Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dumfries

Great atmosphere

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Great room, greater staff. A great time had. Perfect location for a good stroll to the main attractions. Very stylish decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Updated hotel, friendly staff but.....

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Staff, modern rooms
Cons: Air conditioning, and a way to get Ice without bugging the bartender
Location: Location is walkable, but not that close to the main areas.
The hotel itself is updated compared to most hotels in Amsterdam. That being said, the TV in our room did not work, and there is no air conditioning in the Hotel. They just give u this big noisy fan that blows hot air to cool us off. There is no ICE to be found anywhere in the hotel. The only way to get ice is to keep bugging the bartender which can get annoying after a while. The rooms are small, but that is to be expected in Amsterdam. The hotel is not THAT close to all the main areas if you want to walk. If you use the trolly or rent a bike you can get to the main areas much faster. (bus and trolly service end around 12:30am so if you want to party past then, get ready to walk a bit). The staff is VERY friendly and answered any questions we had....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small boutique hotel close to many attractions

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff and great continental breakfast! We booked a normal double bedroom, but didn't want to stay in the basement. We ended up with room 103 which was tiny and just about managed to fit a double bed in. Nothing for people suffering from claustrophobia! Also the window is facing the windows of the bar area and therefore we had our blinds down most of the time since we felt uncomfortable with people looking in. Nevertheless, there is lots to do, so we didn't spend much time there. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk away from the major museums (Heineken experience, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, etc.). We hardly ever used public transport since the centre can be reached via a nice 20-30 minute stroll along the canals. Overall it's a great hotel, but if you like your personal space make sure you don't end up in the room we had!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from London

Good hotel, well located for the museums

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: I liked the friendliness of the staff, the location of the hotel (good for the museums and Heineken experience) and the breakfast.
Cons: The duvet on the bed was very thick for June and was the only blanket on the bed. A thinner duvet in summer would be preferred.
Location: Very well located for the museums and within easy walking distance of the other attractions
Hotel V Frederiksplein was a very good hotel for the three nights I spent in Amsterdam with fiance. It was well located for the museums and within easy walking distance of the other attractions. We hired bikes for 24 hours which allowed us to see Amsterdam in comfort and see the Vondelpark which is nearby. The staff are very friendly, the breakfast good and the room was clean. I would stay here again if I returned to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Manchester, GB

Excellent small hotel within easy reach of centre

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Very good breakfast and also the bar serves free tea and coffee to guests from appprox 11.30am to midnight. There is access to the internet.
Cons: Not as far as I am concerned, although some guests may think the rooms a bit small.
Location: Aris Zoo about twenty minutes by tram and just 20 euros entry fee. 15 Minute tram journey on the number 4 takes you to Dam Square
Excellent small hotel and just a short tram ride to all the amenities and atttractions. Trams a very inexpensive and the hotel reception sold 24 hour tram passes for 8 euros. We went to the Richt Museum, the King's Palace and the Aris Zoo. All very good value for money. Talking of money, the banks do not change currency so you need take a tram number 7 or 10 from right outside the hotel to the next main square for a Bureau De Change. Food and drink very reasonable a nice cafe opposite the hotel and an excellent Italian restaurant a short walk further up the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yvette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 13, 2014
Went with my girlfriend and as a couple found it was one of the best places to stay, not far from everything but still away from the stag and hen party riff raff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Harrow, London

Okay Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Bigger rooms would be nice but there is not a lot can be done about this now.
Location: Van Gogh & Rijksmuseum, a 5 to 10 minute walk away.
Hotel V Frederiksplein is perfectly okay for a short & reasonable priced stay in Amsterdam, ideally placed for the Van Gogh & Rijksmuseum, a 5 to 10 minute walk away. The room is on the petite side with one side of the bed up against a wall, meaning having to enter the bed from the bottom & climbing over your partner if you wanted to use the bathroom at night, saying that the room was perfectly adequate as a base to explore Amsterdam. The breakfast was a continental breakfast with ham, cheeses, breads, salads & breakfast cereal available, quantity was plentiful & of what you would expect from this type of hotel. Staff were helpful & friendly, always ready with a smile, all spoke excellent English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Norwich

Really lovely, modern hotel and friendly staff!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Stayed in April 2014 as a couple and honestly couldn't fault the hotel, was clean and modern, breakfast was good and staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel is in a good location with easy access to all the sights via the trams. Had a really lovely stay here and would recommend it to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Weston super mare, UK

Nice hotel for weekend break

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The bar served free tea and coffee all day, very welcome when coming back after a busy day. A nice touch.
Location: The hotel was near a tram stop which eve found very easy to use. Rembrant Square was a short walk away with bars and restaurants .
We found hotel V to be good and all the young staff very friendly and helpful, and all spoke English well. The rooms are quite small but fine for a weekend break. The bed was very comfy! The breakfasts were good with plenty of cereals, rolls, croissants, pastries, cheeses, meats and fresh fruit on offer.