Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Jean from North Wales

NH Barbizon Palace, Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Double glazing - not secondary glazing.
Location: The location is very close to the Central Station - in fact can be seen from the entrance to the station. Very close to the Red Light area.
We have just returned from a 4 day stay in this hotel and our lasting memory will be of Noise. To be fair it was a Bank Holiday weekend and we were provided with ear tips to block out the noise! Not what expected from a so-called quality hotel. We arrived early and had a very long wait for our room to be made ready and when we were told it was - it had not been cleaned! We were given another room 15 minutes later. We found this room very cold and had to ask twice for blankets. The room was clean and comfortable but we would not use the hotel again. It was close to the station but not the nicest of areas in our opinion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike

Great Location!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: As said, great location.
Cons: My major gripe is I booked partially because "free wifi" was advertised. The "free" version did not work however a "premium" version was available.
Directly across from the central train station an and in the heart of the old city. Everything in walking distance.
2 out of 5
by JEFF

Great location but worn out hotel!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Hotel was in good location. However I certainly don't feel I got my monies worth. The rooms are very dated and worn down and the beds are horribly uncomfortable. Just not my best experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben

Best location and great hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Had a great experience at this hotel. Rooms are clean and all furniture of a good standard. 2 mins from central station. 5 mins from red light district but far enough away from it. Staff are very polite. The bed is so comfy it's unbelievable huge kingsize. Of a night as I stayed on a lower floor the town is fairly loud but not bad enough to not be able to sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stephen from blackburn

very central location

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: spotless and very helpful staff
Cons: the shock of being charged 20 euro tourist tax on checking out! should inform customers of this charge
Location: very local to central station and tram stops which can get you all over the city.
delightful from start to finish, handy for all locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jamesy from Glasgow

Great hotel !!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Everything from check in until leaving.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great restaurants and central for Dam Square.
Excellent location. Superb, friendly and efficient staff that made you feel welcome. This was my second stay here and it was a pleasure. Nice rooms, great beds and shower and well maintained. Housekeeping staff are great and really friendly. I've stayed in most of the bigger hotels in Amsterdam, which were fine, but I will make the Barbizon Palace my home from home when I visit Amsterdam. The desk staff and concierge are really obliging and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave from Saddleworth

Close to the railway station

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was good value for the rate we paid.
Cons: Rooms are a bit dated, but nice enough.
Location: Unless you have arrived with a stag party get the tram to nicer parts of the city
You pretty much walk out of the rail station into the hotel. Downside of this is the construction work going on opposite the hotel and, being a few hundred yards from the red light area, the very busy location does not exactly feel upmarket. Easy for trams and travel though. The rooms are very big and clean, though they are a bit dated in appearance (old style TV being a bit of a give away re last upgrade). The air con seems to have been pre set to one level - hot. The hotel staff are very friendly (in fact the maid was almost over friendly when she gave a quick knock and walked into the room at 6.30pm - followed by a scene reminiscent of an old style farce ). We did not have breakfast at the hotel and being there for a short break on a sunny weekend, did not check out the other facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great staff!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location,Staff.
Location: The location is fantastic! 10 minute walk to Dam Square and loads of great bars and restaurants
We very much enjoyed a long weekend at the NH Barbizon Palace. The location of the hotel is a five minute walk from the Central train station, try to exit from the left hand side of the station and head towards the dome of the church next door to the hotel, which acted as a great landmark. The hotel was clean and safe. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful (great hotel map provided). Also buy any tickets for canal cruises from the concierge, you'll save a few Euro. Fantastic location, 10 minute walk to Dam Square and loads of great bars and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again. I guess depending on your room you may hear some of the city night life, the hotel are very good at pre warning you about this. If you want a city center hotel, you kind of have to expect this!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from UK

Lovely hotel close to main attractions

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Great, friendly staff.
Location: It is very close to the Central Railway station as well as a main stop for the trams. It is located quite close to red light district and the main cof
Although I was staying here for business I could see this hotel being perfect for victors to Amsterdam. The hotel was very comfortable with a hint of higher class accommodation. The restaurant serves great food but expect to pay for it. Breakfast was again very nice with a large selection. The room was perfect for my needs with everything you would expect from this level of hotel. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. All in all a great hotel and I would definitely return there next time I am in Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by graham from uk

Amsterdam visit

Posted Apr 3, 2014
A five star service from friendly staff , room was slightly dated but a very enjoyable stay .