Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice Hotel in Amsterdam

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Hotel is close to the railway station. You can walk to all the attractions. Lots of food options close to the hotel. Breakfast was decent. Rooms are a bit small compared to North American standards. Therefore, space will be tight if you are traveling with family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lihue Hawaii

Quaint hotel that is close to central train

Posted Jul 8, 2015
This was an overall great place to stay on the start of our back packing trip. Easy access close to train. Came straight from airport. Super value great breakfast. Blackout curtains. Room was quiet considering it's so central. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keene, NH

Unbeatable location

Posted May 4, 2015
This is one of the closest hotels to the main train station in Amsterdam. As such, the location is virtually impossible to beat for walking and transit access. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, and the room was clean and comfortable (not large, but not too tiny). My only complaint relates to the noise, however its most fair to say that the booking clearly indicated it was a ground floor room, its in a busy traffic area (foot, car, and tram), and we arrived on Kings day. That said, I do wonder if window and/or other soundproofing measures would make the first floor experience a bit quieter? After the first night, we slept fine, so between adjusting and the lower noise level after Kings Day was over, it turned out okay. Other than that, we loved it. Its a great value and we would happily return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Jamie, Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for this fair review of our hotel! We appreciate it very much. We would be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Amsterdam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST EGREVE

AU centre de AMSTERDAM

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Bon accueil , bonne situation géographique proche de la gare centrale , du quartier rouge et pas trés loin de la place du DAM. Je recommande cet établissement sachant que nous avons testé d'autres établissements de la ville mais c'était bien moins satisfaisant. Petit déjeuner de qualité et chambre trés propre. Vraiment bien
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice but worth the price

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: It's nice, it's quiet and away from the bustle of the Damrak, and the breakfast buffet is very nice.
Cons: But the rooms themselves need some work - the beds were basically futon mattresses, the towels scratchy and cheap.
Location: The location is great! It's in the city center but away from the noise and crowds. Also try the Indian restaurant next door, it's amazing!
Obviously, we stayed during peak tourist season, but this hotel is not a luxury hotel - it's a solid mid-range hotel. The common areas are nice, the wifi isn't bad, the staff is courteous and helpful. But the rooms don't hold up to the rate charged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ronni from Ventura, CA

Loved this place!

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely boutique hotel, excellent breakfast, great location. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from Mortimer

Great hotel, super location

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice staff, perfect location so close to the train station, but also nice and quiet. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your rating and comments, it is highly appreciated. We hope to see you again next time. Kind regards, Hotel Sint Nicolaas staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Perfekte Zentral-Lage; alles zu Fuß erreichbar

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Ein kleines Hotel mit großartiger Lage. Kann man zu Fuß vom Bahnhof erreichen und sämtliche Hotspots der Stadt sind ohne Auto erreichbar. Die Fußgängerzone mit vielen Restaurants und Shops ist ebenfalls in der Nähe. Die Zimmer sind nett und recht stylisch eingerichtet, vielleicht ein wenig zu dunkel. Service und Frühstück sind Standard und nicht zu kritisieren. Hotel ist auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will take your recommendations into consideration. Howeever, about being able to stay longer in the room, you need to understand this. Because we don't have that many rooms, and most of the time fully booked, it is not possible to stay longer than two hours, because there are new guests coming and need to be able to check in at 2 pm as well. In bigger hotels it is sometimes possible, but for us, unfortunately, it is not possible to extend your stay to any time you want to leave.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tae won from South Korea

Not much privacy!

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the first floor, and it was exposed to one of the main streets (hige window too!) with all the noise of people passing by and trams buses traffics.. Everything.. Breakfast was very basic, mainly dry foods like bread, ham, salami, etc... The only good part was the lication as it was close to the central station, but pretty difficult to get to as well because there is no pedestrian crossing leading to it. Overall, next time I would pay more and go somewhere nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry the room on the ground floor was not to your liking. When booking this room it is mentioned that the room is on street level and therefore you can experience more street noise. This is also why the room is discounted compared to one of the rooms on a higher floor, maybe you weren't aware that you have specifically booked this room. We are currently expanding our breakfast menu with some more hot options. We appreciate your feedback. Kind regards, Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susanne from Norge

Fresht og sentralt

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
Fint hotell for en weekend tur med venninner. Hyggelig personal og lå veldig sentralt! Var også moderne og rene rom, men fungerende Wifi. Frokosten var ikke all verden, og kunne vært mye bedre. Var også problem med å få beholde rommet etter utsjekkingstiden kl.11. Hvis man skulle beholde rommet lengre kostet det mye og man fikk isåfall bare ha rommet i 2 timer. De kunne vært litt mer serviceminded akkurat på det punktet. Men det var generelt bra, og jeg ville absolutt ha bodd her igjen.