Ratings based on 740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield,UK

Excellent location.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Although large the staff were friendly. Well appointed and rooms were clean and comfortable.
Cons: My only quibble is the cost of a breakfast. Breakfasts are served in the winter gardens-a splendid Edwardian building. The food was good but it costs
Near to lots of the attractions, a good location near tot the station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Check in delayed as rooms not ready.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Not acceptable to have to wait till 5pm to check in. Seemed chaotic and not the restful experience you expect from 5 star. If you don't intend to use the pool, gym or business centre then go with a 3 star and spend the rest at one of Amsterdams fantastic steakhouses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel, fantastic location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: location and interior
Location: fantastic location and night-life, shops and transport,
great time was had by all. would definitely go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ask for the old rooms.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The best location
Location: Easy walk one block to red-light district, four blocks to Gasson Diamond Factory, Rembrandt home, and everything you want.
We upgraded to a new modern room that has problems with the electric. The newly installed hair dryer did not work, when you turned off the light next to the bed it turned off the electric in the bathroom.The TV is complicated to run, even the bellman did not know how to operate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ELEGANT HOTEL

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: THE RESTAURANT OVERLOOKING THE SQUARE AND THE WINTER GARDEN FOR BREAKFAST.
Location: IT WAS SITUATED ON DAM SQUARE, SHOPPING WAS EASY AND FLOWER GARDEN A WALK AWAY. CANAL BOATS WERE ALSO WITHIN EASY REACH FOR SIGHTSEEING.
WE ARRIVED A LITTLE EARLY FOR CHECK-IN BUT EVERYTHING WAS DONE TO ENSURE WE WERE ABLE TO ACCESS OUR ROOMS WHICH HAD EVERY COMFORT REQUIRED FOR OUR SHORT STAY. THE STAFF WERE ALL MOST HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY AND SERVICE PERFECT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great location, Great hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: With so many travelers leaving for flights first thing in the morning, it seems absurd that they can't ready most rooms for early check-in.
Location: It's impossible to be more centrally located than this hotel is.
I am always skeptical reserving the most basic room type at hotels. In this case, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was modern, clean and comfortable (I specifically requested a room in the newer wing after reading other reviews about the older wing sometimes looking run down). The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location in the center of town was perfect for getting anywhere. As some other reviews have mentioned, the elevators were small and sometimes slow to arrive, but mostly this was just a minor inconvenience. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to anyone, particularly couples or friends sharing a room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
First class hotel in central location. Standard rooms are anything but standard. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

great location. right on Dam square

Posted Aug 24, 2014
nice place friendly staff perfect location would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Some rooms a little tired
Location: Centrally located and close to everything
The hotel is superbly located and has loads of history. It looks a little tired in places but on the whole good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Old Hotel full of history

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Close to Train station
Location: Next to red Light district. The Palace opposite was closed during our visit
The hotel staff gives us wrong information twice. Very disappointing. Location is perfect.