Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Charming hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I was expecting much worse after reading reviews. But our stay was pleasent, hotel was charming, view was stunning. Room was small but cozy. Receptionist was nice. Location was amazing. Would come back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Badly in need of a remodel!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Very high ceilings. Maybe 20 feet high. with windows that open. My room had large window doors that opened onto a shared balcony.
Cons: gut the place.
Location: this place was centrally located and it was on a canal which was the selling point for me. my window faced the canal.
I was extremely disappointed in this hotel. I payed more than i normally pay for hotels just to stay here. Amsterdam hotels tend to run to the expensive side i guess because amsterdam is very small and good hotels just aren't so plentiful. Anyhow this hotel is very run down. The room was a disaster. There were disgusting stains on the upholstered chairs in the room. The curtains had cigarette burns in them. I had a room with a balcony which was awesome but the balcony was full of peeling paint and just not kept up well at all. Surprisingly enough the bathroom had been remodeled. This room was supposed to have two beds. It had 2 twin beds pushed together to form a queen. They had a breakfast of $15 euro which adds up to $20 for breakfast. We said no thank you. The first thing they ask you when you enter is if you want an upgrade for $30 euro more (about $40). We said no. The tv never worked. This hotel used to be a grand hotel. Queen Sisi in 1900 once stayed here when the hotel first opened. It hasn't been refurbished since. The room had huge empty walls. One tiny cheap fake painting above the tv. You felt like you were in a bad apartment. There are about 5 Nolen hotels in Amsterdam. I didn't go into anything of them but I saw them everywhere. They all looked much nicer than this one. The night stands were some cheap kmart style nightstands that look like they cost $29. You can always tell a bad room by the nightstand. Overall a disgusting experience. I was embarrassed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Location & Ambience, Could Use A Few Updates

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location is tops. The hotel breakfast and dining room staff are are 5 star excellent. I also like historical hotels, even if a bit weathered.
Cons: The furnishings are dated; since there is no air conditioning, rooms noise and temperature could be managed more effectively with a better quality fan
Location: The location is outstanding -- close enough to Amsterdam Central to be convenient, but just far enough out as to not feel overwhelmed by revelers.
The NH Doelen is a historic landmark of a hotel in central Amsterdam, located in one of the central city's most pleasant neighborhoods. The hotel is of faded but palpable elegance, and these qualities with the location make the hotel worth considering. Although ranked four star it is in most respects a respectable three star hotel. Economy rooms are tight; the furnishings are dated and, in any case, were never of great quality. The bathroom in my room, however, was nicely updated; and the cleaning staff did a fine job keeping the room clean. There is no air conditioning, which means during summer months one has to keep one's window open (my room also had a small fan), and if your room faces the line of cafes and nightspots along the canal the noise can keep you up. One major plus: the hotel breakfast is excellent; its staff are considerate; the offerings are quite good; and the long dining room looks out on a charming canal scene. Not spectacular, but this is a solid, pleasant, older hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - great price

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Was able to secure the room through the unpublished offering, and the price was at least 50% less than other hotels in the area. It was a five minute walk from the local train (trams) downtown, although all the major sites are within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by k from London

Nice hotel but over priced on the weekend

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Its a nice hotel but the weekend rates are over priced, for the same price you can book a more up market hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

adequate

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Didn't get the canal view or quiet room requested but it wasn't terrible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely a 3 star hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Staff was pleasant but. Because it was old hotel it could use facelift (as in fresh paint). Radiator heat couldn't make the room cooler. Maid service not good. The room key card holder from previous guest was sitting next to the trash can when I walked in. Although trash was emptied each day I was there, that was never picked up, so I wonder what other things they missed. Went out one morning and maid service was outside my door, came back 5 hours later room still wasn't touched. Heard supervisor yelling that whoever was cleaning that day was always out for a smoke. For 'historic' hotel it has seen its day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jordan from Switzerland

Definitely not 4-stars

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was adequate but definitely not at a 4-star level. Staff was friendly and great location. Room was about 90 degrees when I walked in, the only remedy for which was to open the window, which became a problem at night with the activity going on around. Additionally, the fire alarm went off at 4 am one of the nights. This hotel looks as if it may have been magnificent at one point but is in serious need of a makeover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Skinny wite Boy from UK

Excellent location - we always stay here when in A

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've stayed in this hotel many times - the location is excellent within walking distance of the shopping centre and local bars and cafes. The hotel is historic, the rooms are large, comfortable and airy, most have a view of the canal in some shape or form, the breakfast is excellent,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mo from USA

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean conveniently located within walking distance to many areas of inrest and main squares