Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Nice hotel. Great location.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, free wifi.
Cons: Bigger rooms
Location: Excellent. Several stores and fast food restaurants around. Walking distance to red light district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Felipe, thank you for your review. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great hotel close to the centre of Amsterdam

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel room was very clean as was the hotel throughout. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only stayed in a 1 star room but very impressed with it. Would have loved to have a mirror in the main bedroom and tea/coffee facilities but otherwise loved it and would definitely go back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were surprised by the 1 star room and the cleanliness of the hotel. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Really quirky and cool hotel. Would stay again.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The quirky room design and the convenience of being in the centre of the city, so close to the top attractions.
Cons: The cleanliness - there were quite a few coffee stains on the fabric features.
Location: Right by the palace, central station is just down the road and you're within walking distance of everything.
Lovely and quirky hotel, the staff upgraded my room as well to one of the 5* ones :) Fabulous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rebecca, thank you for your review. We are happy to read you had a fabulous stay in one of our 5* rooms. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Amazing hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Amazing stay beautiful rooms lovely staff and very comfortable. Back in January 2015. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adrian, we are happy to read your positive and clear review. We are looking forward to welcoming you in January. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Hotel in middle of Damrak, Amsterdam's main Street

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I would recommend walking up from Amsterdam Centrum to get to the hotel entrance - a door. The rooms are very small with only a bed and really no other furniture. We had a coat-stand on which we hung our clothes - I had taken my own coat-hangers. However the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast could be eaten in their brasserie or wherever you wanted to go. The smallness of the room was not important to us and it was right in the centre of Amsterdam and relatively inexpensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you had a good time with us. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW, Australia

Central, but not value for money

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Bathroom good
Cons: Entrance hard to find. Arty style, but Room facilities need urgent improvement to be value. Refrigerator and at least some storage in room.
Location: On Main Street, handy to all sites.
We booked in advance, supposedly on a special mystery value deal through Expedia. Very disappointed with size of room and room facilities for the price for 7 days. If we had of seen room prior to booking we would have looked elsewhere to spend our money. No refrigerator or kettle and room width of bed length, you could only climb over bed to reach other side. Only two old metal chairs other than bed and safe in room. Tiny and a claustrophobic. After this we would not book another Expedia mystery hotel!!! On a positive, rooms were clean and staff friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, thank you for your sharing your experiences. We have rooms from 1 - 5 stars, the more stars, the bigger the room. The five star rooms do have coffee and tea facilities. It's good to read the rooms were clean and staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back in one of our five star rooms in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Worcestershire

Nice quiet hotel very close to the city centre.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The hotel is well situated very close to the centre of the city. It is arranged over several floors of an existing old building. It is decorated in a modern style with plain white walls but with designer accessories which are highlighted by the plainer backgrounds. The room that I stayed in followed this overall modern style and had two plates tied together with wide red cord and were liberally attached to the walls and ceiling. It had two single beds, a tv and a wet room with shower and toilet. There were ample electrical sockets to recharge phones and iPods. The room was very clean and quiet. There are two small lifts which take you to the 3rd floor room but the 1st floor can be accessed by the old steep wooden steps or by lift. On the right hand side of the hotel there is a cafe which is open for breakfast and other meals throughout the day. The staff in the hotel were very polite, helpful and friendly. There sis only a small entrance to the hotel but there are flags above the entrance which assist with finding it. I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 night stay and I will certainly be staying at the hotel again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, thank you for your clear description of the hotel. We are happy to read that you had a good stay and that you would like to come back to Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
by Ranjan

Slightly disappointing

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The concept
Cons: With due respects to design concepts, a wardrobe/closet of sorts would be appreciated
Location: Excellent location on Damrak, three minutes walk from the Central station and main tourist office.
Having read about the design experience this hotel is supposed to be the reality was slightly disappointing. Maybe we were unlucky to have landed the 'Button' room; the write up informed us that the style of the room meant no closets, instead there were 2 hangars on the wall. We were only there for a night so it wasn't a big deal. The bathroom was large and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The wifi was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ranjan, thank you for your review. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very central location to Amsterdam City & station

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Handy location
Cons: Double glazing for noise along front rooms and fans for airflow
First night was in a very small room facing Main Street. No double glazing & needed window open for air flow. It was extremely noisy and maintenance on tram lines with jackhammers grinders etc didn't finish till midnight. Hotel should not have been using front rooms whilst construction happening. After moving to higher floor & back of hotel it was a lot quieter & lighter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your first night wasn't as pleasant as it should have been. We are happy to read that we were able to allocate you to a higher and lighter room to make up for the noise and constructions on the front side of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: the design and i liked that even when you've put the do not disturb sign on the door they'll still leave fresh towels for you outside in a bag.
Cons: room service
Location: less than a minute away from De Bijenkorf and Dam Square. Noisy church bells, road works at the time, and i imagine really noisy when the xmas market.
The hotel was clean and nice, but lacked some amenities. For example, my room did not have a wardrobe and that was fine because i was only there for 3 nights, but if i was staying for longer it would have been horrible living out of a suitcase. It's also annoying that there's no room service option. It annoyed me that the shower was not separate from the toilet - it's hard to explain, but there's no shower cubicle, so the water from the shower will splash onto the toilet seat for instance. however, i think this might be part of dutch culture as i've stayed in other places that have the same set up. The only thing that I really hated were the church bells ringing every hour, but i fully understand they can't do anything about that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite the missing facilities you had a enjoyed a short stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team