Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel perfect for museums.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, comfortable, not part of a chain, good breakfast, helpful staff.
Location: Very close to museums, galleries, antique shops. Hennekein Experience if you like. Vondelpark for relaxation, storks and parakeets.
A very comfortable hotel with kind and helpful staff almost next door to the Rijkmuseum and Museumplein. It was clean and I really liked the paintings in my room. The staff helped us find good places to eat, how to get around and to book for a visit in another town. The stairs up to the hotel level were steep but that goes with the territory in Amsterdam. I'd definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great neighborhood

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Welcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Vancouver, BC

Steep stairs!

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Cons: Buffet breakfast
Steep stairs and small rooms. However, hotel felt homely and staff were friendly. The breakfast was decent enough, especially given that this was a cheaper hotel. The hotel is in a good location -- rent a bike and you'll be minutes from all the sights. Overall, provided you don't have a hip replacement this place is fine for a night or two of budget accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stefanie from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Excellent little hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Steep stairs
Location: Easy walk to many museums, restaurants, parks etc. Tram and bus stop just outside too.
Clean and well-equipped rooms and bathroom facilities. Excellent breakfast service, friendly and helpful staff and SUPERB location! I would definitely recommended this hotel as excellent value for money, however it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues or an excessive amount of luggage. The stairs are INCREDIBLY steep. I'd read this in reviews and still didn't believe what I was seeing upon arrival.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location - Awful beds!

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, very friendly and understanding staff, but the beds we so uncomfortable we had to leave. For the degree of comforts in the room and the quality and quantity of the breakfast it felt quite overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin from London

Great hotel for museum district

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Some tram noise early morning/late night - but not a big issue at all
This hotel is in a fantastic position for The Rijksmuseum and The Van Gogh museum. It is right next to the tram stop on the 2 and 5 lines and the bus from the airport (197 I think ) runs right past the door. So it all about location, location etc. The hotel is on the third, forth and fifth floors of a typical Amsterdam building from the late 19th century, so no lift and steep stairs. D├ęcor is dutch style with tiles and clay pipes etc. and is dated. Its functional, if you like Holiday Inn please go there. If you like something a little bit unusual you will enjoy your stay. Tea and coffee available all day in the breakfast room at no charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Olga from Boston

VERY BASIC ACOMODATION IN A PERFECT LOCATION

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very basic and poorly maintained. It is marginally clean. People are very nice and polite. You can not beat location: across the street from two major museums, 10 minutes by tram from everything you want to see and next to a bus stop directly to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

muzeumzicht amsterdam

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Pros: location, price ok, shower
Cons: stairs
Location: fantatsic next to rijksmuseum and on 2 trams
This is a good budget hotel, the staff were friendly and provided coffee and cake when we missed breakfast. Bathrooms good. Only warning is its not for people who don't want o climb steep stairs.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Calvin

Cheap but not so cheerful

Posted Dec 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good location and staff were polite but the 'city tax' was a fair bit more than expected. There are far nicer hotels nearby for only a small amount more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eli

Perfect Location!!! Modest Price, no frills.

Posted May 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a no frills hotel in the heart of Amsterdam this is your place. You can NOT find a better location. The price is modest for the heart of Amsterdam. However it is no frills. Beware of the stairs.