Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great service at the front desk. Enjoyed the unique bedroom with the folding bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Inverness

lovely

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: friendly efficient staff
Cons: There should be coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
Location: It is slightly out of the centre but is very near a tram stop which can take you into town.
It was a very unusual room, with a bath that took two and a swing| the staff were very efficient and couldn't do enough to make your stay an enjoyable experience. Very romantic atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very friendly hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Loved the hotel, the friendly and helpful staff, the fresh flowers and the bedding
Cons: Plug points rather high in the room.
Location: The location is in a new part of town, easy access to the centre, by tram. The canal runs opposite and lots of people hiring bikes.
We had a lovely couple of nights, staying at Lloyds hotel. It is 10 minutes from the centre on Tram number 26. The hotel staff were both friendly and helpful. 24 hour room service and a person on reception. which helped for an early departure. The hotel had a very unique style, with beautiful flower displays. I had been told generally in Amsterdam the rooms were small, but this definitely was not the case. The bedding was of high quality, my friend described it as lying on a cloud :-) Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Nice mixed rated rooms near centraal station

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Great building with chances to upgrade room rating within the same hotel. Near centraal station.
Cons: For safes to be installed in rooms and a bar in the lounge area.
Location: Near centraal station, accessible via tram within walking distance. Many attractions and places to visit along with tours.Wa
The hotel was excellent quality for the price, situated near centraal station with a tram stop within walking distance to take you to centraal station and other places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hotel in a nice area

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The shower has no doors and the water is going in the rest of the room. Even if he design is unique, still is far away from practical. Thats the only thing i didn't liked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caleb from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Unique Hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The rich history and choice of 1 - 5 start rooms, the artwork, and comfortable bed, the free WIFI.
Location: Very close to Tram stop, Pup and grocery store.
The Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is a unique hotel with a deep colourful history, you can feel it walking down the older tilled hallways and stairwells. I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Hotel offers 1 - 5 star rooms, so you get a variety of guests. I was in a 2 star room, had its own toilet and shower partitioned off from the rest of the room by a divider. The bed I has was amazingly comfortable, I slept great. The resturant was really good, just having a coffee or a full meal. I do wish that they had a few more vegetarian options though. I like the artwork that is in the hotel. FREE high speed wifi all over the hotel, made it really easy to contact family back at home, load up photos, or look up events / places to check out while in the city. There is a little supermarket directly across the street, as well as a pub and a wine store. Across the waterway was a large green space if you wanted to just layback in the sun or read. A Tram stop about a block away makes it really convient to get back to central station and downtown Amsterdam. You could also rent a bike from the hotel, or walk down the numerous pathways. I was very happy with my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Las Vegas

Nice hotel, convenient to PTA, tram line

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Service was extremely polite and generally helpful. Bed and linens were excellent. location is removed from Central Amsterdam but easily accessible.
Cons: Television, add a dresser.... for which there was plenty of room available. Be careful about getting a taxi to the airport, I was overcharged.
Location: Good supermarket up the street to the right. Decent restaurant (Panama) down the street a bit (1/2 mile or so) to the left. Nice place to walk around.
Stayed for 3 nights while attending conference at PTA, hotel is very convenient to tram to Central Station (10 minute ride) and Passenger Terminal conference facility (5 minute ride), At night, it was a very fast trip into/out of the Central Station area/Dam Square. The hotel itself is somewhat quirky. The room I had was quite large and on a sunny corner, the bed and linens were terrific and the hotel restaurant food was quite good .... On the other hand, my room inexplicably had a wooden refrigerator but no dresser and no where to hang clothes up. (The hotel attempted to offer some very large plastic pegs in the wall for hooks, but they were too large for clothes hangers , a clear design error. The hangers provided were woefully incapable of staying on the pegs, even when bent to maximum width.) Also, the television was something from the late 1980s and really needs to be upgraded to this century, at least for a room costing this much. Which brings us to the bathroom/shower ..... what can one say ? It was different to be sure. Imagine a "Murphy bed" except it is a shower/sink/bath behind the wall, not a bed. The shower quality was great and spacious in the extreme, the sink had zero space to put anything down and the toilet worked well but was in essentially a closet. Very quirky design, but aside from having to squeegee the floor in the middle of the room after every shower, it was kind of funny anf functional..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Guest from Canada

Excellent Staff/Decent Rooms

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our experience with the staff was second to none - they were easily the friendliest hotel staff we encountered on our entire journey across Europe. The location was pretty decent, as it is only a short tram ride to Centraal Station, and it does have a few shops nearby. The room we stayed was however incredibly industrial feeling, which took away from the overall experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Australia

Fantastic staff

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
A comfortable clean environment and very pleasant and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by Evgeny from Greece

COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
It was a long story of our acquaintance with the hotel to be short here, so just final impressions and conclusions. What the hotel offers on the internet site completely differ to what you will find inside. Hotel is not for families with the kids, absolutely. Smells and dirty, minimum comfort. Do not trust to those "stars" rooms marks. Location: far away from the places you would like to walk.