Ratings based on 1,867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Great location and great customer service

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The location, the rooms
Cons: A less pricy breakfast, maybe some seats for people waiting at the front desk (only sofas in the other side of the huge lobby)
Location: In the city center, on the Dam square, everything is walking distance : museums, train station, ...
We stayed in this hotel only for a night with my husband. We made a late check-in, howeveri the lady who welcomed us was pretty nice with us and gave us good explanations to find our room (I read on other reviews that it was hell to find you way out in this big hotel). Because of my husband birthday and our wedding anniversary, instead of having the room we booked, the hotel upgraded us to a brand new suite. We really appreciated the gesture. As the room is concerned, nothing to complain : the bed was huge (with roses on it), as well as the TV. Everything was really clean. The bathroom was big, the shower, heaven ! We will definitelly recommend this hotel and hope to go back there for our short Amsterdam trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stavanger

Fint hotell sentralt

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Vi hadde et fint allergivennlig rom som ble godt renholdt hver dag. Frokosten var heldigvis ikke inkludert, spisesalen hadde teppegolv. Av spisestedene i nabolaget likte vi restauranten Cau og konditoriet René best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015
5 stelle sono troppe. Ottima posizione. Colazione troppo cara. Raggiungere la stanza non è semplice a causa dell'irrazionale configurazione degli spazi distributivi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

will definitely stay here again

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Lovely and welcoming staff; a clean and comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 静岡県(アムステルダム駐在経験あり)

大変モダーンなホテルに生まれ変わりましたね。 シャワーのみでしたが特に問題はありませんでした。

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: コンシェルジェの対応は最高レベル。
Cons: 洗面所、風呂場への入り口ドアが外から開けられるが閉め方がわからない?
Location: ライクス・ミュージアム(国立博物館)、ゴッホ・ミュージアム、、、他、いろいろと!
概ね良好。市内中心地にありどこに行くにしても大変便利、近辺にはバイエンコルフ・デパートやカルファーストリート・ショッピング通りなどがあったり、市電、バスも便利。 一日券(?)、二日券(10Euro?)、三日券(我々、13.50Euro)は 乗り放題で大変有効でした。 飾り窓、コーヒーショップなど少し危険な誘い場所に位置していますのでスリや不気味に優しげで親切そうな声掛けには絶対に対応しませんように! 日本人は優しすぎますから要注意です。 大変な観光客で道があふれていました。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buona solo la posizione, non vale le stelle che ha

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Niente di che, solo la posizione strategica, colazione scarsa per i 29,50 euro che si pagano a persona, camere di serie B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location can't be beat

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: old elegance.
Cons: When the renovations are complete, it will be a great hotel
Location: It is on Dam Square. The Red Light District is behind the hotel.
The hotel is under renovation. The staff was excellent. They tried to help me locate an old friend. The concierge recommended an excellent Indonesian restaurant. He knew how to get to all the places we wanted to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Genova

Hotel in posizione strategica!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: la posizione, le camere
Cons: una parte dell'hotel è ancora in fase di ristrutturazione
Location: Si trova in Piazza Dam, in una posizione strategica. La zona è ben collegata, non solo per i tram ma anche per la Central Station non troppo lontana.
Hotel in una posizione strategica! Abbiamo soggiornato in questo hotel 5 giorni nel mese di Giugno. Si trova in Piazza Dam, al centro della città. La zona è ben collegata, non solo per i tram ma anche per la Central Station non troppo lontana. Comodissimo per girare a piedi o in bicicletta. Non troppo lontano dal quartiere a luci rosse. L'hotel è in ristrutturazione, ma durante il soggiorno non abbiamo avuto alcun disagio. Abbiamo alloggiato nell'ala nuova: camere ampie e spaziose, confortevoli e ben pulite, molto silenziose. Molto cortese il personale della Reception. Da consigliare!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Nice Hotel but the elevator kept breaking down and the hotel is under construction so it gets a bit loud very early. Other than that it was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Elegant hotel with great location on Dam Square

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Location, gracious staff, luxurious common areas, comfortable room.
Cons: Bathroom privacy.
Location: Everything is nearby. Less than ten minute walk to Central Station.
In the heart of Amsterdam's old central core, this "Grand Dame" hotel, renovated to modern standards, provides first class accommodations and impeccable service. My only complaint relates to one aspect of their room renovations of which they are probably quite proud. The bathroom enclosures are all frosted glass. While giving a delightfully clean and modern appearance, the walls do not provide an adequate visual or sound barrier to keep one's bathroom activities sufficiently private. 'Nuff said.