Ratings based on 717 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overall good

Posted Apr 14, 2014
overall good...no complaints. clean, tidy functional. close to city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carol from Norfolk

Smart Hotel with excellent breakfast

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Everything nothing to complain about.
Cons: maybe a jaquzzi nad waffles included in breakfast.
Location: explained aboved.
I chose this hotel after reading other reviews. We stayed in an executive room on the 20th floor (top). The views were fantastic. The room was spacious and clean. Free mini bar replenished daily, along with shampoo soap etc. The room also had a safe which was easy to use. The breakfasts were fantastic everything you could want (didn't need lunch once), the only thing they didn't do were waffles (but did have tiny pancakes). Also with the executive package we enjoyed the free drink and snacks between 5pm-7pm also different each night, you help yourself to these (one night had too much didn't need a meal). The hotel itself is a 10 minute walk from Central Station, and about 15 minutes from the city, we walked in every day, although there is the option of using the hotels mini bus (book this though the day before). Also the number 26 tram stops opposite which goes to Central Station. I used the gym (small but fine) and sauna. Also one night had a meal in the bar which was nice. As this hotel is out of the centre of Amsterdam it was quiet and nice to go back to after a busy day. Amsterdam is an interesting city, the worst queue was for Anne Franks house 45minutes otherwise the attractions didn't seem to bad. The tulip excursion was lovely but a bit overpriced. Amsterdam is not a cheap city (but this I suppose depends on the rate of the euro). Look up places to eat on advice sites. Amsterdam is very pedestrian friendly but you have to be aware of the bikes they are everywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blakie

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: Room cleaning- Towels were not touched and soap and shower gel were not replaced even though I had used about half and the soap down to a sliver.
Location: Near to Central Station and about 20 minutes walk to city centre
Room was relatively large, clean and comfortable. Hotel near to Central Station but a little further from the city centre than expected. Hotel provided free pick up and drop off at Station when arranged.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

okay location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We had been confirmed for a king size bed but when we arrived only had two twins and staff would/could not fix the problem. A small, but annoying, issue was the lack of water pressure! For this level of hotel I would not expect to have either of these problems. The hotel was right next to the tram which was a very nice convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from Aberdeen

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
We enjoyed an excellent 4 night break at the Moevenpick (5th to 8th April 2014). Our room was large and very clean with a great view overlooking the IJ river. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Edinburgh

Great view from 17 floor wonderful stay

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: I most appreciated the smiley helpful staff.
Cons: Not much to improve on from my point of view, maybe a rooftop viewing area to take photos from, they may have one, I didn't ask.
Location: Everything is just a couple of tram stops away.
The staff were very helpful got me a room with a view of the city, I was booked in at floor 7 but requested a better view and was accomodated on the 17 floor, magnificent view of the city. The bar was friendly and the daily food specials were good, saved having to find a resteraunt in town, I have done most of the grills and eateries in town and they are nothing special. Although you are a little out of the city centre, it is a 30 min walk from the square, I just got the tram, one to Central station and the 26 tram from the station to the hotel. If you take the 26 tram from the central station it is only one stop to the hotel and if you get a day ticket getting around is very easy and cheap. The hotel is modern in style and clean. As with most European capitals it is expensive in the city and getting snack food for room from the supermarket helps so I was delighted to have a fridge in the room for milk and snacks, a truly civilised addition to any room. The best way to get to know the city is to just wonder around it then it's your dicoveries not a tour guides, but if you need a guide try a tour boat first.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014 by
Thank you for your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel, John and for sharing your experiences and tips. We are happy enjoyed your room with a view! We hope you have spent a nice couple of days in Amsterdam and will be pleased to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland. With kind regards, Daniel Kaan Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Perfect location for going about town and where the cruise ships come in.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014 by
Thank you for your positive feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from London

Wonderful views from 19th floor

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: Would have been perfect located just a bit nearer the centre.
We had 5 days in Amsterdam staying at the Movenpick and thoroughly enjoyed it. Bright, modern and comfortable hotel. We got the 26 tram (very frequent service) to the Station each day then either walked or used a bus pass to travel around Amsterdam.Bought an Amsterdam Pass and found it very useful - prepaid tickets to lots of attractions - but need to plan how to use it. We saved about 25 euros and didn't have to queue anywhere. Lots to see and do, especially the Keukenhof Gardens, just beautiful. Booked an executive room - well worth the extra to get an excellent breakfast - as much as you can eat, use of the executive lounge all day with free tea and coffee, and complimentary wine, beer and canapes in the evening between 5-7.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014 by
Thank you for your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel, Pam. We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying at our Executive Floor. It is good to read that you had such a pleasant couple of days in Amsterdam and visited the Keukenhof, which is in full bloom at this moment. We will be pleased to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland. With kind regards, Daniel Kaan Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nair from Dubai

Hotel By the River, Good Place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location, view of the river
Cons: Offer breakfast with the room price
Location: Just one tram stop away from Central station.
We recently stayed for a week in Movenpick Amsterdam. This is a nice large hotel with reasonably big rooms. The check in staff was kind enough to allot us the river facing rooms. The view from the room was really nice and pleasing. You have to take a tram to go to the central station or its a 15 mnts walk. Nice rooms, good sleep quality and good and helpful staff . I recommend this place.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014 by
Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel, Nair. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam. With kind regards, Daniel Kaan Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Made our stay in Amsterdam extra special

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The executive lounge complimentary drinks and snacks.
Cons: We were supposed to have free wifi but it was a bit unreliable.
Location: Location was ideal for us. My husband loves boats!
Difficult to add more information to other people's reviews but here's our experience of the Movenpick. Wanted a 3 night break in Amsterdam for my husband's birthday and I booked a flight/hotel combination using expedia in a bit of a rush so was worried that the hotel might be disappointing, especially when I read the reviews about the location being "out of the way" No need to worry. The location was perfect for us. We didn't want to be in the noisy city centre. The 26 tram to central station stopped outside the hotel every 5 minutes so there was no problem getting to the heart of the city. We had an executive room on the 20th floor (didn't realise we had booked an executive room but so glad we did). The executive lounge from 5-7pm served complimentary snacks and drinks. This sounds like such a minor thing but for us it made our holiday. We had a relaxing hour sipping prosecco and eating nibbles so there was no rush to get into town to eat dinner early. Eating later in the city restaurants is so much more atmospheric. Why don't more hotels do this? !!!
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014 by
Thank you very much for your kind words and positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. It is good to read that you appreciate our location and staying at our Executive floor made your stay extra special. We are happy you enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us while celebrating your husband's birthday. Congratulations! Please feel welcome to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam. With kind regards, Daniel Kaan Hotel Manager