Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

Central Canal hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
I took my partner to Amsterdam for his 25th birthday and having read reviews I chose to stay at the Mercure Central Canal. I was not disappointed, the hotel itself was beautiful down a quite street not far from Dam Square (roughly 15-20min walk), the room was lovely and the bed was one of the comfiest I've stayed it when away, the pillows too where lush! I paid for a premier room and it was exactly that, spacious enough for the two of us with a free coffee machine and mini bar. The room was clean and very well presented. I invited friends on our trip and they praised my choice of hotel, saying it was also one of the loveliest thrums stayed in. All round, excellent! We're already looking into when we can return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bucks

Small hotel close enough to everything we wanted.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Very comfy beds, good shower.
Cons: New barman to make up drinks and serve them.
Location: Convenient location, good value.. Tram into city only a 5 min walk away. Had wonderful cakes & tea at 'De Taart de M'n Tante' locally.
Small rooms but wonderfully comfortable beds, and good shower. Reception staff very nice and helpful. Barman on duty in the evening of our stay was appallingly bad, had no idea what he was doing but, unfortunately, had a really bad attitude too to add insult to injury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Koselig hotell i rolig strøk nær sentrum

Posted May 4, 2015
Hyggelig personale. Rent og koselig hotell. God og rikholdig frokost. Meget rolig og fint strøk. God beliggenhet nær sentrum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location is perfect, tucked away from the busy main streets but still close enough to back in the hub within a few mins. The staff were very friendly
Cons: We only ate breakfast at the hotel on once. It was very nice but quite expensive, if you only want fruit and yoghurt as we both did.
Location: It is within walking distance of the Heineken experience and the big museums. Lots of nice parks nearby and plenty of canal walks.
Really enjoyed our stay, I was with my mum for her 70th birthday. We both thought the room was lovely, nice size, good facilities and spotless. The hotel is walking distance to all the museums which was perfect as mum would not have been keen on having to jump on and off of the trams. We had some lovely lunches and dinners in places close to the hotel. We happened by coincidence to be at the hotel during kings day so witnessed the biggest party we had ever seen, the atmosphere was amazing, we managed to find a nice little bar close to the hotel where we could take a seat and people watch. I would definitely recommend the hotel, for location, cleanliness and the helpful staff. Also there is the mist amazing scent as you enter the hotel. I would live to know what it is. Fab time and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Great place to stay.

Posted May 2, 2015
The staff is excellent! Hotel is very nice as well. It says it's a four star hotel but feels higher to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 2, 2015
Great location, rooms spotless and compact. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely bar and extremely nice waiter. All in all no complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Fabulous location excellent staff

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff. Ver clean room and comfortable beds
Cons: Breakfasts - not kept hot enough (see main review)
Location: Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw is excellent
Stayed three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed the great location and hotel facilities. The hot breakfast was usually only warm and the management need to look at better ways of keeping their food hot and not just tepid. Having said this the continental breakfast was much better. Lovely staff and cosy bar in the basement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Great location, good rooms and really helpful friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North East England

Very well-placed hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: We were very impressed by the staff on reception and particularly in the restaurant at breakfast. All were friendly, helpful and cheerful.
Cons: We had to ask for refreshments to be replaced in our room.
Location: It is within walking distance of Vondel Park, the Rijkmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Museum of Modern Art and canal cruises
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. It is within walking distance of many of the places we wanted to visit and information was readily supplied by the staff at reception. Excellent choice at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Gorgeous hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Perfect location, quieter area, but close to the attractions, with some lovely bars nearby. Gorgeous, quirky, clean rooms. Very basic in terms of toiletries provided (shampoo, soap and shower gel only.) Body lotion/moisturiser would have been nice.