Ratings based on 1,600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Location at DAM Square

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Don't miss the bar. The father-son-other son team are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed meeting them and getting tips from locals.
Location: Everything. Absolutely everything is within walking distance.
What a terrific hotel, in a terrific location. They are right on DAM Square, at the end of the long party alley; just barely away from the Red Light District (about a block) - but you don't feel like you're "in" it. Very nice hotel, very classy, in an area where there are many somewhat scary looking boutique hotels around the same price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two thumbs up

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Clean sleek lines
Cons: The newly installed in room electronic mini bar had issues. We were repeatedly told that it was okay to put in our own food but it was problematic.
Location: Great central location
We requested a quiet room due to the ongoing construction and the fact that we would be staying at the hotel over Kings Day. No problems with noise. I would definitely recommend to stay here despite the slight inconvenience due to the refurbishing. We were assigned a newly renovated room and were quite satisfied with the new features.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
-
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal if you like noise and crowds.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Location: Very central.
Very disappointed to find my card had been cloned and purchases made with it. The credit card was presented as requested on arrival, deposited in the safe in the room and only taken out to pay the bill at the end. Suspicious? Even though I wrote to the Hotel about it, no apologies were offered. They even tried to charge me twice for the room!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Great hotel, great location

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Lots of reviews mention renovation work going on. To be honest, I was largely unaffected by it so don't be put off! The hotel staff were great - professional and helpful. I was in room 4008, looking out on some pleasant buildings. It was at the back of the hotel so was extremely quiet and I had a great night's sleep. The location is perfect to explore places on foot. I had room only so didn't have breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Center Hotel with new and improved rooms

Posted Apr 29, 2015
We stayed at the extension building of the hotel which was very convenient, just like a separate apartment in the middle of Amsterdam. Would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Upside-down bed and possible theft

Posted Apr 29, 2015
We stayed here in early April 2015 for 6 nights. Hotel is nice and in a great location. However, having to go outside to get to our room in the building next door was annoying, especially because the key-card reader back into the main hotel building was never working. Also, a fun treat was the fact that after three nights of terrible sleep we discovered our bed (a pillow top mattress) was upside down! So basically we were sleeping on the frame underneath. How that happened is a mystery within itself, but how does housekeeping keep missing that? And how many countless other poor people slept on that bed without saying anything? They fixed it right away when we told them about it, but no one (to this day - even after an email to the manager) has apologized for it. To top it all off I discovered at least one article of clothing was missing. After an internal investigation, the hotel didn't find anything so no compensation was offered
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Perfect jump off spot in central Amsterdam

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Staying at this place was a great experience from start to finish. It was under construction but we got one of the newer rooms which had a great layout with updated mood lighting which was a nice touch. Best part about the hotel was its location. Amsterdam is well laid out and everything is reasonably close, but if you stay here literally everything worth doing is within a short walk. Red light district is 3 minute walk. Vondelpark is 20 min. Will definately look into staying here again. My guess is that when updates are completed the reasonable rates we experienced will evaporate. Regardless, great place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware refurbishments!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: The concierge was very helpful with advice on restaurants, transport, etc. Probably lovely when not undergoing renovation.
Cons: Room felt dark and unwelcoming and comfortless but that is down to personal preference. Needs a full length mirror and a mirror next to daylight.
Location: On Dam Square. Easy walking in all directions, good access to trams, boats, Schipol via station. Museums, Anne Frank's house, red light district.
We were unaware that the Krasnapolsky was undergoing refurbishment until the taxi pulled up outside the entrance which was closed off by ugly hoardings, the temporary entrance was down the street. We were asked to pay at check in the whole bill plus 50 euros deposit for future incidental costs - never been asked for this at any hotel anywhere! The room was clean and refurbished with black wood and muted colours, we were not keen on the glass door to the WC. Unfortunately the builders provided a wake up call when they started work at 7 am each day. We had to ask twice for the tea, milk, sugar to be topped up, and there was no hotel information in the room apart from room service food. We complained at check out and were given a 25% refund on the bill.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom T

Didn't like the location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
very clean room but poor design!! The room feels like empty as its Parquet and Echo is there!! Had to walk a while to get to the left