Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cologne

Quality hotel in the attractive "9 streets" region

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Issues, when brought to the attention of hotel staff were dealt with quickly such as our unserviced room at 16:00 when raised was fixed immediatel
Cons: Only point of concern this time was slow service in the Espresso Bar for breakfast - need more staff & the newspaper I had asked for only arriving on
Location: "9 streets" shopping. Close to Dam Square & Old Town. Anne Frank House
Had an excellent 3 night stay at this hotel. I have stayed before (Feb 2014 & in 1990). Continues to be excellent. I continue to recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel convinent for most of the tourist sites

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I used to stay at this hotel frequently for business trips about 10 years ago. Decided to go back for a leisure visit. Layout of hotel is quite complicated, and I used to get lost all the time. Pleased to see that guests are now given a map on arrival. Hotel is within walking distance of most the tourist attractions, and yet not as noisy as in the middle of Dam Square or near the train station. All facilities were naturally excellent given class of hotel. Was also impressed that they allowed me to change my booking when an emergency came up, even though terms of my original booking didn't allow changes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel spoilt by badly handled check in.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The location and the courtyard gardens the concierge and the doormen.
Cons: The staff on reception.
Location: Beautiful location near to quiet canals and yet close enough to the centre for bars,restaurants and tourist areas.
Not really sure if it was the fault of the hotel or Expedia but we had booked and paid for a room with a King size bed as it was for our 25th wedding anniversary and being a married couple we wanted a special weekend in Amsterdam. Upon checking in we were told that we had booked a twin room ( although on my booking confirmation from Expedia it had printed out King size ) as apparently a king bed was only on request!?! The hotel blamed Expedia explaining that it was due to their booking process and it was not the fault of the hotel so we were offered a room with a king size bed for an extra 50 euros per night or a queen room which had a view of a wall!!! We have never in all our years of travelling the world had a check in handled so badly upon arrival. Eventually after my husband getting quite cross miraculously a room with a king size bed was found at no extra charge. The concierge and doormen were lovely to us it was a shame that the front desk were not!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel was conveniently in the city

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Room was not ready until 9pm, hair dryer did not work, exchange rate is a complete rip off. The hotel is not worth the exhorbitant price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london england

Lovely hotel in excellent position for sightseeing

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Position, restaurant very good
Location: Nine lanes for shopping and restaurants. Hotel in great position on canal
Hotel staff excellent. I lost an earring in the shower and thought I would never see it again. The maintenance man came in the morning and took the bath to pieces and luckily found my earring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Best location in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The Bed and Staff and Location.
This is an amazing hotel - right on the main canal along Prinsengracht, it is a collection of old Dutch houses modernised but retaining all their charm and history. Our room dated from 1641 but had wi fi and a great bathroom. Most importantly it had the BEST bed we have ever slept in ( king sized). Room was spotless, quite and with an added treat of stroopwafels left each night... The staff were terrific- all spoke perfect English (of course, this is the wonderful Netherlands) and happy to book and make reservations for restaurants, tours etc. You are directly in the heart and / opposite the Nine Streets area, with an assortment of eclectic shops, cafes, bars and independent retailers. So different from the touristy "coffee shop" district. It is 2 minute walk from the main tram stop to the Station ( 10 mins) but its an easy walk across town too, an easy down the canal side past beautiful houses. Will definitely stay her again. Faultless!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect position for exploring Amsterdam

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The Concierge service is excellent, they have the ideal blend of knowledge, pateince and humour. The hotel is quirky,comfortable and well positioned. I would expect a refurbish in the next few years as it is looking a bit tired but that does not prevent it providing excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

The Pulitzer

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The Pulitzer hotel is in a really lovely location. The caf├ęs shops and area is really relaxing. We had a boat trip from the hotel in their own boat, it was the best boat trip I have experience. The restaurant is excellent, the food is well cooked and well presented and the staff are extremely attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, England

Great Hotel in the Perfect Spot

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Good sized standard bedroom and bathroom with good fittings. Very well equipped gym. Superb cleanliness. Unbeatable position. Classy ambience.
Cons: Even good hotels normally have some downside, but I'm struggling here...
Location: THE perfect position. Anne Frank's House. Breakfast at Koffiehuis De Hoek or Cafe 't Smalle. Superb (but pricey) Italian at Hostaria.
I picked this hotel because it had great reviews and all the facilities you'd expect of a 4/5 Star hotel. It didn't disappoint. The standard bedroom was roomy enough and very, very clean (I thoroughly checked the room on my arrival and found everything spotless, right down to the new-looking mattress). The bathroom was a good size and everything worked really well in it (excellent shower over the bath). The hotel itself is quite large with excellent facilities, such as a very well equipped fitness room (several running machines, cross trainers, etc meaning you should never have to wait for your cardio exercise). There's a coffee/breakfast bar and a swanky restaurant which looked lovely, but not cheap (we ate out). The staff couldn't have been more attentive and professional at reception and elsewhere (they've clearly been well trained). During our 4-day stay we walked round the entire city (Amsterdam isn't that big) and decided that this hotel was in THE perfect spot. The Pulitzer is a very short 10 minute stroll from Dam Square (the centre) whilst being on the edge of the classy Jordaan area with its cosy cafes, bars and restaurants. It's also less than 5 minutes from Anne Frank's house (handy for getting there before opening time to avoid the long queue). It's a longer stroll (about 30 minutes) down to the Leidseplein and the big museums (Rijksmuseum, etc), but there's so much to see along the way that it's no hardship.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derry

Nothing a bother to the very friendly staff

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Staff , atmosphere and location
Location: 5 min walk to town centre (Dam square)
Arrived at 3 o clock am after long aeroplane delays and was greeted by a friendly night porter that made check in easy . Had requested a king bed and was not disappointed first proper king bed of our 3 city break .On check in asked for tea and coffee making facilities in the room .This was immediately delivered to our room even at this early hour of the morning Only negative is the cost of breakfast if it is not included in the rate but there is a lovely place for breakfast close by . My wife and me have stayed there three times over the past 6 years and would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam