Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales, uk

Well situated hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Location was very good, staff were friendly, facilities were good and bonus of a good hairdryer in bathroom.
Cons: Nothing everything was fine
Location: Hotel was situated in the museum district very well placed for visiting the attractions.
Well situated hotel in a nice street, very handy for museums and exploring Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk, UK

A calm, quiet & pleasant stay, perfect location.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Away from the hustle and bustle.
Cons: To take more care when decorating as paint on the bedroom carpet.
Location: Quiet location, but easy to walk to tourist area, trams, bars and restaurants.
Used this hotel before and will use again in the summer when visiting our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom winchester, uk

Perfect location. Still central but quiet.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Staff were extremely helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, England

a comfortable break

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: staff - position - breakfast!
Cons: Nothing. Hotel rooms have been or are being refurbished to a high standard.
Location: Very conveniently placed for public transport onto city centre and comfortable walking distance to museums. plenty of cafes and restaurants.
clean, comfortable, convenient with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Francis Windt, Hotel Management
Dear Goeff, Wauw, thank you for your five-star review! We hope to be able to welcome you again in Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District! Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Latina

LA PULIZIA QUI NON E' DI CASA

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Francamente nulla
Cons: Tutti quelli elencati
Location: Posizione pessima ed attrazioni e servizi inesistenti
Innanzitutto sfatiamo un mito: questo hotel non è centrale. 2,5 Km dalla stazione centrale, 1,7 km da piazza Dam e dalle vie dello shopping non significa hotel centrale. Considerando che ad Amsterdam ci si muove prevalentemente a piedi e che si fa più volte avanti indietro tra l'hotel ed il centro è facile dover percorrere anche 10 km al giorno a piedi. In diverse parti del mondo ho soggiornato in hotel della catena MERCURE ma questo è di gran lunga il peggiore nel quale io sia mai stato e non merita di far parte di questa prestigiosa catena. Ci han sbattuto in una mansarda del terzo piano di neanche 15 MQ, sporca da fare schifo (posso fornire foto) con enormi ragnatele agli angoli del soffitto (tolte dopo 2 giorni di insistenza con la cameriera e ritrovando residui sul letto sottostante), moquette da vomito, macchiata e sporchissima, lavori in corso su tutto il piano durante il nostro soggiorno percui, dalle 8 di mattina rumori e martellamenti vari ci costringevano a scappare in quanto impossibile riposare. Riscaldamento inefficiente e centralizzato percui di notte si muore dal freddo e dalle 7 di mattina, quando accendono il riscaldamento, il rumore dei caloriferi e dei tubi decide che è ora di svegliarsi. Frigobar vuoto e 2 soli canali italiani completano il quadro. Ho preso la camera grazie ad un'offerta 2x3 ma comunque ho speso troppo in proporzione a quanto ricevuto e non giustifica il trattamento ricevuto. Ed io sono un albergatore quindi parlo con cognizione di causa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The hotel is located in a quiet side street which meant a good night's sleep. Nearby trams or a pleasant walk by the canal take you to all the top sights quickly and easily. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. A creaky bathroom door was fixed immediately. Overall it was an enjoyable stay with no negatives.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Francis Windt, Hotel Management
Dear Trisha, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our location and staff! We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lyon

Hotel très bien très calme

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Le petit déjeuner très bien mais un peut chère.
Cons: Accès de la douche décevant.
Location: Un peut loin des arrêts de tram.
Très bonne expérience a refaire. Accès au wifi et a l informatique très facile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Francis Windt, Hotel Management
Dear Tonio, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to be able to serve you again! Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom somewhere out there

best place to recover from jet lag

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: everything was great .... nice people, lovely rooms, location in the center of Amsterdam within walking distance of many of the things i wanted to see
Location: great location near museums, restaurants, and shopping.
i cannot say enough about this hotel and the wonderful kind staff. all-around lovely experience, i will return for another stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Francis Windt, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, wauw thank you! Such a lovely review! We are looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Good location

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Stayed for only 2 nights but it ticked all the boxes. Great staff on hand and a great location for the price. Will definitely book here on my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Francis Windt, Hotel Management
Dear Jamo, thank you for your kind words! I will pass on your words to our staff. We are looking forward to see you again soon! Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Watford

Good hotel just outside of the hustle and bustle

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location - just outside the hustle and bustle of the City at night and a short walk from some of the main attractions
Cons: Friday night was a little noisey when some late revellers returned to the hotel
Location: Van Goch museum, Ritskja museum, Heineken Experience, Canal trips (all recommended)
Hotel is an easy tram ride from Centraal station and a five minute walk from the tram stop. We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff who were helpful and efficient. We didn't take breakfast option as it was quite expensive and the new cafe at the end of the road served a variety of good food at half the cost. Hotel was clean and our triple room was modern, clean and spacious. Hotel is situated within easy walk of Van Goch and Rijksa museums, the Heineken Experience and Canal cruises. The main squares are a 20 minute walk or a 5 min tram ride, with access to all of the main attractions and shops. Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Francis Windt, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! We truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District