Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: LOCATION, FACILITIES
NICE HOTEL IN A NICE CITY. WE WILL COME BACK AGAIN
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you will come back to Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LDN

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Stayed in a 5* room and it was amazing. The design was beautiful and made the stay really special.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Déco design mais confort et service inexistants

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Décoration Emplacement proche de la gare et du centre
Cons: L'accueil Le confort des chambres
Personnel de réception n'ayant aucun sens du service (mis à part le jeune homme ayant réalisé notre check-in). Attitude décontractée trop exagérée (les pieds sur le comptoir de réception...), pas de pro-activité (le jeudi matin, lorsque des travaux dans l'hôtel extrêmement bruyants ont débuté à 7H du matin, personne au sein de l'hôtel ne s'est interrogé sur le report à une heure plus raisonnable de la journée de ce type d'intervention). Chambre très propre et design. En revanche, absolument aucun confort: aucun placard ni rangement dans la chambre et la salle de bains (pour un séjour de 5 jours, tout doit donc obligatoirement rester dans la valise. Pratique...). Pas de bouilloire mise à disposition dans la chambre donc impossible de se faire une boisson chaude à la demande notamment au vu de l'absence de room service. Le wifi en revanche fonctionne parfaitement bien. 3 prises de courant qu'il faut lutter pour dénicher au global de la chambre et pas dans les endroits les plus pratiques. Recharger tablette et téléphone portable est donc malaisé. Pour 200€ en moyenne par nuit, cet hôtel n'est pas à la hauteur du service et niveau escomptés bien que la promesse design et décalée soit tout à fait remplie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Virginie, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about the lack of service at our reception during your stay. This is not how we usually work and we would like to apologize for this. Thank you for the compliments about the cleanliness and design of the rooms. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice interesting hotel, perfect location.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Our room was fun and interesting and came with all the essentials. Based around all the action in Amsterdam everything is within walking distance. Rooms are a little pricey for but I guess that's what you pay considering its central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope to see you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Quirky Hotel in the city centre

Posted Jun 6, 2015
I had seen mixed reviews about this hotel so wasn't sure what to expect however I had a great time and would definitely recommend this place. Its a quirky hotel and each room is decorated with a different theme in mind. The decor is weird and wonderful and it was great to stay somewhere different as opposed to staying at a standard chain hotel. We were in a front room looking out onto the city centre but it wasn't overly noisy. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was a 5 min walk from the train station. Apart from taking a train to the ziggo dome for a gig on the first night we walked everywhere. Also we went to the cafe each morning for breakfast, the food was great and it was a great and friendly atmosphere. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and think considering all of these elements that it was a bargain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this great review! We are very happy to read you had a good stay. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great city centre Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: clean and tidy , staff were great and location was fab.
Location: right on the main street within 5 mins from the central train station. Lots of cafes, bars close by, would say go a bit further back .
Great little hotel, city centre location but we had a room at the back so was lovely and quite. Room was immaculate no mean feet at we were if a room that was all white. Every room has its own design. Wet room was fine enough room and again clean. Beds were a bit soft but that's a personal preference. Staff were all very friendly so would recommend the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lou, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have had a good stay at Hotel The Exchange. Thank you for the compliments about the staff. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from quebec

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Chambre très miniature. A peine de la place pour mettre nos 2 grosses valises. Bien situé à 5 minutes à pieds de la gare de train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sg

Nice hotel close to the central station

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Though the hotel room is abit small but its very clean and cosy.Very accessible.I think if we were to come back to amsterdam we will consider this hotel again but maybe get the bigger room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kat, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you are considering to stay at Hotel The Exchange again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Overall okay

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: - Good wifi connection - Within walking distance to the Central Railway Station - Staff in general is friendly
Cons: Do not accept cash (but such info is not provided on Expedia.com.hk).
Location: Dam Canel Cruise
- We are allocated with room facing the main street (though I have put down remarks of avoiding room facing the main street). So, it's quite noisy at night. - The elevator is tiny. The luggage storage room is on the 1st floor (instead of G/F). So we carry our luggage down to G/F and then bring them up to the 1st floor - The drainage in toilet doesn't work very well. "Flood" after shower - Light too dim at night - Overall it's acceptable given the price - Expedia.com.hk ifailed to make booking in the past. Luckily the booking is successful this time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

easy to find, clean, urban

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: location, style, cleanliness
Cons: free Wi-Fi wasn't working
Location: shopping, restaurants, red light district, central train station, bars, cafes, Starbucks
Located right off of Damrak square. Easy, short walk from the Central Station. The room was very clean and quiet. Bathroom was modern and included free amenities. The hotel is small and has a narrow entrance, which might be hard to spot from the outside of a busy street. Inside it has a very urban and unique feel to it. The hotels operates a restaurant that is right adjacent to it. Good if you don't want to venture out in the morning in search of breakfast. All in all a very nice boutique hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling solo or as a couple and the location can't be beat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recommendation and nice review! We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team