Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Zealand

reasonable location.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location reasonably close to train station (0.5 km) Helpful staff
Cons: correct the misleading advertising on Internet
Location: walking to the city
Interior areas ( lounge, social area) much too dark and dingy. Not congenial in my opinion . Looked better on the on the Internet than in reality. For instance there were NO views of the canals. It was a con...!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not for people who need to get up in the night

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location on canal
Cons: Say that they have few or no separate beds at time of booking. Hotel is mostly double beds which is rare in rest of areas we toured.
Location: Walk to Anne Frank house. Take canal boat tour. Easy walk to tram which will take you most places.
Rooms have staircases INSIDE the rooms. One room I was shown had a steep staircase down into a bathroom area. Another had three stairs with no railing up to the bathroom. Hotel could not provide separate beds even though I requested them and thought I had booked them. They say that is a "preference" that they can rarely honor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great way to see Amsterdam from this small and friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Helpful staff, perfect location and clean room. Would highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

nice hotel. close to rail station

Posted Sep 11, 2014
clean cute room. good shower. comfortable beds. asked for twin beds got double. beware stairs are steep! basic continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The staff were lovely and there is someone there 24/7. The hotel is down a quiet street but just a 2 minute walk from all the shops which is perfect for doing things but also having peace and quiet when you want to sleep. The room was small but had everything that we needed. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else - great hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Friendly Chic and Basic

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Ambiance. Location. Friendly staff. English spoken. Clean. Great washroom. Centuries old building converted to a hotel.
Cons: Twin beds requested three months before arrival should have been honoured. There are rooms on less steep staircases.
Location: Close to everything that makes Amsterdam so unique. Steps to restaurants, pubs, active streets and canal, bus and harbour tours.
We arrived by train to Amsterdam Centraal having got off the Prinsendam cruise ship earlier in the day. The hotel is a pleasant 740 metre walk from the train station. Less pleasant if raining or pulling heavy suitcases. The Chic and Basic is right on a canal and full of atmosphere. We had requested twin beds but only a double was available when we arrived at 2pm. This was on the first floor, one floor up a very steep stairs. The staff were very helpful getting the suitcases to the room but their is no elevator. The room was small but well fitted and clean with a modern bathroom attached. Coffee is available free all day. There is a continental breakfast included with orange juice, meat cheese etc. The ginger cake was a real hit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Brilliant Hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Absolutely no complaints! Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hotel was lovely and situated in a perfect area, with lots of lovely restaurants close by, which were half the price of those by central station. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Also they provided a complimentry breakfast and hot drinks all day. only negative was the room was very warm, however, I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liam from Perth,Wa

Brilliant Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Awesomely located. 5 mins walk from Central Station, Dam Square & Anne Franks house. Beautiful area. Modern well furnished rooms and nice breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.