wider than just half the tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Modern, sleek, great location!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
It was our first visit to Amsterdam and daunting as it was, Piet Hein was not only a great place to stay at, but the staff gave us excellent service and were so helpful. Wonderful set up, just next to Vondlepark, it's within easy reach of city centre. Loved breakfast there, sweet tante Hani was there to keep you full. 5 stars service and location! We'll be back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Rooms are small but very comfortable and very high standard. It is worth taking the breakfast at extra cost - one of the best buffet breakfast ever experienced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Decor, fittings
Location: Great location. Easy to reach by tram from station. Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum and plenty of places to eat and drink very nearby.
Staff came to fix light speedily when asked to but light really needed replacing with a new one. Paintwork tired and room was cramped. Bathroom very adequate with great shower but no toiletries supplied. Drinks at bar fairly expensive. Staff happy to print out documents for me. Would definitely recommend as long as you don't expect luxury.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Sleeping in a cupboard

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location good beautiful park nearby
Cons: The size of room it should have had a single bed in it and booked accordingly.
The size of the room we were given was ridiculous. No space at all around bed and you could not fit a suitcase on the floor let alone two. Dangerous light over bed you would not want to sit up quickly or you would end up with nasty injury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Stayed for two nights in a single room with a view to vondelpark!! Bed very confortable. Shower good and powerful. Size of the was a bit small but only wanted to sleep anyway. Breakfast for an extra 9,50 euros was amazing. Never eaten so many pancakes so early in the morning. Recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Perfect location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The location, nice room, comfortable bed, and pleasant staff
Cons: Not much. Bathroom is tiny; towels removed but not replaced; no shelf if the shower to put my stuff.
Location: Great location for museums, transport links and next to a park. A short walk to get into the main shopping and sightseeing areas.
The hotel is ideally placed near to the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum, on a quiet street but with easy access to the centre of the town, main tramlines, the airport bus and a canal stop. There is so much to do in Amsterdam that we didn't spend all that long in the hotel, and didn't take breakfast there, however the room was comfortable, the staff very pleasant and we enjoyed the bar a couple of times. We visited the Anne Frank House (2 hr queue), ate lots and wandered around the beautiful, picturesque canals, and managed not to get run over by the bicycles, trams and mopeds that seem to come from every direction!