Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Beautiful building in very convenient location, about 15 minutes walk to main centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Beautiful hotel, beautiful city

Posted Sep 20, 2014
This hotel is great and is in a very nice area, and especially good if you are visiting the Dutch National Ballet and Opera or the Carre Theatre which are very close. The hotel staff, and everyone else I met on my visit, were so welcoming, helpful and generous, the experience could not have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rosita Dolgicerfrom New York

review

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel, the area is not very centrally located, a bit inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

The hotel is perfect for business or break away

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: 1. High end quality and level of sophistication. 2. Pool and spa are amazing if you have time 3. Quality if breakfast. 4. Being close to the city
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Easy access to the underground and short walk for the street market. Perfect for the museums
This hotel is perfect if you would like a romantic break or going for a sophisticated weekend away. There are other places to stay if you are looking for the dark side or lower cost. The hotel pool has superb views over the river and jacuzzi is a perfect place to relax. Include the hotel breakfast if your budget will extend to it as it really is a treat and excellent quality. The other good thing to do it to go for a river facing room if possible. The city view is nice, but not so interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Everything was wonderful!!

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay in Amsterdam, and one of the main reasons was because we were able to come back to this hotel each night! The room was amazing, the staff was impeccable, and the overall look of the hotel made you feel like royalty. The view from our room was fabulous - right on the canal! Will definitely return here for our next trip to Amsterdam!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature travelle

Excellent riverside hotel.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Wonderful Brasserie beside the River.
Cons: We booked river view bedroom, but it didn't happen. Michelin starred restaurant rather overrated.
Location: Walking distance from the Opera and Rijksmuseum. Not very near city centre or shops.
Superb hotel with charming and efficient staff. The brasserie by the river was wonderful for elderly couples. Delicious food and very entertaining river view. Really very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pfrom Easton, PA

The World as it Should Be

Posted May 4, 2014
Location: A 15-20 minute walk to the museums, and almost everywhere else, but since you're walking in Amsterrdam, who cares?
My impression is that if there had been more people in the Netherlands a few centuries ago, the Dutch would have ruled the world. They are hard-working, disciplined, democratic and brilliantly creative. Which leads me to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I'm pretty sure that the people who DO rule the world stay here, filling the lobby and spilling out into the Maserati's parked out front. I did not see a part of the hotel that wasn't beautiful and elegant. Even the staff was beautiful and elegant. And ever helpful. Some (relatively minor) concerns: the location is somewhat removed if you like to walk. It's a long walk to almost anywhere you're likely to go. The buffet breakfast, while good, is outrageously overpriced. Operating WiFi or the air conditioner requires an engineering degree. But you can have your assistant handle these, while you are making deals and changing the course of history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Timfrom Dallas

Best hotel in Amsterdam

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent Hotel in quiet area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PJfrom Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

City break

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Pros: View of the river
Cons: Couldn't make a good cup of English tea
Location: Fantastic right on the water
Excellent view, great breakfast room, service first class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Deliciously elegant

Posted Jan 30, 2013
amazing! great pool, spa, the best. The only problem was the first day we ordwered tea in the tea room and the waitress brought us a tea pot with no lid. When we asked her why she said, "we lost the top!" She didn't know not to use it and no one there advised her otherwise.